We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Kalamunda
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Cultural Opportunity

The Zig-Zag Cultural Centre is right in the center of Kalamunda, displaying local & on consignment... read more

Reviewed July 15, 2019
mcarr6
,
Perth Hills, Australia
Thriving Local Art

Had a brief visit to teh Zig Zag Cafe for a function. The food was good and the local art on... read more

Reviewed May 6, 2018
Iamadad
,
Perth, Australia
Read all 44 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Kalamunda
from $12.14
More Info
from $11.46
More Info
from $337.12
More Info
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveler rating
17
20
6
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
17
20
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zig zag local art on display gift shop for sale gallery gifts information region visitors village range workshop
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 44 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2019

The Zig-Zag Cultural Centre is right in the center of Kalamunda, displaying local & on consignment art items, but also an impressive range of information brochures.
It provides workshop accommodation for the City of Kalamunda's resident artist.

Artists come for a specified stay with new people every year.

Even better, it is staffed with local community/ Council staff to give that personal advice, information & local maps for visitors.
Adjacent, is the local History Village which can be visited at small cost.

Again, adjacent there is a coffee shop / light luncheon facility that is clean & tidy.

Finally, there's a gift shop which allows local artisans providing their wares on a commission sale of works basis.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank mcarr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieW740, Manager at Zig Zag Cultural Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2019

Thanks for your review. You beautifully summed up what we are all about! We hope you enjoyed your visit and that we can welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2019

Having arrived in Kalamunda without a plan (other than hit some wineries and orchards, The lovely volunteer lady at the visitor centre pointed us in the right direction to spend the day. Leaflets are available for every kind of attraction in the area along with opening hours of these. Don't expect (like we did) that everything is open every day. I would suggest stopping here 1st and getting the goss on where to go in the area whether you have a day or longer to spend there. Plenty of local art on display and for sale. Nice joint and recommended pit stop.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieW740, Manager at Zig Zag Cultural Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2019

Hi David S, thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate it! We hope that you had a great time in the Perth Hills and Kalamunda and we look forward to welcoming you again. Cheers, Ellie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2019

This is really an information centre / gift shop, and very attractive too. There is a great range of gifts, I suspect mainly sourced from the local area. There are also maps, and information pamphlets, as w ell as two ladies eager to help with our enquires. A good drop-in place to visit.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieW740, Manager at Zig Zag Cultural Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2019

Hello Paul, thanks so much for visiting us and for your kind words. I hope you enjoyed your visit to the Perth Hills. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2018

Had a brief visit to teh Zig Zag Cafe for a function. The food was good and the local art on display was an interesting mix of styles and ability. Best part was that centres such as this are still thriving in semi-rural areas.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Iamadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie W, Manager at Zig Zag Cultural Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2018

Thanks for visiting us! For future reference, our wonderful café is called Mason & Bird. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile

Great food good service quick service as well. Food was fresh and tasty as well. Would recomend this place.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie W, Manager at Zig Zag Cultural Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2018

I'll pass on your lovely comments to the staff at our wonderful café, Mason & Bird. Thanks for visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews