We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Farmstay Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harvey Hills Farm Stay Chalets

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harvey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harvey Hills Farm Stay Chalets
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Farmstay Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

My wife and I spent 3 nights here with our 19 month old daughter. The accommodation itself is clean and tv, showers, airconditioning are all in good working order. Sue and Alan were very friendly and spent a lot of time each morning with us feeding the animals and anwering questions about the farm and other tourist information. Our daughter got to feed the rabbits and chickens and loved collecting the eggs in a little basket. We also saw the sheep, miniature ponies, alpacas, kangaroos, pigeon, ducks, peacock and cows. For kids there is a good playground and picnic area with free bbqs at Harvey Dam. There are also two bakeries in town which we stopped at. Overall, an excellent family holiday with friendly and helpful hosts and we will be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterMcNally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    16
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
42
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

Enjoyed the scenic hill views and water catchments.
Our childeren enjoyed the variety of farm animals.
Allan and Sue were very welcoming and helpful-
exactly what you would expect from a farm stay host.
It was an absolute pleasure to spend the weekend there and
we look forward to visiting again soon.
Many thanks.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank decas74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2010

Be careful of this place. When making the reservation I was told the only chalet available was $155 per night, I mistakenly thought this would be the chalet for $150 + $5 for our child...Not so. We were crammed into Chalet #1 advertised @ $140/night with no oven and no cooktop. The lady recommended we use a very old 'smelly' slow cooker to boil vegetables etc. This resulted in a short drive into Harvey and purchasing new cooking equipment as utensils were either unavailable or not appropriate. There was no couch or sofa to sit on while the storms howled outside, the only place to read at the dining table or on the bed and the lights were useless to read by, we ended up using a torch. The internet website for this place described a woodfire in the chalet...Not so!! Only a split air con system. We had to request wine glasses as they were not provided and last but not least the website claims pets are welcome...Wrong Again!! Our very old, well behaved maltese did not venture near the farm animals but the farmer always saw our pet, sneered at us and spoke in a very unwelcoming manner.This place needs to be reported to Fair Trading for false advertising, except for the wonderful views everything else is codswallop.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WizzyWoo255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

I booked a chalet at the last minute for my daughters 2nd birthday and upon arrival wasn't greeted with a very friendly welcome you would expect from a country farmstay. Then proceeded to explain that it wasn't recommended to enter any of the animal paddocks as several of the animals were 'guard' animals and would not be friendly.....? The rabbits were apparently not tame so that just left some chickens for our entertainment which were in poor health (missing feathers etc and some sad looking ducks). The farm itself was on a very steep slope with no flat area to run around and kick a ball etc. Footpaths all covered with loose pebble gravel (we had to constantly hold our young daughters hands while walking up and down otherwise they would have slipped over). There were 2 swing sets (both rusted and OLD) one with the carriage swing however it was missing the seat! the other seat was all cracked and broken (VERY DANGEROUS).Trampolines were rusted and had holes in the mats and the 'cubby house' at the playground if you could call it that was 2 inches deep with leaf litter and dirt. The chalet had no bath, it also didn't have a DVD player as stated in the site or a pot belly stove. The TV reception was fuzzy and blurred and didn't get all the channels which meant no football game on the weekend for dad to watch. Another disappointment was the cleanliness of the chalet which was filthy, the OLD BBQ and cobweb filled porch was terrible and you couldn't even enjoy the beautiful view because the windows were filthy! The oven had a layer of fat an inch thick on the tray and the lounge was the worst I had ever sat on. Our bums were touching the floor! Husband scratched his back on a piece of metal hanging down from one of the bunk beds while making the bed up for the kids. Overall VERY DISSAPPOINTING . So much so that I requested our money back from Alan and he didn't offer another cabin or seem to care at all about my concerns. We drove all the way back to Perth with 2 very disappointed and unhappy children and our daughters birthday ruined. Annoyed because it isn't at all what the website claims it is and is very misleading. (Also claims you can take dogs-which is why I originally called but upon booking told me they no longer accept dogs). DO NOT STAY THERE.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank tboult77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2010

Stayed here with our almost one year old son - the portacot was something from the 50's - the chalet was so hot it wasn't funny - very basic accommodation - couldn't wait to get home....we have since stayed at another farmstay in Pemberton -and I didn't realise how bad Harvey Hills was until we'd stayed in Pemberton....

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DJohnsonPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

We have recently returned from a stay at Harvey Hills farmstay and can say that if you are considering staying there go and book it now. We are a family of 2 adults and 2 children (8 and 4). The farm is only 1 1/2 hours fom Perth Airport, so not too stressful with tired children and very easy to find. The accommodaton is basic but well kitted out with durable fixtures and fittings. All 4 chalets are positioned to offer a degree of privacy from each other and the farmhouse. They all have a private verandah with stunning views and a bbq. The site has an enclosed pool and various bits of play equipment and 2 trampolines. Sue and Alan are great and give the farm a warm and relaxed feel. Alan feeds the animals at 8am every morning and we did not miss one morning. Alan is friendly and chatty, even though he must have to answer the same questions over and over again with every new arrival!!!! The animals consist of a friendly bull, goat, sheep, donkeys, ponies, rabbits, ducks, chickens and birds. Also 2 very beautiful and gentle alpacas. All the animals are hand fed, even when there are no guests, to keep them friendly and used to contact. Gus the big bull even fed from my hand. We didnt have to travel far from the farm to go horse riding in the bush, where we were surrounded by wild kangaroos. At Bunbury you can swim with the wild dolphins, go on a dolphin spotting boat trip or head out early and have breakfast on the beach, wait for the dolphins to come near the shore and then wade out to waist deep to be near them. We went crabbing at Australind and Mandurrah. We also took a boat across to Penguin Island and saw wild sealions. Get the time of year right and you can see wild penguins too but when we went in Feb they were all at sea or in their burrows and the only ones we saw were the very cute tame ones that were not able to return to the wild for various reasons. We also saw lots of wild pelicans and when we were fishing the man next to us caught a stingray (we caught nothing!!!) All of this was within 1 hours drive away. We also visited Peel Zoo which was small and very friendly. We got close to emus, deer, alpacca, ostrich, chickens, goats, ducks etc loads of birds and koalas. You can feed the kangaroos and the emus. We had a great time here and would recomend this farm and the area to anyone that is interested in a "real" holiday.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisali31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2009

We were looking for a farmstay within 1.5 hours drive from Perth, so the kids wouldn't drive us crazy before we got there! So I phoned Harvey Hills Farmstay to check availability and suitability for the age of the children, Sue (Sue & Alan manage the property) was lovely and so helpful which also gave me confidence that we'd found a lovely place.

We have 2 children aged 5 & 3 years and we went with another family, who have 3 children, 2 year old twins & a 5 year old. It was to be our first ever farmstay experience.

The accommodation is far from luxurious but it's perfect for a farmstay with kids & mud! The chalets were clean and fitted out well with hard wearing surfaces and furniture, so there was no need to constantly tell the kids not to touch or to be careful etc. It had everything we needed (we took our towels & bed linen). Our chalets had wood stoves which heated the house up beautifully.

The weather was freezing, windy & raining but the kids had a ball feeding the animals, playing on the swings (which could do with an upgrade but the kids didn't seem to worry) , bouncing on the trampoline and running amuck. It was a safe environment and they got to experience feeding the animals, which were obviuosly well looked after & friendly. My 3 year old loved feeding the sheep, Dora, Babara, Lilly & baby Annabella. There were donkeys, rabbits, chickens (we got to collect fresh eggs daily!), a pony, cows and more.

Alan & Sue are lovely hosts and were very friendly and helpful with the kids. The farm's owner even showed up with chocolates for all the kids one morning which was very thoughtful.

The location is stunning, up on the hilll overlooking rolling green pastures with views across parts of the Harvey Dam.

In summary, Harvey Hills Farmstay was a great spot for our first farmstay experience, the kids had a ball which made for a relaxing weekend for the 'grown-ups' so yes, we'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weeyins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harvey
20.8 mi away
Australind Tourist Park
Australind Tourist Park
#1 of 2 in Australind
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
24.5 mi away
The Clifton & Grittleton Lodge
22.1 mi away
Mercure Sanctuary Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Dolphin Retreat Bunbury
Dolphin Retreat Bunbury
#8 of 10 in Bunbury
3.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
18.3 mi away
Evedon Park Bush Resort
Evedon Park Bush Resort
#1 of 1 in Burekup
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey Hills Farm Stay Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey Hills Farm Stay Chalets

Property: Harvey Hills Farm Stay Chalets
Address: 328 Harvey Quindanning Road, Harvey, Western Australia 6220, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Shire of Harvey > Harvey
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Harvey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer family accommodation within the stunning surrounds of our garden, overlooking the Harvey Hills and Harvey dam. Children have access at all times to feeding the animals and patting the animals. we are a child friendly farmstay farm stay business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harvey Hills Farm Stay Chalets Hotel Harvey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing