We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Farmstay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harvey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harvey Hills Farm Stay Chalets
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Farmstay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Absolutely beautiful setting. The views from the chalets are stunning. Chalets are basic, nothing fancy - a comfy place to rest after busy days picnicking, exploring the area, feeding the farm animals and swimming in the pool. Would recommend to families.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceWebstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    16
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
42
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greater Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay here for 2 nights. The new managers did a great job at making us feel welcome and at home and only on their first weekend running the place! Well done. The chalets were a nice surprise, very clean and had everything you could need. Our little 20 month old boy loved playing with the animals and feeding them all. The tractor rides were also a nice surprise. Definitely recommend this place and Harvey was a nice little town

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

TV was not working???... but who cares .... it turned out to be a blessing in disguise ..... we spent more family time playing card games, swimming, visiting the animals...there was sufficient places of interest to visit ...My city kids had there first experience with farm animals and they loved it ....Sue & Alan were really friendly .... the chalet was clean and sufficiently equipped ,,, the farm was a safe environment for the kids to run around in... we would be definitely be visiting regularly and bring our friends along for a short stay ....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EdwinLHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here recently for three nights with our daughter, son and five grandchildren (2-14). The two chalets were very clean, adequately furnished with well-sized front porches to take in the great views across to Harvey Dam, the grazing farm animals, kangaroos at dawn and dusk and the delightful, vivid blue wrens and other bird life. For us, that was about the extent of the good bits.

The day we arrived it was around 30 degrees and the kids were understandably keen to use the swimming pool. Unfortunately, it was closed as this was the first warm day they'd had (seriously- its November in WA??) and the water quality levels hadn't been checked (bewildering given it's for the use of farmstay guests and all four chalets were booked for that weekend). When the pool was open the following day, we found the surrounding pavers littered with gravel and wasp nests in the umbrella. There were written instructions not to run (quite reasonable request and impossible anyway given the aforementioned gravel), dive (OK) or jump (try telling that to a 6 year old), but what took the cake was the verbal request for no splashing and minimal entries and exits from the water! We're from Perth, we get water conservation, but really, if it's that dire perhaps the pool should be removed as a selling point.
The play equipment for small children was dodgy and had to be cleared of spider webs. Similarly the trampoline. The cubby house was inaccessible due to the number of resident wasps. Is it expecting too much for a farmstay, geared for families with young children, to provide adequately maintained equipment?
Low wattage lights, empty gas cylinders and a DVD player on request only were minor annoyances but added to our disappointment.
On a brighter note, the younger kiddies enjoyed feeding the animals and collecting the eggs and our owner Sue was perfectly friendly.
Harvey Hills is situated in a picturesque part of country WA and has the potential to be a much better farmstay than what we encountered. Given we were looking forward to this break, I would have hoped to provide a far more positive review.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Linley_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Had a short trip to Harvey, Western Australia and stayed at the Harvey Hills Farm Stay with our two kids (7 & 10). What a wonderful stay we had. Feeding all the animals and collecting your own chicken eggs. The kids had an absolute ball and we would defintely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trina Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband,3 kids and I stayed in Harvey Hills Farm Stay and we just couldn't pick anywhere better.
We got there quite late around 11pm and Sue was still welcoming us with smile.
She had everything ready for us,clean fresh linen,fresh towels,electric blankets were already on,room was nice and warm (Sue put the aircon ON for us) and very clean!
At 8am went to feed the animals with Sue and Alan,the animals were all nice and healthy and VERY well looked after.
Alan went and called the animals (Gabriel,Fruity,Barbara and few other names that I don't remember) over and they were running towards him,it was so cute! So we don't know what people on about Alan being not animal friendly.
Also the view was incredible,beautiful and peaceful.
We were staying at the chalet number 4,it got absolutely EVERYTHING that you need.
Sue and Alan are wonderful people.
They are very kind and gentle.
It was actually my daughter first birthday,and they even got a present for her. We felt like we were staying in our own family holiday house.
Everything was just perfect.
Great place,great service,beautiful owner!
What else would you ask?
We really don't know what people on about when they wrote bad comments.
We certainly didn't experience anything bad,at all.

We will definitely come back!!

R&D



  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaVera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We (myself, husband and 6 year old son) have just returned from a 4 night stay at Harvey Hills Farmstay and the whole experience was fantastic. The views are simply breathtaking and the accomodation, although not 5 star, was clean, functional and very well equipped. I have never stayed anywhere else at this level that supplies cling wrap, oven foil, salt, pepper, tissues, 4 toilet rolls, a draw full of tea towels. It's all those little things that you have to go out and buy, only this time we didn't which I think adds to the overall experience. Reverse cycle air con kept the accomodation just right and the electric blanket on our bed was a real treat - another lovely touch that I wasn't expecting. Alan and Sue were very welcoming and Sue especially was great with the kids at the morning feeding sessions. They made it clear that they were there should we need anything and were happy to chat if you wanted to, but also left you alone to enjoy your holiday. There are enough local attractions to keep you busy if you want to, cheese factory, winery's, Harvey Dam with a great picnic and play area, and lots of little towns to visit if you want to. We found feedng the animals in the morning, getting ready to go out for a few hours then heading back to the farm mid to late afternoon and chilling out looking at the veiws was blissfull. I would say this is a fantastic place for a family holiday or a couple wanting a romantic getaway. The only way the holiday could have been improved on - and I am being picky here - is that there was no DVD player in our chalet (number 3) and the bed was very creaky.

Room Tip: I would say Chalet 3 and 4 have the best views but if you go in summer chalet 1 and 2 are closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harvey
24.5 mi away
Hotel Lord Forrest
Hotel Lord Forrest
#4 of 9 in Bunbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
20.8 mi away
Australind Tourist Park
Australind Tourist Park
#1 of 2 in Australind
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
18.3 mi away
Evedon Park Bush Resort
Evedon Park Bush Resort
#1 of 1 in Burekup
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Riverside Cabin Park
Riverside Cabin Park
#1 of 1 in Eaton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
24.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Lighthouse
24.5 mi away
The Clifton & Grittleton Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey Hills Farm Stay Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey Hills Farm Stay Chalets

Property: Harvey Hills Farm Stay Chalets
Address: 328 Harvey Quindanning Road, Harvey, Western Australia 6220, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Shire of Harvey > Harvey
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Harvey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer family accommodation within the stunning surrounds of our garden, overlooking the Harvey Hills and Harvey dam. Children have access at all times to feeding the animals and patting the animals. we are a child friendly farmstay farm stay business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harvey Hills Farm Stay Chalets Hotel Harvey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing