We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013

A great resort, very friendly staff and great facilities. The location is good, the view is great and it is fairly close to the town centre. We had a 2 bedroom apartment which was huge and plenty of room. The only thing was that the air con was extremely loud so sleeping with it on was difficult. Overall a fantastic resort and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Shell229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (924)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 924 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in a studio room - ground floor is not ideal as the view is not as good and everyone walks by your room. For the price, you do expect more however everything in Exmouth and maybe all of WA is expensive and would put a lot of Australians off perhaps. Staff were a bit inconsistent, mostly overseas travellers it seems, breakfast staff not as friendly. Anne at the front desk was very helpful. The restaurant was Ok but for the prices, it really needs to be a lot better. Meals were pretty much the same price as Rockpool et al in Perth. Without a car you need to arrange the shuttle pr the friendly local taxi ( expensive but helpful ). Its a nice resort but not as good as it should be for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TCK33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great time had, hotel was clean and staff friendly.
We had a great break and really enjoyed the visit
Possible improvements, wifi in rooms would be nice.
Access to town in the evening was fine and the food in the hotel and out was fantastic.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Monkeypuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in May and really enjoyed the experience.

We were in a superior ocean view room which was lovely - spacious, clean, with great views over the pool and out to the ocean. Spa bath was fabulous and the bed was very comfy. It was great to have a DVD player, stereo and fridge in the room too. Rooms were serviced well each day.

The hotel looks quite new and has a lovely feel about it. It has been designed well. The pool area is very inviting surrounded by comfy pool lounges. The staff on reception were very helpful and welcoming (particularly Monique). The reception staff were always happy to help - giving us advice on day trips or providing us with a late check-out.

We ate in the restaurant on the first night and that was somewhat disappointing. The service was a bit lacklustre. We ordered a side of broccoli which was completely forgotten - we couldn't be bothered asking for it again. We also thought the food was very expensive given it was nothing special - $44 for a risotto? $24 for a prawn entree consisting of 5 prawns and a smear of avocado? Avoid the restaurant and eat out in Exmouth instead. We had a delicious meal at Whalers Restaurant in town for a much better price.

The buffet breakfast was a great spread but again was let down by the service. The breakfast was cold as they had forgotten to turn the burners on. When we pointed this out, there was no apology or acknowledgement that we had eaten a cold breakfast. I was also wondering if the Health Department might have something to say about the cold meats, cheese and smoked salmon that was sitting out in direct sunlight. All the other hotels we have visited had these types of food sitting on ice but not at the Novotel - they were warming up in the sun instead.

So apart from my gripes about the restaurant, this was a great place to stay. From what we could see of the accommodation choices available in Exmouth, the Novotel definitely looked like the best option. We really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbuddy010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

There is no doubt that this is the best looking and best located hotel in Exmouth. It is 3.5 km outside town so if you stay here you will need a car or to use their half hourly shuttle service. We had a car. This hotel is in a great location with most rooms having a view of the beach and or the pool or the marina. It is a lovely building and the rooms are great, for now. It is obvious that no expense was spared when this hotel was designed and constructed. However my guess is that ever since then they have been trying to get their money back. That means that every other aspect of the hotel is in cheap cost cutting mode. This includes ongoing work on the hotel. The restaurant is very average and overpriced and breakfast was a farse. Ours was cold because the heaters under the food trays had gone out (out of fuel) and the staff took sometime to notice. I seen better spreads in the third world! We had one breakfast and one evening meal in the hotel in a 10 night stay. There a number of better places for both in town. The staff are the kind that are superficially polite but only on the surface, underneath they are the type who think everything would run much simpler and cheaper if the guests didn't keep bothering them. During our stay we had to get both of our door keys re-cut twice because they would not allow us access to our room. The first time we had the lecture about not putting our keys near our mobile phones and the second time just one of those looks! Not an "I sorry for the inconvenience" to be heard! On one day our room simply wasn't serviced? You get the picture. By all means stay here, it is a lovely pool, but don't expect 5 star service to go with the price, all you'll get is the use of the building!

Room Tip: Around the pool could be noisy. The view over the marina or inland is only average. Out on the extre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snarper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The hotel and grounds were amazing, very friendly staff and the location was amazing right on the beach front. We had a 2 bedromm Apartment and it was huge with a great view of the pool and beach. An upgarde of the tv's in the rooms so that people can use there own entertainment. I could not fault the hotel and staff at all but for for the breakfast on Sunday morning.

We went down (4 people)for breakfast on the Sunday and had a full buffet breakfast, for the cost we were not satisfied at all. All the hot food in the buffet was cold and very little in the buffets to begin with. I choose what was left of the bacon, sausages, hash brown and baked beans and not one piece was hot, was lucky to be warm. My freshly cooked toast and eggs were of course hot but the rest of the breakfast was a major let down. My wife is preganant and asked for 2x fried eggs but for them cooked hard, they arrived with one yolk hard and one extremly runny. Yes maybe we could of asked for the bain-marie's to be re-stocked with hot food and more of it but if you are paying for a buffet style hot breakfast then this is what should be available at all times not just a 6am when breakfast starts.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the pool so you get the sunrise view to the morning is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azznjo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This was what was wrong:

1. Bathroom sinks would drain and left disgusting sludge on basin
2. No washing poweder for washing machine
3. BBQ gas ignition didn’t work
4. Kitchen equipment in our room was terrible quality. This was also a safety concern as the chefs knives were very blunt. Salt and pepper shakers were jammed.
5. SPA was too hot to use
6. They had plenty of vacant rooms and offered us an upgrade…for a price. We wereon our honeymoon why not just give the upgrade us for free? Simple thing to do really and we would have turned a blind eye to most things on this list. Pretty poor service I think
7. TV was locked to stop guests using their own HDMI cords. Its 2013, everyone brings their own entertainment with them these days! This is a ridiculous thing to do, we ended up not paying for the movies you offered anyway so in the end you have go no profit and just annoyed your guests!
8. TV volume didn’t work from the remote which meant you had to get up every time you wanted to turn down the ads
9. There was a hole in the bedroom wall
10. Air conditioning was extremely loud. Thus when my wife went to bed early I had to turn it off and swelter so she could sleep
11. Waitstaff or kitchen staff forgot my eggs order twice. This meant I missed out because by the time I realised they weren’t coming the kitchen had closed
12. Our first (and last as it turned out) non breakfast meal we paid for was one of the worst lunches I have had in years. The meals were expensive and the quality was terrible. I had the open steak sandwich which was oily, had too much aioli, the steak was ¾ fat and gristle, the bread was enormous and took up most of the sandwich and the salad was soggy
13. Unless you went for breakfast early, by the time you went to the bain-marie the food was soggy and tasteless
14. Outside restaurant chairs were disgusting! They were covered in dirt around the arm rests from where diners had wiped there dirty food covered hands. This is actually a food safety concern and should be addressed immediatley
15. Bar taps were not working
16. My wife waited 20 minutes for a mocktail. I saw at least 3 staff members walk causally past the tray as it sat behind the bar and no one thought to ask who had ordered it. Wait staff didn’t communicate at all and I had to call someone over to ask them to bring it to the table!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
3  Thank retropill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
4.8 mi away
Sea Breeze Resort
Sea Breeze Resort
#1 of 6 in Exmouth
802 reviews
0.7 mi away
Exmouth Escape Resort
Exmouth Escape Resort
#3 of 6 in Exmouth
382 reviews
40.8 mi away
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ningaloo Lodge
Ningaloo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Exmouth
156 reviews
1.2 mi away
RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park
1.9 mi away
Potshot Resort
Potshot Resort
#6 of 6 in Exmouth
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort

Address: Madaffari Drive, Exmouth, Western Australia 6707, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: $128 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort is located on Sunrise Beach, part of Exmouth's new marina development. The resort features a choice of one, two and three bedroom apartments and bungalows, a restaurant, bar, swimming pool, gymnasium and conference facilities. Ningaloo Reef is Australia's largest fringing coral reef and is a protected marine park. It is also one of the few reefs that can be accessed straight from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ningaloo Hotel Exmouth
Novotel Exmouth
Exmouth Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing