We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for a wonderful break!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
perth australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Thank you for a wonderful break!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

We headed to Ningaloo to tick off one of my husbands bucket list entries to swim with the Whale sharks. When investigating where to stay and searching for a bit of luxury as we were leaving the kids behind we discovered that there really wasn't too many choices. The best accomodation available was the Sal Salis Eco tents. We had the most magnificent time. The location is just beautiful! We swam 10 metres from the beach and were snorkelling on top of the most alive coral reef i have ever seen. The eco tents are simple but are clean and the linen is of very high quality. The king bed was very comfortable and it was wonderful being rocked to sleep by the sounds of the ocean. The food was very fresh and we were subjected to 5 star restaurant style food with matching wines for breakfast lunch and dinner - well maybe not wine for breakfast :-). We were taken on sea kyak adventures daily with Bevan our favourite guide - we called him the Steve Irwin of the sea! If you go don't miss the kyak and snorkel tour to the blue lagoon. This place is incredible and a once in a lifetime experience. We were given a nightime tour of the stars by Greg one night that was very enjoyable. The stars are so bright and light up the sky for our nightly sky show! A very warm and sincere thanks to all the staff for being so amazing. A special thanks goes to Mikey the resort Manager who is a most professional and kind man and seemed to be working 24/7 ensuring the guest experience was 5 star. This is not camping but Glamping! It is expensive yet I cannot put a cost on this terrific experience. They organised a tour for us to swim with the whale sharks and this tour was also a highligh of our 5 days. They are magnificent beautiful creatures. We will be back :-)!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanPerthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    28
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
44
105
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2010

No doubt this is a gorgeous location! What has been said in previous posts is correct - tents are comfortable, staff helpful and food more than adequate. However the costs are way out of line with what is provided. I would judge it about 50% overpriced.

If money is no issue for you - then this is a nice place to stay but not if you are looking for a reef/coast stay at a reasonable price. Consider places like Cape Levanque if you want nice tents and food or if you really just want location and the beach lifestyle go to Quobba Station.

Sorry that this is a bit negative - but someone has to say the emperor has no clothes and Sal Salis gorgeous though it is was simply not worth the thousands for a few days.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reflex99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

We stayed a few years ago under previous management. We know the area well and had camped in the National Park many times. This was the year to splurge. A family holiday with our three boys aged 9, 11 and 13 at the time. We flew in to Exmouth and were picked up by the mini bus. It is all about the location. Up market camping in the National Park right on the beach and reef. We would swim before breakfast, snorkel several times a day, have afternoon sleeps, read books and more walks and swims. All meals were provided. We enjoyed getting together with the other guests for meals and evening drinks. The camp also provided complimentary transport to other beaches. We did this a couple of times. We also enjoyed using the kayaks. Lara McCall, Margaret River, West Australia.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrganicMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

We just returned from a 4 days stay at Sal Salis on the Ningaloo Reef (Exmouth). We had a wonderful stay; the snorkeling was great (sharks, turtles, great variety of fish and beautiful coral), the accommodation fun, the food was delicious and the staff were wonderful - nothing was too much trouble. We travelled with two boys (8 and 10 years old) who loved the whole back to nature experience. The staff encouraged us to see all the different aspects this location has to offer and we enjoyed every bit of it. The staff are knowledgeable and and they were great with our two boys, explaining everything we were seeing and helping them to get the most of the whole experience. The tents were perfect and as there are only 5 tents it is a very low key, exclusive experience which we enjoyed tremendously. Again many thanks to Tim and his team who made our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2009

We have just returned (to the UK) after our holiday in Western Australia and stayed here from the 4th - 6th May 2009.
How anyone can criticise this incredible place is impossible to understand! We only had two nights there sadly, but could easily have stayed longer. It is everything it says it is on the label and one day we will return. Yes, it's expensive but you are paying for the exclusivity of the camp's surroundings, incredible location, attention to detail, high staff/customer ratio, gourmet food and lovely, knowledgeable staff - so worth every penny!
Our thanks to all the staff who made our stay so wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
305 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2009

We stayed here last year, under different ownership.This resort is typical of the "next hot thing" in ecoresorts. The setting was beautiful. The tents were fine. The bathroom was insulting - hole in ground, under toilet seat, hand pumped water for washing, showering and drinking. Inadequate, to be kind. Food good, staff nice. Price so far out of line as to be insulting! I felt like I had an "idiot" tattoo on my forehead for paying their rates for the facilities provided. Beach was beautiful and Cape Range scenery and wildlife spectacular. We loved the area and had driven from Geraldton. It was our 10th vacation in OZ from the US, and we will return this May.
If you want a rustic, eco experience, with value for your money, go to Cape Leveque and stay at the resort, on aboriginal land. One third the cost of Sal Salis, three times the comfort, and an overall far superior experience.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
176 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2009

We had a six night stay at the end of November 2008. The change of ownership is going to be good, provided all the ideas are managed through. The five tents are all the same, timber decking approach to sun deck and hammock. The tent is a large timber frame with canvass dressed over and a fly sheet over the top with an air gap to insulate from the heat. The front and rear has both net and canvass to zip, same applies to the four windows. the large double bed is extremely comfortable and the linen is of high quality. Open clothes rack and shelfs. Robes, bio-degradable soap and shampoos all provided.
The shower and wash basin are on the rear deck which is covered by the fly sheet to near ground level for privacy. The water which is stored under is hand pumped upto the solar tank - the heat gain is not great and a solar shower bag which heats up well is a useful supplement to the shower when hung on the hook either outside on the front deck for after swimming or if they have all been fitted next to the shower. The wash basin has a brasss hand pump which delivers straight from the store under which is about 5 gallons capacity. You have to bear in mind that the restriction of being in a marine park is that everything that is brought in has to be taken out. the earth closet works well. No problem just getting used to not flushing.
Once the ladies realise that every day is a bad hair day and everyone else is the same, life is easy. They are looking to increase the distribution of electricity produced by the solar panels to allow electric pumps for the water at the tents, but water for washing is restricted as I said before everything is brought in from Exmouth.
All the team work hard to ensure your enjoyment. The chef's using local produce have very good menus and excellent food. Take your own wine etc. We were fortunate to have travelled round the Margaret River area before the flight from Perth and bought and packed it ready. You will not need vaste amounts of clothes, it's all very casual and during the day you are either snorkelling, walking or having a relax and read.
The team also eat with you and their knowledge of flora,fauna and fishes is very good. All the trips out to adjacent bays either in vehicle or kayak are well organised and equipped. We had a strong wind in the same direction as the current running acros the beach which made kayaking to the blue lagoon interesting. We are avid snorkellers and so snorkelled all the locations available either accompanied by our main guides Dani and Alexia or not and although visability was not mint we photographed some species that we had not seen so far. Had a rare sighting of a Titan shell eating a star fish. Plus the reef is basically just off the beach and the coral is in good condition.
The very large ray mentioned in the pervious review is a local called 'stumpy'as the tail has been severed removing the sting - maybe from a battle or by human.
The stars at night are something else. We had a chart so as to recognise individual stars but with no light polution - amazing. They put hurricane lamps out in front of your tent and around the dining area which gives a lovely ambience. You gather before dining with your fellow guests and share the days adventures whilst watching the sunset. Walked the creek spotting the black foot rock wallabies for spot location and recording as they are endangered and this is one of their protected habitats. Most of the team have been on a variety of course to do with the local wild life.
We can recommend the experience having thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, the friendship, knowledge and organisation by all the team there from meeting your arrival at Exmouth to saying goodbye at the same place. Some of the team I know have moved on, but before they did they gave their knowledge to those still there ensuring continuity for the guests.
Yes it is expensive, but it is the only 'permenant place you can stay in the Marine Park, they have great restrictions placed on them plus the logistics to get your supplies in. Don't hesitate, check it out.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank obbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
22.1 mi away
Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort
25.1 mi away
Sea Breeze Resort
Sea Breeze Resort
#1 of 6 in Exmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
22.2 mi away
Exmouth Escape Resort
Exmouth Escape Resort
#3 of 6 in Exmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Ningaloo Lodge
Ningaloo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Exmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
22.5 mi away
RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park
22.7 mi away
Potshot Resort
Potshot Resort
#6 of 6 in Exmouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef

Property: Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef
Address: Yardie Creek Rd | Cape Range National Park, Exmouth, Western Australia 6707, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Exmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef is an eco resort consisting of 16 en-suite Wilderness Tents. The Heritage listed Ningaloo Reef is a few short steps away where a totally different and amazing world waits to be explored and enjoyed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef Hotel Exmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing