We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveler rating
198
31
9
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
31
9
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sand dunes dietary requirements other guests luxury tents whale sharks unique experience ningaloo reef per day long drop daily activities national park rock wallabies low impact every guest an eco resort honeymoon tent amazing location
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 246 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2016

We had the privilege of staying at Sal Salis as a family of four.
From the moment we arrived we all knew we were in a very special part of the world .
Candice ,Paul and Staff ,the views,the amazing reef,beaches and snorkelling,the experience of being looked after by Murray and Nat to swim with eight metre Whale sharks ,Manta rays and seeing Humpback whales all in one day on the cobalt blue waters of the Ningaloo Reef was amazing .
Thank you for the experience and the memories that we will carry with us for all time .
Michelle , Leo, James, Sophie.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leodifab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsAmanda_Fisher, Commercial Manager at Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2016

Wow - I cannot wait to share this wonderful review with all the team out at the Camp and with Murray & the Live Ningaloo team too. Will print this off right now and send it to the Camp with the next delivery. Michelle, Leo, James and Sophie - you are why we do it!! Thank you so much for sharing your experiences on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile

We were fortunate to spend some time at this gorgeous location. The staff were superb - very attentive with friendly dispositions. Special mention to Renee who really went out of his way to look after us throughout our time there. The highlight of our time was a kayak out to the blue lagoon with him. Simply sensational.

The tents are luxurious and in the most pristine location. Lying in the hammock on the front deck was just heaven. Would have been great to have a little music at night when sitting on the main deck watching the sunset.

My only very minor complaint is that drink selection was quite limited and often not cold. But certainly not enough of an issue to impact our stay.

We will definitely return!

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Snowbetty77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsAmanda_Fisher, Commercial Manager at Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2016

Dear Anna L
We are super pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The music idea is one that has not come up before and so the team at camp are going to do a 'mini-survey' and ask a few guests what they think on that score. Your commends on the drink selection are also noted so Candice & Brendan (aka Tazzie) are going to give this some attention too. As always thank you for taking the time to review our camp and thank you so much for visiting!! Cheers, Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2016

Sal Salis is the best way to explore Ningaloo Reef. The camp is hidden in the white sand dunes of the Cape Range National Park. From my tent I was just a few meters away to the world’s greatest coastal coral reef. The low impact tents provide a wilderness experience without compromising comfort. All power is solar-generated and the camp asks guests to respect the strict environmental and sustainability principles. It’s the way I love: charming and wild.

Room tip: Ask for the most isolated tent when you make your booking.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nanda_haensel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsAmanda_Fisher, Commercial Manager at Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2016

Thanks Nanda, we are so pleased to know you had a great stay. We are loving the photos that you sent through too .... great stuff. With all best wishes from the team in camp too, Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2016

This was our first visit to Western Australia and I can't imagine topping this visit or experience. Sal Salis is a gift of a place with a staff that makes you feel welcome, and are invested in your experience there, whatever you want it to be. Candice & Paul never seemed to stop moving but always had time to chat and were always asking after our needs. We already miss Amy's lovely smile and her thoughtfulness.

The facilities and tents are clean, elegantly simple and truly luxurious by any camping standards. Showers were hot and the beds were very comfortable. We had all the water we needed and it was a nice reminder of how much excess we allow ourselves with such a limited precious resource (especially us Californians). The turndown service every night was an extra perk. The main lodge was comfortable, had the best views of sunsets, and was a great place to take in an afternoon drink and enjoy the cool breeze.

Our fellow lodgers were a delight and the communal dining experience allowed for the lost art of communication. Brendan's dinner offerings were generous and delicious! In fact we didn't have a meal we didn't enjoy. Even more impressive when you consider the effort required to cook on limited energy resources and the local grocery is a 2 hour trip. Canapés and cocktails during sunset can't be beat!

Daily activities included snorkeling and hikes where the staff's apparent love of nature was on display in their description of the land, plant and animal life. Special nod to Julian, Shannon, and Tif for their guiding skills. We rented a car which allowed us a little more freedom to explore the rest of the park and other beaches outside of scheduled activities.

We also booked the Whale Shark swim with Live Ningaloo and if you miss this you will truly regret it. The crew was top notch and invested in our experience while upholding excellent eco tourism standards and respect for these beautiful creatures. Thank you Nat, Murray, Ash, Julian, & Saeb.

All in all we loved this place so much we joked about volunteering for the upcoming wedding just as an excuse to stay :). Make this place a destination. You will truly appreciate the experience of living where, as they say, "the outback meets the reef"

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsAmanda_Fisher, Commercial Manager at Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2016

This is the kind of review that brings tears to my eyes and a huge smile to my face. Thank you for taking the time to write, and thank you for coming to visit us. We truly love what we have at Ningaloo and are very glad that you enjoyed your time with us, it seems you really connected well with all aspects of the camp and the camp team. And just FYI - the wedding (our first for the season) went super well, a perfect day for the happy couple. I do hope we see you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2016

Glamping on the beach - the tents have all you need - comfy bed, ensuite with toilet shower, little deck with views of the sea, a hammock and some wallabies to keep you company! The meals were all delicious and satisfying , the dinners were matched with wines or help your self to alcohol at any time. Don't come here if you want airconditioning, wi fi and phone coverage - this place is remote with wonderful snorkelling and beautiful vistas. All the staff are helpful, friendly and knowledgeable - we did the whale shark tour while we were here and Live Ningaloo were excellent.

Room tip: all tents looked good - they even have a honeymoon tent!
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank loretta g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsAmanda_Fisher, Commercial Manager at Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2016

Dear Loretta G. Thank you for your review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your Sal Salis experience and that you met some of our locals ... the furry, hoppy kind!! I always think it is great that you can get so close to them for photos of their pretty little faces. From whales to wallabies, so glad you loved the glamping - again our thanks for the review and for visiting too. Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews