We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hospitality at its best”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Three of my friends and I stayed here for 4 nights as part of a wonderful fishing and glamping experience. From the moment we arrived at Sal Salis we were treated to the most wonderful hospitality you could wish for with nothing too much trouble for any of this staff. Tristan and Georgie lead by example and it was great to see how much they clearly enjoy their job. The rest of the staff we met were equally charming, Will, Lauren, Laura and Mayu (sorry for the spelling) worked hard to ensure every guest had the best experience while staying at the resort. The food was of an extremely high standard and Brendan managed to serve the tastiest 3 course meals with a variety of local fish and meats finished off by irresistible deserts and all from a very modest but extremely clean kitchen. The tents had comfortable beds and pillows with all the comforts you could expect from an Eco camp. I will definitely return with my wife so she too can experience the uniqueness of this place which is enriched by the great group of people to looking after the guests. Special thanks to Tristan for providing an emergency 20ltrs of fuel when we stupidly ran the tank too low on our hire car and for sourcing a foam esky in which we took the Spanish mackerel back to Perth after having it expertly gutted and filleted by Brendan. Thanks for a great experience.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chigg71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    29
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
46
117
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

In 2010 Ningaloo became my happy place and now in 2014 Sal Salis is my 'happy' place to stay. Shy and I loved every moment. I really wanted/needed a break where I could completely disconnect from the things of the world (TV, computers, phone, email … you get my drift) and nature was the answer. 4 days at Sal Salis felt like double … Luxury Camping is definitely the answer!

LUXURY = The crew … true hospitality professionals who put the luxury into luxury camping. Tristan, Georgie and their entire team definitely delivered 'genuine' hospitality, creating the relaxing, carefree vibe of Sal Salis. The tented accommodation is clean with comfy 5* beds and the softest linen, the smell reminded me of regular visits to the day spa. Toilet and shower facilities are clean, open, private and attached to the rear of the tent. Access to the reef is the quickest of anyone visiting Ningaloo because it's on your doorstep. All meals, snacks, water & beverages are provided. Our chef B-boy was very accommodating to all dietary requirements and delivered a variety of culinary delights everyday … yes everyone loved the raspberry muffins at breakfast hahaha and thank you for catering to Yeshaya's 9yr old boy tastes. Snorkelling gear, towels, sunscreen … well virtually everything was provided for.

CAMPING = 20 litres of water (to shower) per person/per day + the toilet is a long drop, remember you are camping … in a national park that is world heritage listed. A night sky of endless stars with sounds of wildlife and the rolling ocean, make for a peaceful nights sleep. There are no laundry facilities so don't get any ideas that you aren't camping ;) My only critique is air flow and a small fan to circulate air would've been awesome on the one hot still night … but you don't take everything including the kitchen sink camping so no big deal!

Another unique aspect of Sal Salis is communal dining (although you don't have to if you don't want to), it was enjoyable meeting other travellers and learning/listening to them as well as the staff, and with a capacity of 18, you don't have to stress about crowded resorts, restaurants or beaches (something I loathe) … there are moments where you kinda feel like you own the place because people are scarce.

Ningaloo will always play a big part of my 'time-out for me' and so it's only fitting that Sal Salis becomes that place where you MUST leave your cares and worries behind and take whatever time you need to recover, refocus and recharge. I'll definitely be back …. soon!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron-Orupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Instant calm. Soothing surrounds. Enthusiastic, discreet & respectful staff & the food - lovely meals from the lovely chef! Rolling waves, pristine beaches, everything you need catered for & a clear commitment to professional but warm customer service. Switch off the phone, pack the bikini & give in to pure peace. A lovely way to spoil yourself in unspoilt surrounds. Thank you Tristan, Georgie & your smiling considerate staff - we can't wait to come back & get our relax on!!!! STUNNING. Zoe & Narelle.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zorell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and I have just come back from 4 days at Sal Salis. We had an amazing time, we hit the jackpot when it came to finding wildlife. We swam with sharks, witnessed a shark giving birth, swam with turtles and under a beautiful full moon watched a large green turtle lay her eggs then scurry back into the water. To say nothing of the beautiful reef and tropical fish that are just at the foot of the resort, its a very special place to visit. A beautiful beach you can wonder along for miles with the most amazing turquoise water. It's pretty special when you can enjoy all these wonderful sights then walk a short distance back to your accommodation and fall asleep for an afternoon siesta (the beds were very comfortable) or if you wish to be social sit up on the deck and share a wine with other guests.
The staff were fantastic, they couldn't do enough for us and the food and wine was fabulous. This was our second visit to Ningaloo Reef so we chose to take the Chill out package, we were kept very busy spending most of our time on the reef. Every time you snorkel its a different experience. Tristan, George, Cameron and Jean Piere really looked after us and we felt very spoilt. Ningaloo Reef is a very special place and if you're a person who doesn't have a lot of time and needs to de-stress, it's amazing how just a couple of days at Sal Salis can fast track you into feeling relaxed, nature will always do that to you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TigersPortDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildBush, Owner at Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments - they do say it all. The wildlife and spectacular location tell the story of our wonderful spot at Ningaloo Reef - we are there to hopefully provide the interpretation to bring the experience alive and the soft touches that make for a magical bush experience. The latter part of the year is also a great time to visit as you are much less likely to run into many other people in the national park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigtownshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was an amazing place to stay . We were lucky to have the resort to ourselves and Tristan had taken over management 2 months earlier. He was extremely attentive and had an excellent staff of Cameron as guide and Jean Piere as chef. The accommodation was wonderful and the beach incredible with the reef being only a few fee from the shore.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WigtownshireFourplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

It is not often that our expectations are not just met but also exceeded.

The whole Sal Salis experience was fantastic and we are grateful to Tristan, Georgie and all the staff for making our stay so pleasant. In particular, we would like to thank John our exclusive guide for two days. Not only was he a font of knowledge for all things sea and land, his cool and resourcefulness was critical in an emergency (“stacking the oyster stack”!). He also understands how to mix natural beauty with champagne sunsets.

Lay back , relax and allow the team to organise everything for you, nothing is too much trouble, and nature does all the rest. The location is amazing, literally metres to the reef and a short drive to some great gorge walks. We stuck to the camp facilities and itineraries and had both an active and relaxing stay at the same time – from turtles to sunset canapés, delicious dinners and early to bed.

We loved the simple comfort of the tents (and the sound of the tent flapping at night) and the respect for the environment (short showers and no reading lights). Don’t come if you are expecting Qualia or Bali – at Sal Salis you share your environment with nature, its beauty and its constraints.

Bring your book and binoculars and forget your electronic gadgets (nothing “connected” works at Sal Salis).

Two styles of stay are available “Ningaloo Chill Out” and “Ultimate Reef Escape” – what we have described here is the Ultimate Reef Escape. While the Chill Out package is half the price, in our view it is less than half as good – the activities and guides are part of the Ultimate package and are critical for a fantastic and safe experience.

This is one of the few “once in a lifetime experiences” we would seriously consider doing again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Was part of a small tour group of 10 and we had the place to ourselves. Great tents, great beds, great setting. Interesting open bathrooms which would be great in summer as there are no mosquitos there. However they were a bit challenging during our short stay due to a massive cold front that just happened to come across WA while we were there and made for very cold and breezy sit on the pit loo (no smell) and showering with a water-saving shower head (they are in a National Park so strict on 20L per person per day).
This weather led to noisy flapping tent sides - all night, but we could still just hear the waves crashing on the outer reef.
However - deapite the weather - it was a great place and the staff were really helpful, the food fantastic, the wines fitted the food really well and the walk up to Yardie Creek through the Gorge was very scenic and the guide very informative.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
22.1 mi away
Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort
25.0 mi away
Sea Breeze Resort
Sea Breeze Resort
#2 of 6 in Exmouth
763 reviews
22.1 mi away
Exmouth Escape Resort
Exmouth Escape Resort
#3 of 6 in Exmouth
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Ningaloo Lodge
Ningaloo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Exmouth
142 reviews
22.4 mi away
RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park
22.6 mi away
Potshot Resort
Potshot Resort
#6 of 6 in Exmouth
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef

Property: Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef
Address: Yardie Creek Rd | Cape Range National Park, Exmouth, Western Australia 6707, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Exmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef is an eco resort consisting of 16 en-suite Wilderness Tents. The Heritage listed Ningaloo Reef is a few short steps away where a totally different and amazing world waits to be explored and enjoyed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef Hotel Exmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing