We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“real views even better than the picture”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“real views even better than the picture”
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Sal Salis is in the most amazing location, set in the sand dunes only a few metres from the beach and Ningaloo Reef. Sit in your luxury tent and look at the Indian Ocean and see and hear it crashing over the reef a couple of hundred metres off the beach (easy to go to sleep listening to this!). We saw lots of whales swimming north a little way beyond the reef.

Nowhere near a road so the only noises you hear are nature - birds, waves; you cannot "get away from it all" (including mobiles - a blessing in my view!) in any better spot than this AND be in five star comfort.

We went mainly to see the whale-sharks but there are many other things to do (if you do not just want to relax!) and snorkelling in the reef right by the Camp is memorable - swam next to an enormous turtle one afternoon.

Staff really friendly and knowledgable about the area; other guests very friendly and evening drinks when we all exchanged our days experiences great fun, followed by excellent dinners.

Memorable in every way !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfenn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    29
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
46
117
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Myself, my husband and our 2 boys aged 11 and 13 stayed for 3n here from 15 th Dec. Sadly the weather was not great as we caught the edge of a tropical cyclone and this put paid to some of our plans. The snorkelling was not great as the sea was too churned up and we were unable to go out on the kayaks. This was unusual for this time of the year, but I would definately recommend making sure you go slap bang in the middle of whenever the best weather is meant to be.
There were very few other people staying so we got pretty personal attention of the satff, who were lovely and fun for the boys. We stayed in the family wilderness tent and the boys enjoyed sleeping in swag bags under the awning...until forced indide by rain! Bathing facilities pretty basic, but as expected, limited amount of water so very quick pop under the shower! Tents nicely done, lovely bed but little storage space...don't take too much stuff!
The staff planned our days, and given that we had hoped to spend them in the sea...they did pretty well. We went walking, drove around local beaches and gorges spotting wildlife, picnic lunch etc. great spot at one beach of about 10 sharks just yards off the beach. All guiding is included.
All food also included and we found it excellent. The chef/ manager Mikey produced fantastic gourmet meals in a really limited kitchen. Central tented area was also very nice, boys had backgammon obsession. Space in this area may have been a bit limited if resort more full.
3n would be enough to stay I think, but 2 too short. No car needed...staff pick you up from airport/ town, which is a good hours drive away...so you really are in the middle of nowhere.
Oh....almost forgot...highlight of our 4 week trip to WA was watching huge loggerhead turtle laying eggs on beach on our last night! Fantastic!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trotterstours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

We headed to Ningaloo to tick off one of my husbands bucket list entries to swim with the Whale sharks. When investigating where to stay and searching for a bit of luxury as we were leaving the kids behind we discovered that there really wasn't too many choices. The best accomodation available was the Sal Salis Eco tents. We had the most magnificent time. The location is just beautiful! We swam 10 metres from the beach and were snorkelling on top of the most alive coral reef i have ever seen. The eco tents are simple but are clean and the linen is of very high quality. The king bed was very comfortable and it was wonderful being rocked to sleep by the sounds of the ocean. The food was very fresh and we were subjected to 5 star restaurant style food with matching wines for breakfast lunch and dinner - well maybe not wine for breakfast :-). We were taken on sea kyak adventures daily with Bevan our favourite guide - we called him the Steve Irwin of the sea! If you go don't miss the kyak and snorkel tour to the blue lagoon. This place is incredible and a once in a lifetime experience. We were given a nightime tour of the stars by Greg one night that was very enjoyable. The stars are so bright and light up the sky for our nightly sky show! A very warm and sincere thanks to all the staff for being so amazing. A special thanks goes to Mikey the resort Manager who is a most professional and kind man and seemed to be working 24/7 ensuring the guest experience was 5 star. This is not camping but Glamping! It is expensive yet I cannot put a cost on this terrific experience. They organised a tour for us to swim with the whale sharks and this tour was also a highligh of our 5 days. They are magnificent beautiful creatures. We will be back :-)!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanPerthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2010

No doubt this is a gorgeous location! What has been said in previous posts is correct - tents are comfortable, staff helpful and food more than adequate. However the costs are way out of line with what is provided. I would judge it about 50% overpriced.

If money is no issue for you - then this is a nice place to stay but not if you are looking for a reef/coast stay at a reasonable price. Consider places like Cape Levanque if you want nice tents and food or if you really just want location and the beach lifestyle go to Quobba Station.

Sorry that this is a bit negative - but someone has to say the emperor has no clothes and Sal Salis gorgeous though it is was simply not worth the thousands for a few days.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reflex99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

We stayed a few years ago under previous management. We know the area well and had camped in the National Park many times. This was the year to splurge. A family holiday with our three boys aged 9, 11 and 13 at the time. We flew in to Exmouth and were picked up by the mini bus. It is all about the location. Up market camping in the National Park right on the beach and reef. We would swim before breakfast, snorkel several times a day, have afternoon sleeps, read books and more walks and swims. All meals were provided. We enjoyed getting together with the other guests for meals and evening drinks. The camp also provided complimentary transport to other beaches. We did this a couple of times. We also enjoyed using the kayaks. Lara McCall, Margaret River, West Australia.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrganicMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

We just returned from a 4 days stay at Sal Salis on the Ningaloo Reef (Exmouth). We had a wonderful stay; the snorkeling was great (sharks, turtles, great variety of fish and beautiful coral), the accommodation fun, the food was delicious and the staff were wonderful - nothing was too much trouble. We travelled with two boys (8 and 10 years old) who loved the whole back to nature experience. The staff encouraged us to see all the different aspects this location has to offer and we enjoyed every bit of it. The staff are knowledgeable and and they were great with our two boys, explaining everything we were seeing and helping them to get the most of the whole experience. The tents were perfect and as there are only 5 tents it is a very low key, exclusive experience which we enjoyed tremendously. Again many thanks to Tim and his team who made our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2009

We have just returned (to the UK) after our holiday in Western Australia and stayed here from the 4th - 6th May 2009.
How anyone can criticise this incredible place is impossible to understand! We only had two nights there sadly, but could easily have stayed longer. It is everything it says it is on the label and one day we will return. Yes, it's expensive but you are paying for the exclusivity of the camp's surroundings, incredible location, attention to detail, high staff/customer ratio, gourmet food and lovely, knowledgeable staff - so worth every penny!
Our thanks to all the staff who made our stay so wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
22.1 mi away
Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort
25.0 mi away
Sea Breeze Resort
Sea Breeze Resort
#3 of 6 in Exmouth
763 reviews
22.1 mi away
Exmouth Escape Resort
Exmouth Escape Resort
#1 of 6 in Exmouth
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Ningaloo Lodge
Ningaloo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Exmouth
143 reviews
22.4 mi away
RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park
22.6 mi away
Potshot Resort
Potshot Resort
#6 of 6 in Exmouth
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef

Property: Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef
Address: Yardie Creek Rd | Cape Range National Park, Exmouth, Western Australia 6707, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Exmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef is an eco resort consisting of 16 en-suite Wilderness Tents. The Heritage listed Ningaloo Reef is a few short steps away where a totally different and amazing world waits to be explored and enjoyed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef Hotel Exmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing