We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not your cheap or basic backpackers - very nice.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2010

I stayed in a Blue Reef twin room, which is in the backpackers area & has a huge KS bed, bedside table & lamp, table & chairs. The room has a split system air conditioner. The linen was crisp & the decor quite modern. There were many Australian-styled power points, great for divers & all their kit! The room was quite spacious. Unlike other reviews, it was quiet when I was there & as there was no TV, this suited me as I read/wrote. Although I didn’t have an ensuite, I believe there is an option to have the same room type with ensuite or dorm rooms. I have a BIG4 card, so was entitled to 10% off. There is heaps of room to park cars.
Rooms are two sets of demountables with a communal area with wooden picnic table, in the area adjoining demountables/rooms (see pics).
The camp kitchen was very modern & spacious – lots of freezer/fridge space & 2 ovens. But note you cannot store alcohol, fish or bait. BYO crockery. There are internet kiosks in the kitchen $2/15 mins. BBQ free for use in camp kitchen.
The ablution block was clean & modern. There was sufficient numbers of cubicles & always hot water.
There is a lovely swimming pool – open daylight hours. There is a beach volleyball area. LPG refills available during business hours. There is a laundry in ablution block 1 with washing machines & dryers, with clothes lines’ available.
Food in the town of Exmouth is expensive: so BYO if you can.
I went for dinner one night at the Exmouth Diner (behind the Caltex). The food was great & well priced & I enjoyed the warm dining room & FREE wireless internet. If you want to use the internet without making a purchase it’s $5. Power to charge laptops is $4.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussie_shark_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 371 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2010

I stayed for a couple of nights in the Blue Reef Backpackers part of the holiday park and was really impressed. It is clean and fresh with brilliant facilities.

The dorm was really clean- quite new perhaps? The beds were already made up with fresh linen and warm fleecy blankets provided. I was impressed that each dorm had its own aircon unit too. There are plenty of toilet blocks which were wonderfully clean, modern and fully functioning/ well maintained. (The only gripe I'd have is that the block nearest the back packers was cleaned at 8 in the morning- time of maximum use which created a bow wave effect on the other busy blocks....) The kitchen was vast and spotless- if you're backpacking you'll need your own crockery, cutlery and utensils. There are plenty of bbq's - alas when I was there there'd been a gas leak so no bbq's :( Lots of tables too. There were a couple of bus tour groups staying who did take over the kitchen and part of the outdoor area- they weren't rowdy just intrusive- and I guess this would happen often.

The staff at reception were really- and genuinly-friendly and helpful.

I didn't use the pool- too busy snorkelling! But the grassed areas were nicely landscaped and plentiful. The location is good for the tracks through the sand dunes to the beach. Also for Nigallo and Cape Range NP's.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

I stayed at Exmouth cape for 1 week when in Exmouth diving. I had a twin room with shared facilities at the beginning of the week and a motel twin at the end.

The units appeared new. I was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the units and, especially the camp kitchen and the toilet blocks. The aircon units worked, supplying heat and cooling (but weren't needed as it was winter).

The staff at reception were lovely, friendly and very helpful whenever I had to deal with them.

The park is located towards one end of Exmouth but the town is very small and the centre is about a 10min walk along the main road. I slept like a log every night. On the Park's website it does warn that some of the accommodation is in the backpacker's area but I didn't find that to be a problem. There is a "curfew" in the camp at 10pm and everyone seemed to respect this. I do always take ear plugs anyway - just in case.

The only downside was that I thought the accommodation was expensive for what it was but then I found Exmouth particularly but Australia expensive in general.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wacky68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

As a caravaner the main thing you notice is the amenities and they were spot on. We also used the camp kitchen that was clean and spacious with free BBQs. Pool nice and clean and more grass that the other van park down the road. $10 per child always gets me as it is not possibly for them to use $10 of additional power and water but I guess someone has to make a quid :-)

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2009

I'm so glad to see that the other reviewer had such a lovely time - that's why we booked this place. I reckon it just about sums up every prejudice her husband had all in one go! We made the mistake of arriving just after check-in had closed - it's the first and last time we did this in the month we were in Australia as there is nothing you can do about problems - I blame that wonderful turtle I saw in torquoise bay just as we were about to leave - and found our keys outside reception.
We'd booked a two-bedded cabin ensuite via Wotif (about $180), as we had done in several other places ie KI, Denmark, so had an idea what to expect. We got an old fiberboard-type of caravan on blocks (maybe familiar in this region but new to us) which was so hot we wouldn't breath - 45degs or so plus - no exageration. Circa late 1960 plus 1970 updates design. The fan switch in the childrens room was sheered off, so no air movement possible for them and they found it almost impossible to sleep. Only a cold tap inside. Loads of wardrobes but not one hangar. And no toilet/shower? After exploring we found a grey block behind the rooms outside which did the job but with no plug and a push tap that sqirted water of about 5 seconds to save water, it was near impossible to wash your face or get soap off hands without elbows and a friends hands! Fine to have an outside block if you're expecting it but we weren't and had to get dressed in the night to take children to the loo -(air con trying it's hardest but only really worked well at 5ish when we woke up freezing and had to get dressed!)
Have to say the camp looked good in the morning and was quiet and clean with a resident emu. Reception were most apologetic and said the unit shouldn't have been in service - having said that it had been cleaned and there was milk in the fridge (though the inside lights didn't work) which makes you wonder who was in there the day before? They also ensured us that we weren't in that number (117 I think?) as a Mr Something was in there - not so. So it seems it was in service after all? We were advised to send a complaints form to the Head Office whilst in Oz which we did but have heard nothing yet dispite them having our email and credit card info which is fairly worrying. Especially as this is an ASPEN PARKS - the same as the Ningaloo Reef Resort we'd just come from. Perhaps they'll reply to us via this site??? We live in hope!
Book but I would ask a lot of questions about where you will be staying!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank sarah-on-her-hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

I must admit, my partner can be a bit of a "travel snob" and will only stay in hotels, so was suitably mortified when I announced I had booked our Exmouth Holiday accommodation at Exmouth Cape Holiday Park. He had visions of the hiddeous "Caravan Parks" with grey concrete toilets and dank smelly on-site caravans.
This was certainly NOT the case at Exmouth Cape Holiday Park. Tourist / Caravan / Holiday Parks have certainly evolved over the years. We stayed in a Holiday Cabin which was beautifully furnished, exceptionally clean and very comfortable. The amazing camp kitchen and bbq' area provided was the social hub of the park. We met amazing new people (who will be life long firends) and shared travel stories and sightseeing tips at the amazing camp kitchen and bbq area. We enjoyed movies at the Free Outdoor Cinema and booked all of our sightseeing trips at reception. The staff were amazing with their local knowledge. My partner is now a convert and we have already booked our next holiday to Exmouth at the same property.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank divinered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Claude L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Ningaloo Lodge
Ningaloo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Exmouth
158 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sea Breeze Resort
Sea Breeze Resort
#1 of 6 in Exmouth
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Exmouth Escape Resort
Exmouth Escape Resort
#2 of 6 in Exmouth
391 reviews
41.5 mi away
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef
0.7 mi away
Potshot Resort
Potshot Resort
#6 of 6 in Exmouth
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park

Address: 3 Truscott Cres, Exmouth, Western Australia 6707, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Exmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Exmouth
Price Range: $75 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing