We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Below average for a big 4 but above average for WA. Quite expensive for what you get like everything else in WA. We took a cabin to enjoy some air conditioning in 39 degree heat. Admittedly it was a quiet air conditioner but too small a capacity for the size of the cabin. The pool area is nice. Amenities (ablutions in WA but same thing) were clean and camp kitchen was good. Being from Qld I expect an ensuite for the price, and I continue to score everything on an Australia wide assessment scoring.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NotQuiteAWinnebago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    147
    55
    13
    15
See reviews for
89
146
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

First visit to Exmouth so we decided to stay in an ensuite cabin for five days. When we arrived we had to walk to our cabin which was approx 300 meters from the parks entrance in 42 degree heat. When we got to the cabin, I was surprised to find that the ensuite was detached from the cabin in an ablution block approx four meters away, which meant exiting the cabin to use the bathroom. The cabin was clean with basic needs. Two double beds, bedside cabinet, wardrobe, ceiling fan. The kitchen dining area had basic cooking pans, plates and cutlery, a fridge, a flat screen TV and table and four very uncomfortable chairs. The air conditioner was not working at all and although management came to fix it, the air conditioner did not provide cool relief from the heat unless sitting directly underneath. The bedrooms were hot and stuffy with some light relief from the ceiling fans. The ensuite had a shower, basin and toilet and was basic. During our stay it was never cleaned, although the common ablution blocks for the caravans and tents were cleaned every day. The pool was a good place to keep cool with shady trees and grassed area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank go_broome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The family-sized deluxe accommodation is far the best for facilities, space and location! Although of course, it is the most expensive. We upgraded almost by accident as Virgin Australia changed our flight days at the last minute and the cabin we had originally chosen and paid for wasn't available for the new dates. But we were really happy that we did. A shot of our view from the verandah is posted here.
If you are bringing children, being able to keep an eye on them while they are in the pool from the comfort of your own shady verandah (can in number 7), must be a bonus. Corella, magpie-larks and honeyeaters flit from tree to tree for our entertainment - and to feed their chicks. However we never found out if all the top-priced accommodation was like this, or if we were just lucky with our last-minute switch.
Our cabin was close to the main road, but for 90% of our stay there only seemed to be about one car every 10minutes. Indeed sometimes the traffic was so sparse we thought we ought to wave to the drivers as they passed. The cabin has a hob, fridge and microwave, the camp kitchen has other facilities such as an oven and BBQ. Three A/c units kept us cool even when 38 degrees outside and they were very quiet too. The temperature regularly rises to 45 in January, so I suppose the units have to be good.
You are about half a mile from the town centre - food, liquor and beachwear stores and all, but you need to think corner shops (the permanent population here is around 2k) not Trafford Centre. There is a Surprise however. With only a handful of stores there are two identical IGA supermarkets,the Ningaloo IGA and the Exmouth IGA, selling exactly the same stuff at the same prices, open the same hours, with staff in the same uniforms and sited opposite each other. Weird.
Two hundred metres from the campsite is the Exmouth Visitor Centre with leaflets on trips, walks, drives and dives in the region. Unlike some reviewers we found the staff there helpful. The main attractions are quite some way away. Yardie Creek for example in the Cape Range National Park is 90km one way and Coral Bay 152km the other. Choosing a hire car with an allowance of 100km per day as I did, was perhaps not the wisest option.
If you are unused to seeing semi-desert, giant termite mounds and occasional Emus and Kangaroos walk/hop across the road just in front of you, the long distances are ok. If however such things don't interest you, I can imagine you would find hours on featureless desert and scrubland roads rather tedious, especially if you've already driven the 1250km up from Perth. The long journeys are made worthwhile for at the destinations you can see turtles, rare Wallabies and hoards of brightly coloured birds, and go snorkelling (or view coral and exotic fish by means of a glass-bottomed boat) in endless sunshine. That's why in the region we mostly met Dutch, German, Swiss and fellow English people escaping November in Northern Europe.
There are attractions more locally. The golf course next door is good for birding and we saw a number of kangaroos. The town beach, a couple of km from the campsite is large, sandy and strewn with hundreds of pieces of coral. We also saw dolphins by the marina wall.
So to sum up: positives - our cabin Accommodation was good; the campsite lacked nothing we would want; the swimming pool and other facilities are fine and not over-crowded; staff friendly and helpful; region's available activities and wildlife very interesting, certainly for foreigners; and, weather in November stunning, with blue sky every day from horizon to horizon.
Negatives :the unremitting attention of swarms of flies at every turn which necessitates (amongst other things) eating lunch inside the car, takes some getting used to. Thankfully they don't bite and there were very few by comparison at the campsite itself.

Room Tip: If you are after a cabin - go for the top one - numbers 7 and 8 are by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank traveller-in-hope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Very good facilities and yes a little pricey but overall good value.
I too thought reception was not that great. The lady that dealt with me was fine but when someone came in wanting details about seeing a doctor I was left waiting while it took two ladies and one bloke to deal with the doctor request! Although, with a tent, you can camp anywhere with the caravans the tent only area, that I was aware of, can only take five tents.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wad6x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenParks, Manager at RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Exmouth Cape Holiday Park, we appreciate the feedback we receive from all our guests.

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the customer service and we do apologies. We do strive to ensure all our guests are well taken care of and have an enjoyable stay. We have passed on your comments to management who will use them for the ongoing training of all the Park staff to ensure we deliver the best customer service possible.

We are glad to hear overall you had an enjoyable stay. We hope to see you back again.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

... a put off was the rude older lady at the receiption...her 1st day back from holidays she said... maybe that was why, but they must own the place or something - being in business I would not allow people to continue to ruin my reputation to such an extent... small pool albeit 'nice'..... does have a great camp kitchen (one of the best in my travels round australia) however wished we had stayed across the road now. Cannot recommend to families.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have mixed reviews about this park. The rude old lady out the back of reception dampened things. On arrival I was greeted by 2 lovely reception staff. We had a powered caravan site. Great site and very roomy. I went back up to reception to enquire whether you can use a adapter on power box. Was our first caravan trip mind you. The nice lady went and got the rude old lady from out the back to answer my question. No I wasn't allowed to use a adaptor. No worries I was fine with that. The rude old lady carried on and on about it!! She went out the back again and I was still talking to the nice lady, not about the power issue and the rude old lady came back out and ranted again!! Obviously having a bad day.
Pool was great. Camp kitchen awesome! Free outdoor kids movies absolutely fantastic!!
It was a long weekend whilst there. The ablution blocks were clean at the start but end up smelling like urine and faeces because they were not cleaned for nearly 3 days. There was a cleaning chart hanging up in the ablution block which had the days cleaned. The ablution block was not cleaned Sunday, Monday and later Tuesday. The sneaky cleaner wrote down that the ablution block was cleaned on the Monday. I guess she\he got paid a bonus for cleaning they never did!! Clever really!!
Would be a 5 star park if the cleaning of ablution block was of high standard and the rude old lady stays out the back!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemtree2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenParks, Manager at RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Exmouth Cape Holiday Park, we appreciate all comments we receive from our guests.
We take our customer service very seriously and train our staff to deliver excellent service to ensure our guest have the best possible experience. We apologies you did not receive this experience, it is out of character for the staff member in question. We have passed on your comments and the staff member involved has taken this on board as part of their ongoing training.
We believe that the house keepers take a lot of pride in the work that they do, however we have looked into the matter of the cleanliness of the ablution block and the Managers have provided re-training for the staff to ensure this does not happen again. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed the other facilities at the park especially those for the children.
We are pleased that your overall experience at Exmouth was an enjoyable one and we hope to see you at our other Aspen Parks as we believe that all of our staff work to help make your experience a great one.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great location, very clean kitchen and bathroom facilities, helpful and friendly staff, movies for the kids, great family atmosphere. Graces pub across the road and town beach in walking distance. Nice pool area to relax in and everyone was very quiet and considerate. Probably the best caravan park I have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie2013gero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
3.7 mi away
Sea Breeze Resort
Sea Breeze Resort
#1 of 6 in Exmouth
779 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Ningaloo Lodge
Ningaloo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Exmouth
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Exmouth Escape Resort
Exmouth Escape Resort
#3 of 6 in Exmouth
352 reviews
22.4 mi away
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef
0.7 mi away
Potshot Resort
Potshot Resort
#6 of 6 in Exmouth
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park

Property: RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park
Address: 3 Truscott Cres, Exmouth, Western Australia 6707, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Exmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing