We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Sea Breeze”
Review of Sea Breeze Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sea Breeze Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay at the Sea Breeze”
Reviewed September 29, 2008

We've just returned from our wonderful stay at the Sea Breeze Resort in Exmouth. The facilities are excellent, but the key to its success is the first rate & personal service provided by everyone at the Sea Breeze. This is old-fashioned, friendly service that you just don't get anymore. We were picked up and dropped off at the airport which is 30 minutes from town.
The renovations are now completed. We really liked the new kitchen facilities in our studio apartment - a full-size fridge, cooktop & convection/microwave oven make self-catering easy.
If you want to eat in town, the staff will drive you into town (5km) & collect you, so it doesn't matter that the restaurant on site has closed.
The staff could not have been more helpful in ensuring we got to our booked tours for whale-watching and snorkelling! Two tours were cancelled at late notice due to the wind, and the Sea Breeze staff went out of their way to make sure we were rebooked, and collected for our tour.
The outside kitchen and eating area is also very pleasant, and we also sat outside to eat.
The offering of Foxtel programs means you have a good choice of TV programs.
If you want luxury, then this resort is probably not for you, but then who wants to pay the huge dollars when you can stay at this really pleasant accommodation for a much more reasonable rate. Would definitely recommend the Sea Breeze.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank VMB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    293
    47
    13
    16
See reviews for
178
360
42
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2008

I'd echo the points on the last review- the rooms are comfortable enough although the kitchin units weren't completed. The hotel is actually constructed within a building formely housing US navy officers and a part of the naval base next door. As a result, the electricity supply has to be converted with some sort of transformer and so the renovations have ground to a halt with wiring hanging out of all the walls and appliances not connected. This did however mean that we heard no building noise during our stay.

The bar/restaurant is still closed and we felt quite cheated that this was not advised to us before we arrived. Exmouth is 5km away and so too far to walk. There is a very good barbecue & outdoor seating area which seemed to be never used as most people had cars and went into town.

The owners were away on holiday during our stay and the hotel was being run by Sasha and Nicole. If I'd known about the restuarant situation before I'd gone, I would not have booked this place. I'm really glad that I did go however because these two couldn't have done enough for us. They had breakfast prepared for us at 6.45 am each morning and were happy to collect us from restaurants in town at 10pm. They collected and returned us to the airport, approx 30 miles from town, for free. They arranged a hire car and took us to the depot to collect it, again for free.

Sasha and Nicole left Germany to live in Exmouth as they are passionate about the wildlife in the area- they seem very focussed on ensuring that guests to have the same enjoyment whether it is diving with Whale Sharks or exploring the national park.

In summary- my advice would be to check whether the bedroom's kitchen facilities are finished. If they are not, call or email to see if there is a reduction in the rates offered. The alternative hotel options are limitef however: Potshot in town which has a backpackers or motel rooms constructed from corrugated tin or the very expensive Novotel that is situated on a building site and is also a few kilometres out of town in the other direction.

  • Liked — Sasha and Nicole's help.
  • Disliked — No restaurant, out of town location and views of navy base, unfinished room facilities.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rtwexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, AUS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2008

We recently returned from Exmouth and like most visitors we went solely for the purpose of swimming with the whale sharks. When searching for hotels in Exmouth there seemed to be 3 choices, Potshots was the cheap and cheerful backpackers option, the Novotel was the 5 star option and the Sea Breeze appeared to sit somewhere between the two.

Because we knew we were going to be spending most of our three days in Exmouth on a boat or in the water we didn't bother to hire a car. What we didn't know was that the restaurant at the Sea breeze has been closed since January 2008, and the hotel was further from Exmouth city than we realised (at least 5 minutes in a car). The Sea Breeze is currently undergoing renovation to turn the rooms into self contained apartments with their own kitchen. From the owners admission we were staying in the first of these rooms to be 'completed'. By completed they meant everything except the stove worked, which left us cooking all of our meals in the microwave.

The room itself was fine, but had some interesting layout issues. The TV was directly over the bed, meaning we had to lie at the other end of the bed to watch it. There were no lights next to the bed, or anywhere near the bed, meaning the main spotlight had to be left on if we wanted to read. Also the advertised 'free movies' were not working. Nor was the advertised Spa, which was barely tepid.

The last issue we had was that consturction is still very much underway at the Sea Breeze, with construction noises like hammering & drilling going on most of the daylight hours we spent at the hotel (which were thankfully few).

Despite these issues it wasn't all bad at the Sea Breeze. The staff themselves were excellent, very friendly and couldn't do enough to help out. They were happy to drive us into town to get some food when we told them we didn't have a car, and also booked us into a local restaurant called Whalers, which was excellent. They were also quick to fix the broken toilet in our room (once we convinced them the noise of running water was really really annoying!). There was also free internet in the lobby which was handy when we were looking for hotels in Perth.

I genuinely believe that once all of the rooms are up to scratch and if the restaurant ever re-opens the Sea Breeze will be an excellent middle range hotel in Exmouth. If the staff can maintain their great customer service and friendly manner it would be a decent option. However if your planning on visiting Exmouth during this upcoming Whale Shark season I would give the Sea Breeze a call before hand to check if the restaurant is open or if the construction has finished. If the answer to either of these questions is No and you still decide to stay here then don't say i didn't warn you!

  • Liked — Excellent Staff
  • Disliked — Lack of eating facilities
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Verbal_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamen, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2007

We stayed there for a week and can definitely recommend it. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were nice and clean.
The restaurant was very good. I had a excellent Reef and Beef and many other great meals. We ate every evening in the Restaurant.
The service was excellent. The owners Axel and Eske and also Sascha and Nicole couldn't have been more helpful. They booked many Trips for us (Children, Parents and Grandparents) and had a nice solution for a car we fits all in.
Exmouth is in the middle of nowhere and the Hotel too. But if you have a car there are thousand things to do in the Cape Range National Park.
All dive shops offers shuttle services from the hotel to the divespots.
The greatest dive we ever had where on the navy pier!

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Next beach 5 km away.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Moehneseetaucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2007

It was our second stay, we were here from 03/09/2007,
for 2 days, the room is very clean and plenty of space,
the restaurant have very good meals, and the breakfast,
we love the Cape Range Nat Park and the Ocean.
A good place to come back to.
Owners Axel and Esky are very friendly and so was the staff.

Ann & Henry Vandenberg
Melbourne. Victoria.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank HelloMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2007

This place is the ideal base for visiting nearby Cape Range National Park. The 5km from town doesn't matter as the place is self contained with pool, heated spa, bar and a good meals - served either inside or in the pleasant courtyard area. The owners Axel and Esky couldn't have been more helpful, even to showing one of his excellent dive videos after dinner (National Geographic standard.)

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank abbalean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2007

Have read the previous reviews and would say that the couple who experienced the poor meal must have picked a bad day. Or the previous chef was pretty poor. They now have a new chef and a new menu was about to start shortly after I left.

It is worth bearing in mind that a la carte in this part of Australia is going to be somewhat different to a la carte in Europe. Having said that the food was good. Had a couple of meals in other hotels in town and regretted the experiance. The meals here were only marginally more expensive but deffinately far better value.

The service and friendliness of the staff could not be faulted. For example came back late from a night dive trip and found the restaurant was closed. However the chef was still up and about so was more than happy to cook me a meal. On another day missed breakfast due to a slight overdose of beer but the staff were more than happy to raid the kitchen for sandwich making material.

Found that being out of town was not a problem. It is not that far away should you need anything. In fact being on a diving/safari package it worked out quite well, reducing the beer temptation for the weaker willed with an early morning dive.

Not that the chance of a beer is not there. The bar is small, well stocked (you are not stuck with Australian beer), and the bar staff are charming and friendly. There is a fair chance that if you are going on an excursion then somebody there will have done it and be able to give you unbiased advice.

We stayed there on a package which after close analysis was very good value for money. If you wish to alter the package to suit yourself then that was no problem. For the safari would recommend rhondamcgregor@aapt.net.au rather than what is offered as part of the hotel package. It give a proper 4 WD drive safari!

The rooms are spacious, clean and well equiped. The showers also give a decent jet of water, more than can be said for other places in town.

I can only think of two catches. The ecxcess mileage on the hire car (part of the package) adds up surprisingly quickly. Also I missed the part where the included breakfast was only for the continental type.

Only niggels as Axel (the owner) seemed to be genuinlly interested in your comments. He put alot of effort onto getting hold of a decent malt whisky to suit a Scottish guest.

Would come back here with my family.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Happyvikingjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
4.8 mi away
Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort
4.2 mi away
Exmouth Escape Resort
Exmouth Escape Resort
#1 of 6 in Exmouth
340 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ningaloo Lodge
Ningaloo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Exmouth
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef
3.7 mi away
RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park
3.1 mi away
Potshot Resort
Potshot Resort
#6 of 6 in Exmouth
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Breeze Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze Resort

Property: Sea Breeze Resort
Address: 116 North C Street, Exmouth, Western Australia 6707, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sea Breeze Resort)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Exmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Breeze Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Breeze Resort Exmouth, a unique owner-operated resort located next to the Historic Naval Base just 5km north of Exmouth, Ningaloo Reef in Western Australia. We are the closest resort to the Ningaloo Marine Park in Exmouth. Our resort was a former Chief Petty Officer Quarters of the US Navy and the Passeck Family "recycled" this building and turned it into one of the best resorts in Exmouth. With only 30 fully self-contained studios we are proud to offer personalized service to all of our visitors. Our facilities and services are unique which makes our resort the perfect place to stay in Exmouth for a couple, the family escape or for corporate guests. Our 30 studios are quiet and serviced daily. Each studio features a kitchenette with cook top, range hood, large 260 liter refrigerator, microwave with convection oven & grill. Guests can enjoy free WIFI, 8Ch Foxtel, Restaurant and airport transfers on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Sea Breeze Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Exmouth
Exmouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing