We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon- Exmouth style!”
Review of Sea Breeze Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Breeze Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Honeymoon- Exmouth style!”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We arrived to a beautifully presented champagne and flutes adorning our bed to welcome our arrival, and not a cheapie bottle either!
The room were very clean and neat and no weird room smells either which was a nice change!
It had a kitchenette and ensuite bathroom, all in good working order!
The location is is just 5km out of towns and very quiet.
The staff were extremely friendly and willing to help you with whatever you need, they go above and beyond!

We had 8 wonderful nights and will be back again soon!

The Spindlers

Perth, Western Australia

Room Tip: Its a small establishment and all rooms would have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellySpindler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AxelExmouth, Owner at Sea Breeze Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Thank you for your review and sharing Bernies and Nadines little welcome idea! They are hopelessly romantic and it looks like they hit the right button with you! You must have been in love and seen the world through really nice glasses. No matter how hard I tried, I never had a nice view from any of our rooms! I am sorry that is the only thing I disagree a bit, but good on you! We wish you the very best in your future and one word of advise, from a happily married man for 17 years.
Every day in your marriage is a new battle and you need to work hard for your relationship! The day you take your marriage for granted is the day you will loose it! Thx for staying with us and hope to see you back soon with a few little ones running around.....
Kind and sunny regards
Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    287
    45
    12
    16
See reviews for
175
350
41
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

The Golden Chain Sea Breeze Resort's web page accurately describes its ambiance - the converted NCO quarters of a former US naval base. That being said, the owners have tried hard to make it more appealing than the US military's concrete block construction that it is. It may be an impossible task. That being said, the Sea Breeze has several advantages. It is the best motel in the area. It has both Australian 240 V/50 Hz and US 110 V/60 Hz power points in all the rooms, and lots of the Australian variety. It is immaculately clean. Its location, 5 km out of town, makes it very quiet. Our room came with two wash clothes! The cooking facilities are new and quite satisfactory. Free wireless internet! The air conditioning is plenty strong and powerful. The staff seems to want to go out of its way to help.

Case in point: The lighting in the rooms is horrible. The only place in our room with enough light to read was sitting on the bed. However, if you wanted to work at a table or with your computer at the table, there wasn't enough light to see your papers. And, there was no light if you sat on the sofa. So, having read the responses that the owner posts on TripAdvisor, saying people should have asked regarding their special requirements, we set off to talk to the office staff after our first night. The young woman was most concerned for our comfort and happiness and accompanied us to our room to assess the situation. She understood and when we returned from our day's activities, a floor lamp had been delivered. It met our need. Up to that point, I was considering trying to find a holiday flat for the rest of our stay, but this small concern for our needs and the satisfaction of them caused my estimation of the property to improve.

What were the negatives? Since I didn't give it a rating of 5, there must have been some. As stated above, the ambiance isn't great. The place is functional, period. Its location 5 km out of town could be a problem for some, but it was OK for us. There are no cooking containers that can be put in the microwave. (I'm glad I checked this out before buying our food.) There is no freezer in the refrigerator.

This bears more comment. The owners have good reason for not supplying freezers. Customers tend to leave smelly fish in them. However, it means there is no ice cream for dinner. There is a freezer in the reception area that guests may use, but reception is open only between 7 am and 6 pm. They will answer the phone/door for emergencies after 6 pm. Try as I may, I couldn't convince myself that disturbing them to retrieve my ice cream and then to return it to the freezer was an emergency. It may be to some, but I will survive without ice cream.

Would I stay here again? Yes, definitely. The concern the owners and staff have for their guests and the free wireless internet were amazing pluses.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldJourneyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AxelExmouth, Owner at Sea Breeze Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Thank you so much for your detailed review and that you pointed out the miss use of the freezers. It was a hard decision believe me. The lighting is of concern to me as we have put ( I thought ) in all rooms a large fluro light covering the kitchen and table quite good. I will research this and see if for what ever reason we might have missed a room. We do have a few stand alone lights for guests but we found that most people are happy without, as it cludders the room. In some rooms we only have the 110V for a light available and it can be a bit dark if fitted with the wrong globe. I will follow this up, rest assured. We agree fully, to turn an old Navy Barracks into something with ambient holiday feel to it is a big task, not to mention the restrictions placed on us by Defence ( our Landlord ) and heritage! All the above, mix in a few Cyclones and up to 50'C in the summer and the task becomes even more challenging. Thank you for mentioning our service and our staff too! They do try very hard to make everyones stay as nice as possible.
Thx also for pointing out the Microwave situation but the microwaves we have are special ones which can handle metal containers. I think we need to make that more clear.
Having just been to NZ and had major dramas with wireless connections, I do think that our free WIFI is a real bonus and takes soooo much dramas away! I am sure we will see you again soon and maybe to swim with the mighty Whale Sharks next year!
Again thank you for your time and info and I am sure a lot of fellow travelers will get something out of it.
Kind and sunny regards
Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We had a relaxing holiday at the Sea Breeze.
Clean room, a friendly atmosphere: It was strange (in the best positive way) to stay in a ex military barrack.
I can't imagine a best location between Exmouth and the national park.
Only 5 km north of Exmouth.
We had dinner in the town except 1 night, we were tired and we need peace and silence, so we prefer to stay in the resort and what a surprise: we met other guest all around the pool.
A lovely evening.
There is a barbecue area too.
Nadine and Bernadette suggested us a lot of places and things to do.
I hope to go back again as soon as possible.
Exmouth is amazing and the resort is a great solution.
Thank girls

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adeler102011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AxelExmouth, Owner at Sea Breeze Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers and I agree fully! It is an odd place, crazy location at first, but then the advantages become more and more apparent the longer you stay and then you don;t want to leave.... Exmouth and Ningaloo Reef is something very special. It needs a fair bit of planing but Nadine and Bernie are very helpful and everybody who needs help gets a lot of good advise and more things to do then to fit into their time.... ;-)))
Great to hear that you had a good time and see you back soon.
Kind and sunny regards
Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed from 20th to 24th September 2011. Spacious clean rooms and comfortable bed. Nadine and Bernadette were wonderful - very friendly and helpful. Loved the free shuttle bus into Exmouth and fabulous dinner at The Whalers. Disappointed that the spa was not working but overall a great place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AxelExmouth, Owner at Sea Breeze Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2011
Thank you for your review and nice comments. We are sad too that we have to close the spa. It always takes the odd one who spoils it for the others! For starters we have a massive increase in Health Regulations with 2 hourly testing, automatic chlorination etc... which for this spa is hard to install. Then a couple of mums let their kids run riot in the spa, while having a drink outside the cabana, not realizing that their kids had trapped themselves under the lid! One kid totally panicked and the mums were still happily sipping their Champange.... I rescued the kids and that was it for me and for the spa. I am sorry for all the guests who are missing out now. We are looking into solar pool heating for next winter. The temperature will rise now and the pool is much nicer to hang out in hen the spa in my opinion. Thx again for the nice comments and see you back soon!
Kind and sunny regards
Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This is a great place to stay. Rooms are spacious and very clean, with cooking facilities and an excellent refrigerator. There is also an excellent barbecue area and an extremely clean pool.
As we were very happy we decided to extend our stay from 5 days to 7 days and paid the bill in total on our second day. Now the BUT. We found out from the Information centre in Exmouth that the road we were to travel on was closed and we would have to go the long way around needing us to travel 1300kms in one day. We went to Jim, the Manager, to tell him our predicament and would be able to have a refund of one day because we would like to leave a day earlier. He said no he could not do that because it was against company policy. Also the boss was coming to stay and it would not look good if he gave us a refund. We were very disappointed and as it happens we travelled the long distance and just on dusk about 120kms from our destination we were hit by a massive red kangaroo and did over $5000 of structual damage to our Prado. Our holiday was spoilt. So be very careful and don't offer to pay the bill in advance.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan73132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AxelExmouth, Owner at Sea Breeze Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2011
Thank you for your review and we are very sorry to hear that you hit a roo and that your Holiday ended on such a note. May I clarify that you have tried to shorten your stay within our 72 hour cancellation policy. This had nothing to do with you paying upfront. "the long way" meant an additional 72km via the Burkett Road as a Fuel Truck had an accident and blocked the road between Miniliya and Coral Bay.
I find a bit harsh to suggest that Jim caused you to have an accident with a roo because he refused a refund, I am sorry. On the other hand you had an enjoyable stay, you were looked after well and enjoyed you holiday. Your experience highlights again how important travel planing is and may I point future guests to our website under "things to know" to help them with their travel planing. There are a lot of good tips and insider info.
I also hope that we will be able to welcome you again to swim with the mighty Whale Sharks during April to August maybe next year and that you will have another great time at Ningaloo and the Sea Breeze Resort.
Kind and sunny regards
Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Had a great week of fishing with a boat close by. All staff were very friendly and helpfull and of a very high standard. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank couta685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AxelExmouth, Owner at Sea Breeze Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Thank you for your review and sharing your experience with others! We appreciate that you value our service and hard work to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable! See you back soon!
Kind and sunny regards
Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We had a fantastic peaceful holiday at the Sea Breeze Resort. We were welcomed and the receptionist was friendly and very helpful and had a great knowledge of Exmouth.There are great cooking facilities and, very clean rooms. The air conditioning is just fantastic. The King size bed are comfortable. You can swim in the pool or relax in the outdoor spa. You can also cook on the barbecues. If you prefer to eat in town then the Exmouth Diner has great food at a fair price. Pinocchio's is also great to eat out at. We enjoyed traveling to the beautiful clean beaches thru the National park. Turquoise bay is the beach to visit s people can snorkel there and the the oyster stacks beach.. A lovely peaceful holiday. The manager and staff are very friendly and helpful. We are coming back to see the whale sharks next yr.
Thank you for making us feel welcome. The Kiwis in OZ.

Room Tip: For a peaceful relaxation, holiday while the children are at school.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ajlamatrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AxelExmouth, Owner at Sea Breeze Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Thx Kiwis! ;-))
We are off to NZ in a few days and hope that we will enjoy it as much as you have enjoyed staying with us! Great to hear that you are coming back next year! One tiny correction, we only have Queen Beds, but I am glad that you felt they were Kings! I am sure that fellow travelers will get a lot out of your detailed and nice review. See you back next year!
Kind and sunny regards
Axel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
4.8 mi away
Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort
4.2 mi away
Exmouth Escape Resort
Exmouth Escape Resort
#3 of 6 in Exmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
25.0 mi away
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ningaloo Lodge
Ningaloo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Exmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
3.7 mi away
RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park
3.1 mi away
Potshot Resort
Potshot Resort
#6 of 6 in Exmouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Breeze Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze Resort

Property: Sea Breeze Resort
Address: 116 North C Street, Exmouth, Western Australia 6707, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sea Breeze Resort)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Exmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Breeze Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Breeze Resort Exmouth, a unique owner-operated resort located next to the Historic Naval Base just 5km north of Exmouth, Ningaloo Reef in Western Australia. We are the closest resort to the Ningaloo Marine Park in Exmouth. Our resort was a former Chief Petty Officer Quarters of the US Navy and the Passeck Family "recycled" this building and turned it into one of the best resorts in Exmouth. With only 30 fully self-contained studios we are proud to offer personalized service to all of our visitors. Our facilities and services are unique which makes our resort the perfect place to stay in Exmouth for a couple, the family escape or for corporate guests. Our 30 studios are quiet and serviced daily. Each studio features a kitchenette with cook top, range hood, large 260 liter refrigerator, microwave with convection oven & grill. Guests can enjoy free WIFI, 8Ch Foxtel, Restaurant and airport transfers on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sea Breeze Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Exmouth
Exmouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing