We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC - a dream come true to swim with whale sharks”

Ocean Eco Adventures
Ranked #4 of 36 Tours in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Experience the wonders of Ningaloo including Whale Sharks, Humpback Whales, Turtles, Dolphins and Manta Rays with Ocean Eco Adventure Adventures. Ocean Eco Adventures is a niche, boutique cruise company specialising in marine interaction cruises in the World Heritage Listed Ningaloo Reef Marine Park of Western Australia. With over 250 species of coral and 500 species of fish featuring Whale Sharks, Humpback Whales, Turtles, Dolphins and Manta Rays, life is amazingly abundant at Ningaloo with crystal clear waters and crisp white sand set against the red ochre hues of the Cape Range desert providing an amazing backdrop to explore this magical marine world.
Perth
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC - a dream come true to swim with whale sharks”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Ocean Eco are the leader in their field for a reason - because they are great at what they do. Fantastic facilities, awesome staff, delicious gourmet lunch, and importantly, their own spotter plane to find the whale sharks. They were informative and respectful of nature which was excellent to see. Thanks to Captain Andy and wife Marnie for organising a day that saw a long-term dream of mine come true. Everything was fabulous!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Di B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Whale Sharking”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We booked Ocean Eco Adventures, just after arriving in Exmouth & hoped that we had booked with a good boat & crew. We didn't only have a good boat & crew, we had THE BEST. We only booked as observers as we are well into our sixties and not experienced snorklers. The crew encouraged me to have a go & I did, but I didn't feel comfortable as the sea was quite rough, but Dave was so nice & understanding, as were Ken ( the skipper ) Marcus, Natalie & Rachel. Our lunch was fantastic, the crew so professional & friendly. The one thing that I did notice was Ocean Eco was the only tour group that supplied wet suits to all of their clients, what a wonderful difference that made to everyone, & the rest of their equipment was in perfect condition. I cant speak highly enough of this adventure tour group, even if we did get a flat tyre in the bus on the way home.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank suedroughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nannup
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Whaleshark wonders and sensational snorkling”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

What an amazing OMG experience, we booked ocean eco adventures and the crew were brilliant easy going, professional, knowledgeable but with good humour. After a wonderful wake up snorkel that helped me to remember how to snorkel, the group of around 15 were split into two for what everyone hoped would be a fantastic experience. Knowing full well that these things are not guaranteed we were all a little nervous when we came close to the first Whaleshark, he was a small one 4 metres just a juvenile, group one slipped into the water and we watched from the marlin board for our turn. The small whale but very large fish was circling around so the boat positioned its self in its path and in the water we slipped with John pointing to the shark and encouraging us to swim along side. It was deep deep water but the shark was an amazing sight and we all just keep following until we lost sight and the boat came and picked us up. At one point I got so close, John yanked me back by the leg. The second shark we found was the biggest they had seen all season at 9 m he kept coming up and down checking out the boat so this time when we slipped in we had to back peddle fast as he came right towards us. Its so fantastic to be so close to such a huge animal. All up we went into the water 5 times to see the shark and got views from the front the side and behind. Exhausted after both the exertion and the excitement we tucked into a gourmet lunch of seafood, and meat and salad platters.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank RuralRambler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SK, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Went out with Ocean Eco Adventures for a Whale Shark Tour on April 10, 2012.
Andy (captain) and crew (Jade, Natalie, John, and Dave) were great. Boat was spacious. Throughout the day there were cold drinks available, snacks and a terrific lunch (salads, prawns, cold meats, cheese, etc). Crew was very friendly, informative and helpful. They worked hard all day to make sure the guests were looked after and had a great experience. We've been on lots of other snorkel tours and dive boats; this group rates right up there with the best! Between the spotter plane and the experienced captain, our boat managed to get two whale sharks to ourselves so we got lots of time in the water with them. Crew was very conscientious about making sure the snorkelers didn't get too close to the whale sharks, even though it was hard at times when the sharks would decide to change directions! Also saw dolphins and a tiger shark while on the way back to the marina.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank acbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth (Tasmania), Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The BEST whale shark snorkeling tour”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

My partner and I booked a last minute tour for whale shark snorkel as we planned a Easter trip to exmouth, NINGALOO Reef was the one place we wanted to see he whale sharks as we love the marine life and never seen the whale sharks.

The Eco adventures tour can be bait expensive for a whole day tour but it's so worth it.
The staff were awesome, they organized a great lunch, they provided us with water,fizzy drinks,tea,coffee and cordial, they were great to talk too.
I was amazed at how supportive and friendly the staff made our trip.
We snorkeled at two different places over seabeds, not to mention, we saw Two Whale Sharks, the highlight of the day. A baby whale shark and a adult whale shark. It was sensational.

Also we got a free video of the day that was taken for awesome memories which is part of the tour they send it out to your address, amazing.

I highly recommend Eco adventures, thoe boat is well maintained they provide everything, all you need is your water camera, togs and sunscreen and your ready to go.

Also they pick you up wherever you are staying in exmouth, transport I also part of the tour package.

Thank you Eco adventures for a great time.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Eco Adventures also viewed

Exmouth, Western Australia
 
Exmouth, Western Australia
Exmouth, Western Australia
 

Been to Ocean Eco Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing