We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is nothing else for miles....except the magnificent reef, the amazing bush & the animals!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yardie Homestead Caravan Park
Reviewed August 20, 2011

This place is so unique, we rented a cabin,(reasonable cost) which surprisingly was pretty comfortable. I mean we weren't expecting much as Yardi is 40kms from Exmouth and advertised mostly as a camping park close to the reef, beaches and possibly the best fishing in the world. The cabin had 2 bedrooms, both very small but adequate, just a double in the main and a set of bunks in the other. There is also a TV, a reverse cycle aircon, a fully equipped modern kitchen, a full sized fridge and even a microwave.

The huge verandah has a big comfy day bed, a gas barbecue and a big outdoor dining table and 6 chairs. As the weather here is always warm most of your living is done on the outside anyway. The park has an office come small store where you can buy milk, bread and oa few other staples including frozen items and ice creams!! Behind the office is a swimming pool with a lovely grassed and shady area to sit in, what a welcome surprise that was.

The highlight for me was at dusk when our oldest daughter and my huband went fishing (the park has top class fish and boat cleaning facilities) my younger daughter and I took our fold up chairs, the ipod, the binoculars and a beer and sat down near the fence and watched the bush come alive. We spotted more wildlife in that 45mins than I saw for the rest of the trip...what a treat!

The park also caters for caravans and campers really well, good grassed sites and a fantastic communal kitchen and meals preparation area. There is also a small kids playground.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LesleyU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 138 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2011

I stayed at Yardie Homestead in Chalet #6 for a 3 week fishing holiday. I thought the accommodation was clean, neat and sufficient, I had great BBQ outside to cook on and a stove & oven inside. They provide everything except towels, which is no hassle, all linen was fresh and laundered weekly. There was an excellent Aircon and good sized fridge to fit plenty of drinks and food.
I found the Caretakers to be so freindly and helpful towards me, they made my stay even more enjoyable.
This is an outback holiday, not a 5 star hotel, it's a great place to experience WA and even better if your are a keen fisherman! Thanks for a wonderful holiday! Kevin, WA.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Fishing_Kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Can't help thinking previous reviewers were staying somewhere else. I was a bit apprehensive on arrival but the experience couldn't have been better. The lady in the office was very friendly and helpful. The occasions when we needed something (empty gas bottle) we were attended to immediately. We stayed in one of the chalets and it was very nice. All new inside, air-conditioned, fresh water throughout including the shower. Good quality towels and bed linen. Not particularly cheap but what do you expect in the middle of nowhere and on the doorstep of the National Park? They make their own power and water there so you can understand that they're careful about how they use it. The campgrounds were dusty but there's a grassed area for the kids to play as well as a playground and tennis court. The pool was a bit murky, probably because there were a lot of kids in it. We were there over Easter and the place was pretty full. We visited the National Park (for Turquoise Bay and others) every day and if you intend doing that, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ningaloovisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

The road to get in and out is a nightmare. Dirt everywhere. No-one to help you half the time the office is unattended. Don't bother going there. I also stayed at Lighthouse Caravan Park, much better, nice pool, amenities and owners.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank trinamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

THE YARDIE CREEK HOMESTEAD. VERY aggressive lady working there. watch out for her. very unfreinldy staff even abusive I'd say. best to stay well away it ruined our stay in exmouth leaving a bitter taste in our mouth for days. best to stay at the lighthouse caravan park. much better, freindly staff. I don't think the stupid aggresive woman reaslised we had booked there and when we took a look around we got the 3rd degree, to put it mildly. very bad energy there. Avoid at all cost.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
11  Thank bobdeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Yardie Homestead Caravan Park is about 33km from Exmouth and very remote. The place was packed when we arrived and we got a powered & water site for 1 night, that is all they had for $30. But you could not drink the water, so you had to go to the drinking water tap and fill up your bucket and power would not work on electric kettles, frypans or any other powerful electric appliance. Toilets & showers were portables and old but clean. The next day we had to move to an unpowered site and had to use our own water and electrics and had to pay $27 for the privledge. You are not allowed to free camp outside the caravan parks so think this is a money making town effort. We were stuck out the back of the park in red dust and the wind did not stop blowing and everything was covered in dust. Staff did not care whether you liked it or not as there was no where else to go, so like it or lump it. Though they did have a Sunday roast for $18.50 for 2 courses that was OK. Turquoise Bay was beautiful, but you had to pay to get to it. The country is very flat and very windy. The gorge was beautiful and worth the trip and free. Exmouth seafood factory was very expensive, 2 bits of snapper for $25.00

3  Thank Cbak748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Yupwup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
7.8 mi away
Ningaloo Lodge
Ningaloo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Exmouth
160 reviews
9.2 mi away
Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort
8.6 mi away
Exmouth Escape Resort
Exmouth Escape Resort
#2 of 6 in Exmouth
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.8 mi away
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef
7.5 mi away
Sea Breeze Resort
Sea Breeze Resort
#1 of 6 in Exmouth
803 reviews
8.2 mi away
RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yardie Homestead Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yardie Homestead Caravan Park

Address: Yardie Creek Rd, Exmouth, Western Australia 6707, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Exmouth
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Exmouth
Price Range: $21 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing