We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum”
Review of Whalers Restaurant

Whalers Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $36
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Whalers Licensed Restaurant is located amongst the landscaped gardens of the Exmouth Escape Resort. We offer the perfect relaxed dining experience to complete your visit to Western Australia's world famous Ningaloo Reef. Liz Minniear and executive chef Paul Minniear have owned and operated Whalers Restaurant since 2007. In early 2014 they moved the restaurant from Kennedy st to the Exmouth Escape Resort where they can now offer a more comfortable, modern and lush setting for their diners' pleasure. They continue to pride themselves on fresh, honest flavours and source the finest local seafood, steaks and produce available. Live music is a regular feature at the restaurant with solo or duo acoustic acts playing on the deck while you enjoy your meal. Whalers also caters for functions including Weddings, birthdays and business functions which can be catered for off site or at the restaurant.
Pickering, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Yum”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I had the fish of the day, it was snapper and my god it was delishious. I also had Mississippi Mud Cake and it may have been the best I've ever tasted. Their specials also looked great and the people I as with tried a couple of them and the meals looked as good as they sounded. Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    297
    59
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good value and friendly service”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Could not fault our meal here. If you want an above average meal in Exmouth there doesn't appear to be much to choose from so we were grateful to have the Whalers to go to. Very friendly staff, good service (their timing was perfect) and the food exactly as we expected. Thank you!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank wad6x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Place to eat in Exmouth”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

OK....if you are in Exmouth, WA, there isn't a great deal of choice (although the pie shop next to the supermarket is OK for lunch). However Whaler's (in the centre of town) is possibly the best restaurant. Excellent choice (from kangaroo to shrimp), good service, reasonable wine list, friendly service. Normal australian prices. Recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Happy to recommend”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Had very good dinner here, food was high quality, beautifully presented and good value. Staff very personable and dining on the terrace was really pleasant. Wide choice on menu, suggest good idea to make reservation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAST20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Yummy breakfast”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Had breakfast and coffee here on a Saturday morning. Ordered at the window and received our coffee quickly. The breakfast came out a few minutes later and it was tasty. Large portion sizes and friendly service

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whalers Restaurant also viewed

Exmouth, Western Australia
Exmouth, Western Australia
 
Exmouth, Western Australia
Exmouth, Western Australia
 
Exmouth, Western Australia
 

Been to Whalers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing