We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shame! Shame! Shame!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shame! Shame! Shame!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We drove into the caravan park on July 16 intending to stay for 3 nights. What we were given was a site in the as yet unfinished overflow area. For our $45 we were privileged to have access to an uneven piece of red dirt devoid of any shade sitting on the top of a rise being buffeted by 20 - 30 knot winds. But lets not be too ungrateful as we had access along with at least 50 others to 3 combined toilet/ showers. It certainly was character building waiting in line for the shower/ toilet in the freezing cold. Luckily someone took pity on us and lent us a key to a distant toilet block for our busting children. You must have needed to be particularly special as they refused to give us a key to any other ammenities. Not being satisfied with subjecting us to caravan park hell they must have thought we had been too greedy with our use of the 3 showers as they either turned off or ran out of gas heating and forced us to have cold showers. Without doubt this was the most blatant piece of profiteering I have come across in a long time. Provide no facilities (no camp kitchen for us), no service and charge people for the privilege. Outside of our situation the Park was crowded and run down. As you can imagine we stayed the one night and left Exmouth ASAP. We would not spend another cent at the Lighhouse Caravan Park, we would not recommend it to anyone and feel ashamed as a Western Australian that they could subject visitors to our state in a similar manner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brady H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse1912, Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is extremely disappointing to us that you did not experience a positive stay with us. Yes June, July and August are extremely busy in Exmouth and for those traveling this region without a booking do find it difficult to find a place to stay and we have attempted to help by providing an area for those travelers that find themselves here without a booking prior to arriving.
Our overflow area was only completed three days prior to your stay and is fully compliant with our shires regulations in regards to the number of toilets and showers. We do have plans to include a camp kitchen and laundry at this area and increase the number of toilets as this is only stage 1 of this development.
I find it very difficult to believe you were refused a toilet block key to the main amenities and will follow up on this issue. Yes we did have an issue with the gas HWS as some kind person thought it was funny to turn of the power and gas to the system. We have ensured this cannot happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    57
    46
    34
    29
See reviews for
70
71
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I agree with the other reviewers.
This park is a disgrace to tourism.
We booked for 2 nights and were placed up the top on half finishes lots. Called the overflow area. No power and charged 33/night for the privilege. Hah.
The area held at least 12 caravans and numerous tents. Lots of families. Between us all we had 3 combined shower/toilets'.
One had to line up for ages to use either facility and if all 3 were being used as showers then bad luck. The next tier of holiday makers also used these facilities putting even a greater stress on the 3 amenities.We were refused a key to the other amenities down the bottom of the hill.
One family were allotted a spot on the edge of the rise and their tents were nearly blown away as they seemed to be sitting on a hill by themselves, all in the red dirt.
The remainder of the park was cramped and the road between sites hard to negotiate due to parked cars and big boats parked everywhere. The children were all over the narrow roads, which in itself was dangerous.
We have been on the road for 9 weeks and been through 5 states and this is by far the worst park we have stayed in.
Do yourself a favour and do not stay here, camping out on the cape is a much better alternative.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blondnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse1912, Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is extremely disappointing to us that you did not experience a positive stay with us. Yes June, July and August are extremely busy in Exmouth and for those traveling this region without a booking do find it difficult to find a place to stay and we have attempted to help by providing an area for those travelers that find themselves here without a booking prior to arriving.
Our overflow area was only completed three days prior to your stay and is fully compliant with our shires regulations in regards to the number of toilets and showers. All our customers who found themselves staying in the newly created overflow area were told in advance and recommended that they view the area prior to paying for their stay.
We are sorry that Mother Nature decided that we were to have a bit of wind for a couple of days that made it difficult for some of our guests in tents but thankfully it didn’t last for long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Wow, I was surprised how poor the facilities were. Stayed for 7 nights during this July 2013 School Holidays. Does the owner care about the place at all. Cars have to share a very narrow bridge with small kids, ridiculous. It would be so easy to add a pedestrian bridge. No fencing around the washing line, looks like an squatter camp. The sites are so small, not to mention the noisy road. I have stayed at a few caravan parks and must say this was the worst. Service at the front desk was not to bad, the only positive about the place and it close to the beach, but the noisy road makes it very unattractive to families looking for a peaceful and worry free holiday. You have to worry about the kids getting run over on the bridge all the time, waste of time and money.
I am going to try hard here for a positive....it has a small pool and a fish cleaning station, on the road off course 2 meters away. This is the main road to the National park cars constantly!!!! I can not think of any thing more SORRY Lighthouse.

Room Tip: Find another caravan park!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karratha2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse1912, Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is extremely disappointing to us that your stay with us was not up to your standard. The majority of our caravan sites are 9 meters long and 5 meters wide. Our bridge is single lane only and pedestrians have right of way over this bridge.
We are happy you enjoyed the close access to the beach and the two pools provided complete with shade sails (the only ones in Exmouth to have shade sails) and hope you got the opportunity to utilize the fish cleaning facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

It must be the great location which keeps this place in business, because it is an embarrassment to WA tourism, and Australia in general. We stayed in one of the mid-priced cabins, which are very tired. Someone at some stage must have cleaned it after the last guests checked out, but we still had to spend an hour wiping all surfaces (tables, walls) before we felt we wanted to bring our things in. We never really felt comfortable walking around in our bare feet inside, and showered in thongs. On the positive side, the kitchen came equipped with everything you'd need for self-catering. The staff have been friendly, and things in the store (bread, fishing lures, milk) are not too badly priced - the petrol here is the cheapest in Exmouth. This could be a great business, with its superb proximity to a World Heritage Site. Unfortunately, it's clearly being run with no regard to providing a quality experience.

Room Tip: Consider other options in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TazzieDevils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse1912, Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We thank you for your honest comments.
We are devastated that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have dedicated staff ensuring that our accommodation is cleaned to a high standard. All pre-booked accommodation is checked prior to a guest arriving on the day. I apologize if your room was not to our standard and only wished you could have reported it immediately to our office staff. We would have rectified your concerns straight away.
We do live and operate in the bush, so for us dust and insects are daily part of life. Some accommodation can be empty for several days, so dust and insects can move in quickly up here which is why we do inspections on pre-booked accommodation.
Glad to hear the office and fuel prices are a hit. It has been mentioned that our fuel, drinks and ice creams are well priced. Even the townies stop in on the way into the National Park for the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We booked one of the mid range cabins for a few nights following a recommendation from a friend. I have to say we were a little disappointed - the cabins are quite run down and shabby.
The managers could spruce up the housekeeping a bit to get these cabins up to speed, especially as there are quite a lot of accommodation options in Exmouth now.
This cabin was not good value for the money. Bed linen wasn't the greatest and no towels supplied. The window curtains barely covered the windows and the shower 'pooled' due to poor drainage. Not to mention the fact that the toilet could do with a really good scrub!!! Top it off with the holes in the insect screens (we swatted mozzies all night), and unfortunately the 'outlook' was to the back of the main amenities block and rows of garbage bins! The kitchen equipment was clean and adequate for self catering.
Location was nice if you have a vehicle - half way between Exmouth town and the National Park entrance and main boat ramp where most of the tours leave from, and the lighthouse close by where you can view those lovely sunsets.

Room Tip: Cabin closest to lighthouse seemed to have best view (sea glimpse) and the higher end cabins at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse1912, Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We thank you for your honest comments.
Your chalet was a lighthouse and these units were the original four units to be built when the Lighthouse Caravan Park was born some 23 years ago.
In June of this year the Lighthouse Chalets had all new linen installed. Yes our Lookout chalets are the only units that come complete with towels. The lighthouse, Bungalows and cabins do not.
A quick visit to our office would have resulted in a prompt response to your shower/toilet concerns and the fly screens being repaired. After your comments we will review the curtains in these chalets to ensure better privacy.
We hope that you stilled enjoyed what this World Heritage Site and Cape Range National Park had to offer during your stay. Our location is great for those guests participating in some of the tours offered as they pick you up from our office each day on the way to the park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were so pleased we opted to stay here rather than in Exmouth proper! The cabin is very basic but is clean and has everything you need to make it a comfortable stay. It is nice and close to the lighthouse which makes for a wonderful view of the sunset. Reception staff were friendly and helpful and told us it would be no problem to extend our stay if we wanted to.
A real gem is the cafe which operates in season - we tried the lamb shanks, served over a wonderfully creamy mash with a thick tomato based gravy and the lasagne which came with chips and a salad, both were $15 and were extremely generous portions. Given the remoteness of the location, these prices were incredible!

Room Tip: Ask for the cabins close to the ablution facility
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Di S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse1912, Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
So good to hear that we could help you enjoy our special part of the world. Your comments are appreciated. The Cafe is a great spot to help wind down after a day of sun, surf and hopefully a few evening drinks. I must admit those shanks were to die for.
Sunsets can be spectacular and it’s normal during the season to have 100 cars in the car park to watch the sun set over the sea. Another amazing sight is the sun rising over the lighthouse Bay with a few clouds in the sky. We are fortunate to have the sun rise and set over water.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

It has a great location, we'll give it that. but pretty much what has been already written is very true. The kitchens were lacking in access, garbage cans, utility and generally unacceptable for the shear numbers assigned to use them. one small sink, only one picnic table, one standard BBQ, one small cook top in poor repair, one small microwave for way too many camp sites. It was fairly clean. but using the facilities quite a feat. the line up to wash dished was too humorous. yes, there were other kitchens to walk to but really. the other areas were lacking and crowded too. The toilets were clean but the showers were not. The water taps were so poorly maintained that you could choose a scalding hot one or a cold one, regardless of the toilets flushing. We don't have a problem with the idea of keys. but as already pointed out, they were so worn, you had to fiddle with them to get them to work in the locks. as for the pool, it was nice but closed at six pm, a bit too early. lastly, between the tent sites, there were water taps. unfortunately, the waste water overflowed and went right under our tent. not the best situation. this place could use some thought and logic in the maintenance. it has potential but isn't there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcgben5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse1912, Manager at Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We thank you for your honest comments.
I am disappointed that your stay with was so disappointing.
Our camp kitchens are of a basic nature with all the equipment in good clean working order. We do not provide cooking utensils, pot,pans as these seem to leave with people who need them more than us.
Glad to hear our location was plus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
3.5 mi away
Sea Breeze Resort
Sea Breeze Resort
#1 of 6 in Exmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Exmouth Escape Resort
Exmouth Escape Resort
#3 of 6 in Exmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ningaloo Lodge
Ningaloo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Exmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
22.2 mi away
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef
0.6 mi away
RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park

Property: Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park
Address: Lot 2 Yardie Creek Road, Exmouth, Western Australia, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Exmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just a 15 minute drive from the town of Exmouth on the tip of the North West Cape, nestled at the base of Vlaming Head Lighthouse. Protected by the Cape Range and just a stones throw from the world renowned Ningaloo Marine Park. Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park is close to surf beach, boat launching facilities on the West Coast and our magnificent Cape Range National Park. You will truly feel the peace and tranquility of an outback, costal experiences whilst enjoying your stay with us. During your stay in Exmouth you can discover first hand the migration of the playful humpback whales, maybe have a snorkel with the majestic whale shark, witness nesting turtles along our shores, dive the deep blue depths of the world famous 'Navy Pier' or just take in a bit of fun filled sightseeing at the Cape Range National Park. We offer basic 'three star' accommodation to suit most budgets. From the 'Lookout Chalets to a Cabin' we can accommodate your needs. We have accommodation for everyones needs, some with wheel chair facilitates. Our Lookout are our most sort after accommodation types, nestled into the side of Cape Range, offering and ocean view. We have sites to accommodate all size caravans, tents, camper trailers, buses and fifth wheelers. Most sites are with concrete slabs. Due to our limited water supply we can not provide grass sites, however there are plenty of shady sites covered with crushed fines. Please come prepared with water as the water we offer is bore water and is around 3000 million parts salt. We have water tanks onsite for drinking and cooking with fresh water. The town centre of Exmouth offers water tank filling up facilities with the local scheme water. The friendly staff at the local tourist information centre can provide you with more details. We will endeavour to do our best to find the perfect spot for you to enjoy your stay with us. Facilities on the park include a swimming pool, toddler pool, tennis court, seasonal cafe, tackle store, fish cleaning facility, snorkel hire and sales, campers kitchens, laundries, fuel and gas barbecue areas for all our guests. Our small shop offers ice-creams, cool drinks, ice, bait, bread, milk and some basic necessities. We hope to see you here soon! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing