We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best View in Exmouth. Awesome accomodation.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best View in Exmouth. Awesome accomodation.”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

My partner and I recently stayed at the Ningaloo Lighthouse caravan park and it was the best holiday ever! We stayed on top of the hilll, in a chalet. The view is, without doubt, the best in Exmouth; 240 degree ocean views, complete with hump back whales every morning! The chalet was very well equipped with everything you need for a family. It is brick construction throughout, so there was no room to room noise issues. The linen and towels were of really good quality and everything was really clean. (I was impressed to see the unit next door being cleaned and all the furniture was moved out from the walls to ensure a good job. You won't find someone else's dirty sock behind the couch here!). I couldn't recommend this accomodation more highly.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend the chalets to get the best view. Book direct to the caravan park for the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacquelinerossevents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    58
    47
    34
    29
See reviews for
70
73
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
194 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

A group of 10 friends recently hired 3 of the Lookout chalets at this caravan park.
They are set up on a hill overlooking the park, but more importantly, the Vlaming Head lighthouse is behind you, just a 5 minute walk away from where you can can get more lovely views and watch the sun both setting and rising. From the large balcony, you have more wonderful views of the Indian ocean. We watched humpback whales passing by on their annual migration one morning. The park has a small shop for emergency supplies, as well as a surprisingly good cafe. We ate their twice, even though we were meant to be self catering. The chalets had one comfortable queen bed and one smaller room with double bunks. The single bathroom with toilet is shared. The kitchen was more than adequate and well stocked. We had a number of shared meals and fitted 10 people in around the table plus the outside table. There is also a TV for those sick of the views, although I think we only turned ours on once.
You WILL need a car. It is 15 minutes into Cape Range National Park to the best snorkelling spots (Turquoise Bay was our favourite) and around 25 minutes back into Exmouth, if you needed supplies. Tours from Exmouth mostly pick up from the Park as well, so if you wanted to, you could rely just on tours, but would be a bit expensive. Nothing is cheap in the North of WA.
The main purpose of our trip was a whale shark tour and the 3 Islands tour we did was fantastic.

Room Tip: There were other, cheaper accommodation options here, but these chalets were well worth paying a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turkey_Baster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mudgee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Beautiful views. Outstanding views. The $285pn Lookout Chalets are apalling! They need a good clean and revamp. Bathrooms you can't swing a cat in! Dripping taps. No lounges in lounge room only two chairs and the chalets cater for 4 people, Really fisherman shacks. Not even shabby chic! Make sure you know what you are in for as they refuse to give you your money back if you are not happy. No irons or irong boards.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vickimudgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

we (two adults and two teenagers) spent four days in this wonderfully located caravan park. We stayed in one of the lookout chalets pierced on the top of a hill facing the Ocean. The self contained chalets are rather rustic and expensive compared to the service you get, but the scenary from the veranda is unfogettable. We admired humpback whales playing in the ocean and emus roaming around while having our breakfasts. Great!
The staff at the recption desk is very helpful and the caravan park is perfectly located for visiting the ninagaloo park.

Room Tip: the view from the lookout chalets is unbeatable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgnavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We booked here during the crazy Easter period and were just relieved to be able to get a spot. We had our campervan and were travelling Rockingham - Ningaloo - Rocky - Perth in 9 days! NOT advised! We knew it would be a tough ask but were desperate to snorkel at Ningaloo as recommended by others. The campsite is a good additional 20 mins drive north of Exmouth. Exmouth itself is just a road with some shops and lots of building work going on as far as we could see - NOT worth the additional drive except for the snorkelling/diving - book Coral Bay if you can. The weather was terrible when we got there and there was a distinct smell of sewage right across the area which just made it all feel a bit weird. So, note our experience is probably tarnished by this. When we eventally reached the campsite it was a welcome site, very chilled out atmosphere - busy due to Easter - lots of little kids making their own fun with ropes - something I haven't seen in a long time! Reception very helpful with recommendations on beaches for snorkelling and a little shop to hire additional kit we needed. Facilities are basic but adequate. Food in little cafe not great! We cooked the 2nd night - the special was chicken - no fresh fish avail - 10 metres from the beach and across from a bunch of guys gutting their catches!!! Folk had boats there for the incredible fishing! Oh well. It's also too far from town to eat there for dinner - the the drive would be too dangerous after dusk due to the amazing wildlife - mostly of the bouncing variety! We didn't see emus our whole trip - v disappointing - but hardly the hosts' fault! :) Site very convenient for Nat Park and amazing snorkelling nearby. We went to a very rocky beach -(v sharp rocks!) but fish AMAZING - even in dull, rainy weather. The beautiful white sands at the closer beach made for a much less hysterical entrance to the water but the fishies are obviously further out. I'd brave the rocks anytime. This is a great spot for whale sharks but the tours were booked out so book ahead if you can. All in all, a helpful bunch with basic facilities at the end of the earth! Buy your own food on the way! (wee shop has the basics only).

One note for the Mgmt - your responses to reviews here do not present a very friendly or professional face. Folks take these reviews very seriously (I use religiously!) so I'd recommend you are more graceful, less defensive, listen and act upon feedback. People take time and effort to review - it can only benefit you!). Cheers!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TravelEd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Miserable weather, alright front desk service. Basic cabin, partioned room with toilet- no shower.
Very clean. Good beds. No stove, but electric fry pan.
Ablutions block was usable and clean.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueskyreddirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2011

We booked 6 days in a Lookout Chalet, paid 1/2 up front. Upon arrival, we had decided to stay just 5 days to have an extra travel day back to Perth, the staff were very helpful, told us to just pay for the 5 nights and if we wanted the 6th to let them know later. Try to get the 'Groper' chalet on the end, we had endless views across the bush and ocean from the deck. Had BBQ dinners on the deck and watched the sunset, then drank wine under an incredible star-filled sky. Lots of room for the kids, they enjoyed the pool and spotting emus and kangaroos. It is a LONG walk to the beach from the chalets, we knew this, but dont book here if you want a 'beachside' holiday. Only complaint was regarding the cafe, on Monday morning we asked the office if we needed a reservation for dinner, they said easter was over so no need to book, just walk in. That night, the cafe was closed, the chalkboard indicating it was open "Tues-Sun", not sure why the office wouldnt have told us that! Next night we tried again, upon ordering we discovered it was 'cash-only', nearest ATM 17km away. Third night we finally ate there and it was great. If youre happy to self-cater(stores are 17km away, caravan shop is not well stocked) & enjoy spending the night on the verandah after kids in bed then a good spot to base yourself and explore Ningaloo reef and Cape Range Park.

Room Tip: ask for Groper Lookout chalet on the end
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzandruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
3.5 mi away
Sea Breeze Resort
Sea Breeze Resort
#2 of 6 in Exmouth
763 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mantarays Ningaloo Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Exmouth Escape Resort
Exmouth Escape Resort
#3 of 6 in Exmouth
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ningaloo Lodge
Ningaloo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Exmouth
142 reviews
22.2 mi away
Sal Salis Ningaloo Reef
0.6 mi away
RAC Exmouth Cape Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park

Property: Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park
Address: Lot 2 Yardie Creek Road, Exmouth, Western Australia, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Exmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just a 15 minute drive from the town of Exmouth on the tip of the North West Cape, nestled at the base of Vlaming Head Lighthouse. Protected by the Cape Range and just a stones throw from the world renowned Ningaloo Marine Park. Ningaloo Lighthouse Caravan Park is close to surf beach, boat launching facilities on the West Coast and our magnificent Cape Range National Park. You will truly feel the peace and tranquility of an outback, costal experiences whilst enjoying your stay with us. During your stay in Exmouth you can discover first hand the migration of the playful humpback whales, maybe have a snorkel with the majestic whale shark, witness nesting turtles along our shores, dive the deep blue depths of the world famous 'Navy Pier' or just take in a bit of fun filled sightseeing at the Cape Range National Park. We offer basic 'three star' accommodation to suit most budgets. From the 'Lookout Chalets to a Cabin' we can accommodate your needs. We have accommodation for everyones needs, some with wheel chair facilitates. Our Lookout are our most sort after accommodation types, nestled into the side of Cape Range, offering and ocean view. We have sites to accommodate all size caravans, tents, camper trailers, buses and fifth wheelers. Most sites are with concrete slabs. Due to our limited water supply we can not provide grass sites, however there are plenty of shady sites covered with crushed fines. Please come prepared with water as the water we offer is bore water and is around 3000 million parts salt. We have water tanks onsite for drinking and cooking with fresh water. The town centre of Exmouth offers water tank filling up facilities with the local scheme water. The friendly staff at the local tourist information centre can provide you with more details. We will endeavour to do our best to find the perfect spot for you to enjoy your stay with us. Facilities on the park include a swimming pool, toddler pool, tennis court, seasonal cafe, tackle store, fish cleaning facility, snorkel hire and sales, campers kitchens, laundries, fuel and gas barbecue areas for all our guests. Our small shop offers ice-creams, cool drinks, ice, bait, bread, milk and some basic necessities. We hope to see you here soon! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing