We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing to see”

3 Islands Whale Shark Dive
Ranked #1 of 36 Tours in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Ningaloo Reef is an incredible aquatic environment filled with an amazing variety of marine life ranging from whale sharks, dolphins, humpback whales, manta rays, dugongs and turtles to tropical fish, corals and much more. Join award winning Three Islands Whale Shark Dive on a whale shark snorkelling adventure on the reef between mid-March and August. With a reputation for quality, safety and professionalism, the friendly crew ensure each whale shark tour is a memorable marine wildlife experience.
Exmouth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing to see”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Thankyou so much to the crew and mostly to Christian for keeping his promise as it was amazing to see.Will do it again and will go out with 3 Islands as they make the trip really enjoyable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Buttons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    966
    21
    2
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mullumbimby
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime Experience!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The 3 Island Whale Shark Dive off Ningaloo Reef is a great experience.

We were up early and on the bus at 7:30am. The bus driver Alex and Meg told us about the local area on the way to the boat (Harold E Hold Communications Base, Aboriginal History etc). At Tantabiddi Jetty we were transferred to our boat for the day and where we met the rest of the crew (Josh, the skipper, Tod and Nat).


There were only 15 of us on the boat so it’s not too crowded. We were divided up into two groups and then each group is divided into half again. The two groups take it in turn to enter the water and then the group divides into two with small groups of 4 swimming each side the whale shark.

We were issued with wetsuits (or stinger suits) and snorkel and flippers and headed for a piece of reef where we have a dive to check out the gear. The fish are very colourful but the coral is pretty dead at this spot.

As we head for a break in the reef and deeper water we learn about the whale shark (the biggest fish in the sea but fortunately for us only a plankton eater so not dangerous to humans) and how to approach them (3m from the side, 4m from the tail). We also have morning tea and cakes/fruit. Three Islands has a spotter plane up and no sooner have we cleared then reef then we’re next to a whale shark.

What happens is a group enters the water some distance in front of the whale shark and spreads out leaving a corridor. The whale shark swims through the corridor and then you swim along beside the whale shark. The first time you see this huge shape appear from the gloom swimming towards you is just amazing. They truly are beautiful animals. It’s also amazing at the amount of other fish swimming with them – lots of sucker fish (forget their names) and smaller fish swimming around the whale shark’s mouth. I wonder whether the animal gets sick of the hanger-oners. They’re a bit like flies buzzing around.

For the next couple of hours it was full on. Jump in the water, watch the whale shark, get picked up, move forward, jump back in the water etc etc. Regulations allow the boats to watch a whale for an hour but in our case we watched 8 different whale sharks in the time we were in the water. At one stage when we jumped in to observe a whale shark another one appeared swimming up under us. That was pretty freaky – but pretty amazing as well. I lost track of time but it wasn’t until 2 o’clock that we stopped for lunch.

They fed us well for lunch, even giving us a pack of gluten free stuff.

On our way back to the lagoon we saw a dugong but unfortunately didn’t get very close. During the day we also saw dolphin and a tiger shark.

Another quick snorkel inside the reef before heading back to the caravan park. What an amazing day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank bennlexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magnificent Whale Sharks”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My family had a great time on the boat. The crew were excellent and advised us on how to make the most of our experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank houndBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulburn, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Sunset Whale watching...”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Excellent boat, clean and very well appointed, very professional staff so by the time I boarded the boat I was more assured and nerves about going out to sea was relaxed. Plenty of room to go where I felt most comfortable to view the whales. Luck was on our side, plus a really good skipper ensured a good safe viewing distance but still saw all that was there. The whales seemed to be happy they lay on their backs and slapped, eyed us and waved, their young were allowed to just float between the boat and the mother who was not concerned at all. Sunset supper was quite "posh" adding to the lovely setting and excitement of the journey. The staff told us so much about whales and their environment. I really enjoyed being part of the preservation and education. Trip back was a stroke of luck.. full moon rising for us to enjoy. Warm weather and smooth ride all the way there and back due to skipper being so good. Wonderful experience!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kayeleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
“TOTALLY INCREDIBLE”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Apart from being a fantastic experience in itself, the crew of 3 Islands absolutely made it the best it could possibly be! They were so attentive. My Mum is disabled and she came along as an observer, and one of the crew actually got her swimming on ningaloo reef with a pool noodle! Lovely people, and they have thought of everything. They even have ginger lollies for seasickness and cater for vegetarians. 5 stars all the way. GREAT JOB! Thanks for sharing whales sharks with me :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catherine958Dazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 3 Islands Whale Shark Dive also viewed

Exmouth, Western Australia
 
Exmouth, Western Australia
Exmouth, Western Australia
 

Been to 3 Islands Whale Shark Dive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing