We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“badly managed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Resort Dunsborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Nice facilities but badly managed. Reservations lost, rooms not ready until 4pm even asking for early checking due to attending a wedding function at same venue. And after all that, they charge like wounded bulls! And the pricing is very inconsitance, a couple staying in the same type of room as us were charged $55 lest per night than us and there no resonable answer for that.Dedfinately would not recommend this place for a wedding function because they do not go out of their way for anyone!...........

Room Tip: Look somewhere else! M
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Resort Dunsborough
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 405 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2012

Stayed with my partner for 1 night. This was a gift for our 50th birthdays from the family We arrived early and the room was ready for us. Nice big room very clean and nice that the toilet was seperate from the bathroom. Bathroom was very big with a spa bath. Microwave and fridge in room. Gardens of the hotel were beautifully kept and lush. Pool area was nice with a small gym room. Toby's restaurant beautiful food for dinner and breakfast, service fantastic and the day spa is really nice. I had a swedish massage. Soooo relaxing. Definately would stay again.

For overseas travellers you definately need a car. Dunsborough only 8kms away and Busselton in the opposite direction. Both worth a visit alot to see and plenty of shopping. Very structured to the tourist. So much more to see also beyond the two small towns. Lovely area.

Room Tip: Ground floor room for sure. NIce outlook to the gardens.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cgfromperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We recently had a 4 night stay in one of the beach houses. Our party consisted of 3 couples and 2 children. There was ample room and everyone had their own bathroom facilities which was a bonus for our large group. The house is located in a great position, close to all resort facilites and only a stones throw from the beach. We had an amazing meal in Toby's restaurant and the service was fabulous.

The only critisism I have is that the house itself could have been cleaner, especially the floors.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melandfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We are RCI members and stayed at the resort for 2 weeks of total R&R. We were a little concerned, after reading some of the reviews, that the nearby road would be noisy. We were on the ground floor and once our door was closed we couldn't hear a thing!

The accommodation was spotlessly clean and the bed very comfortable. The kitchen was pretty well appointed, although a couple of micowave dishes would have been useful.

The staff were polite and attentive with special mention of the maintenance staff who fixed up a couple of small issues within minutes.

The gardens are beautifully maintained. We only ate breakfast at the resort as there are so many wonderful cafes, restaurants and wineries in the area.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor at the far left of the resort - very quiet
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zamgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I am an RCI owner and exchanged for one week here. We arrived 3 hours early and were delighted to find our appartment was available. Reception was fantastic, very welcoming and informative, especially about the bush fires which were of great concern at the time. They also provided full information on where to eat and go. The kids were given cute welcome bags with crayons and a book.
We had a two bed room appartment (8102) which was perfect. Two good sized bedrooms, master has a lovely large bed, kids room had two singles with plenty of room for our additional travel cot. There is a well kitted out kitchen, no oven but one of those combination microwaves. There is a laundry with a washer plus dryer. The bathroom has a shower over the bath and a separate room for the toilet. Having a bath is a big plus point when you have very small children.
The quality of fixtures and fittings is good, not 5 star but certainly a very decent standard, clean and fresh. There is a heat/cooling system which worked very well.
The beach is accessed from within the resort and is only a two mins walk from the appartment. It's a very calm, shallow,with warm water, perfect for small children or a gentle swim. There is a great kids playground in the resort, tennis courts, heated outdoor pool and a hot tub.
We ate at the hotel restaurant almost every day for breakfast and dinner and it is pretty good and not too badly priced, for example I had a lovely eye fillet, red wine jus, rosti $39. The kids meals were good too. They have a nice reasonably price wine list, an average bottle of wine is $30.
Breakfast $18 for continental, $26 full hot buffet at weekends, menu for hot food through the week, under 5s eat breakfast free.
The resort itself is a 5-10 min drive to Dunsborough and about the same to Bussleton. I liked this location, not walking distance to anything but worked well for us.
All staff were very welcoming and friendly for the whole stay. The manager seems to be there all the time, walking around, talking to guests, dealing with things.
Only sour note was when I checked in they invited me to a meeting to get some information about Wyndham buying RCI and what this meant to owners. I arrived at the meeting and was told I was not allowed into the meeting without my husband. I explained that I'm the owner, not my husband and he said you both have to be here quote "for legal reasons"!!!! Seriously not impressed a) at this utter nonsense and b) at being invited to this meeting under false pretenses as it was clearly a sales presentation.
Other than that bizzarre sales tactic we had a wonderful experience here.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emmaloocoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed for a couple of nights recently.We were impressed.All staff that we came in contact with were friendly and helpful,our room was neat,clean and spacious,it was obvious that the gardens were looked after with lots of TLC and the beach was a beauty.Last but not least Toby's restaurant provided us with one of the best dinner's that we have ever tasted,it was that good helped by our most delightful waitress whose name I cannot unfortunately recall.We were on a special package and we certainly got our money's worth.

Mike & Jan.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mijak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

I am an RCI member and booked in May for my brothers honeymoon in November and asked for a 2brm spa resort, I was contacted by RCI 3 days before their check in day to say there had been a double up and the room wasn't available but not to panic they would fix it, RCI were great and got back within 1/2hr to say all sorted at original resort. My brother confirmed on Thurs and was told 2 brm spa unit. Once he got their they were booked into a 2brm no spa, he went down and explained it was his honeymoon and got relocated to a room with a spa but had to leave for a few hours while they got it ready and they got a bottle of wine. The spa wasnt like the one in the picture, very basic and hard to get in and out of. Sheets and towels not changed in the week they were there. Internet not free, it says open network but it is something like $6 for 50mb and was gone in minutes as they were looking at their wedding photos. Restaurant it was great and well priced for dinner, best lamb and steak he has had, beer cheap. The outside pool says heated but it was cold and the day was warm. Not that it is much but they even charged $1 to scan and hold credit card for security at front office. Would stay again but knowing it is a nice motel accom not a flash resort which he thought he was getting for something special for his honeymoon. .

Room Tip: The rooms beginning with 9 are like the ones in the pamphlet that is 9101 and 9102
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DongaraOztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunsborough
11.1 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
5.5 mi away
The Sebel Busselton
The Sebel Busselton
#3 of 14 in Busselton
644 reviews
7.3 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Abbey Beach Resort
Abbey Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Busselton
1,422 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bayshore Beachside Resort
Bayshore Beachside Resort
#1 of 19 in Dunsborough
226 reviews
9.8 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Dunsborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Dunsborough

Address: 700 Caves Rd, Dunsborough, Western Australia 6281, Australia (Formerly Wyndham Vacation Resort & Spa Dunsborough)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Dunsborough
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Dunsborough
Price Range: $134 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Resort Dunsborough 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Resort Dunsborough is perfectly located on the beachfront in the heart of Western Australia’s South West overlooking stunning Geographe Bay. Dunsborough is the ideal holiday destination, just three hours' drive from Perth and in close vicinity to Busselton and the acclaimed Margaret River wine region. Surrounded by vineyards, beaches and fine dining, there is an abundance of activities and attractions to please everyone. The spacious, well-appointed Dunsborough accommodation caters for every kind of getaway, from a romantic escape to a family holiday. Choose from studios or fully self-contained apartments, all with a balcony or patio. The extensive resort facilities include a fully equipped gym, floodlit tennis court, three meeting rooms and a wedding chapel. Experience sensational Margaret River dining at Toby’s Restaurant & Bar or indulge in relaxation at Flourish Day Spa. The entire family will love the resort’s direct beach access, swimming pool and spa pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Ramada Resort Dunsborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resort And Spa Dunsborough
Wyndham Vacation Resort & Spa Dunsborough Hotel Dunsborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing