We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent base for Western Australia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Village Resort & Spa Dunsborough
sheffield, england
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent base for Western Australia”
Reviewed April 24, 2009

Stayed at the Dunsborough Bay Village Resort for 10 nights in March 2009. We stayed in one of the new apartments with its own living room, kitchen, bedroom and spa bath. In the hallway outside of our room was a washing machine and tumble dryer much welcomed after two weeks travelling around asia and australia. The apartment was brand new and well equipped however to agree with a previous reviewer the only storage is one small wardrobe. The resort was quiet for the majority of he time that we were there however at weekend it became quite noisy especially with a group of teens in the chalets behind us. They were up til 2/3 in the morning with their drunken noise. From the row they were making they had invited many others to stay with them. Dont know if it was connected but one of the tyres on our hire car had been let down the following morning. Hilarious. Our only other minor complaints are the resort claims to have wifi but it never worked the whole time e were there and the resot cold make much more of the pool area - open it up and get rid of some of the unused garden area. That aside Dunsborough itself is a brilliant little town. The restaurant at the resort was closed but was offering tasting plates which were delicious and some good wine. There are plenty of other places to eat tho would especially recommend The Cape Wine Bar brilliant food, wine, service and atmosphere. A good base to stay and explore this stretch of coast. Would stay again

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayvil, Manager at Bay Village Resort & Spa Dunsborough, responded to this review, March 1, 2011
Dear Guests
Thank you for your wonderful comments, much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Unfortunately it is not always possible to control unruly neghbours, and whilst our after hours caretakers generally do a very good job of managing to quieten noisy parties, on some occasions it escapes them, so our sincere apolgies for the inconvenience there.
Wifi is readily available, however, once again, as with most establishments the signal can drop out most inconveniently, however we do have free internet access in the office.
As to our pool area with its quite extensive garden, this becomes a debatable issue as we receive a lot of great feedback regarding the 'kangaroo paws' -some guests just love them!
Once again thank you for your positive comments
Management
Bay Village Resort & Spa Dunsborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    41
    36
    24
    10
See reviews for
43
61
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hongkong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2009

Stayed there for a few days, but thought the pictures of the resort online and on the brochure look amazing but it is not in comparison with what you will get. Rooms ok, nothing special, small, nowhere to put your clothes (only one small wardorobe), the only thing nice is the large spa bath in the apartments. Had a look at the cottages and they were even worse, VERY basic, and the bathroom is in the laundry room. The swimming pool is horrible, it is a small indoor pool, feels more claustrophophic then relaxing. The only reason to stay at the resort would be the central location to Dunsborough town which has a lot of nice coffee shops, retail shops and restaurants. We shorten our trip and went to stay at Quay West Bunker Bay Resort, the price per night was the same price, but the difference is huge. Here we had a nicely decorated spacious 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom villa and the resort is to die for. A real nice beach holiday and relaxing ending of our trip.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SashaHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldivis, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2008

We were so happy to find such a friendly, centrally located resort. There was a good choice of accommodation from the older-style renovated cottages or chalets, to the newer units, plus the new apartments which have just been completed. The new villas include breakfast at the 'Altitude Bar' next door. The new section of the resort boasts a day spa which is operational from December 08. There are a multitude of restaurants within walking distance, and the beach is two minutes walk away. You won't find a better location. All other local wineries, restaurants and tourist spots are a short drive away, but there are plenty of charter companies to take you there if you prefer not to drive,

  • Liked — Close proximity to town
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniseBaldivis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
418 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2008

This is a modern development and is very central and well maintained. However, the villas which are privately owned can be subdivided and we got a double room separated from a bigger house. It contained a bed, bath in one space with a dividing curtain and was too small for 2 people. One had to lie on the bed while the other dressed and there was no room for cases. So, yes, stay here but watch what you are given. It has an excellent restaurant.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — too small for 2
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DaoHaddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dunsborough hotels

Darlinghurst, Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2007

The photos of the cabins on their website were great - I should have realised the price of the cabin was too good! The rooms were really cold and quite old. They were clean and airy though. Probably a much nicer place in summer. The village of Dunsborough is a bit of a ghost town in November as well - we had trouble finding a restaurant within walking distance fo the Resort

  • Liked — The undercover carport
  • Disliked — heating (or lack of)
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunsborough
6.4 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
10.3 mi away
The Sebel Busselton
The Sebel Busselton
#3 of 14 in Busselton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
3.1 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bayshore Beachside Resort
Bayshore Beachside Resort
#1 of 20 in Dunsborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
10.1 mi away
Abbey Beach Resort
Abbey Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Busselton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Village Resort & Spa Dunsborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Village Resort & Spa Dunsborough

Property: Bay Village Resort & Spa Dunsborough
Address: 26 Dunn Bay Road, Dunsborough, Western Australia 6281, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Dunsborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Dunsborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bay Village Resort & Spa Dunsborough 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Village Resort & Spa Dunsborough, a 2.5 hour drive south of Perth, offers one of Australia's most unique and safe regional holiday experiences, located right in the hub of Dunsborough, a friendly, relaxed seaside holiday town in the ever-popular South West "playground" of Western Australia.The resort has an extensive range of accommodation styles from 3.5*- 4.5* to suit all budgets. Dunsborough, nestled into the curving coastline of beautiful Geographe Bay, is situated in the heart of the world-renowned premium Margaret River wine-growing region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bay Village Resort & Spa Dunsborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Village Resort And Spa Dunsborough
Bay Village Resort & Spa Dunsborough Hotel Dunsborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing