We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing luxury and excellent value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Village Resort & Spa Dunsborough

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Village Resort & Spa Dunsborough
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing luxury and excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had the best 3 day holiday at Bay Village Resort and Spa in Dunsborough.
The villas were the best we have ever stayed in in the area, there are others where we can have our own areas but not to the same level as these. Excellent.

The things that stood out for us to make it so awesome were:
· Your friendliness and help in making the booking, checkin and checkout process a pleasure and so easy
· The SPA baths in every area
· The beds were “whole” beds not two singles joined together as we experience in a lot of places
· The décor was very tasteful and modern with lovely lighting and tiles and wood
· There were lots of areas to sit around in too – our daughter really loved having her “day bed” in the upstairs area
· Thank you for the Palmers wines in the room – lovely wines – it encouraged us to enjoy a delightful dinner at their winery on Saturday night
· The independent hot water systems was a brilliant idea. Nowhere else we have been has thought of that seemingly obvious solution to needing lots of hot water for SPAs. Well done.
· Thanks for the milk too – we really appreciate real milk.
· Finding the things we had left behind so quickly and following up with us so that we could get them back.
· And the other touches that make such a difference: lots of towels, magazines, independent climate control that works well…

Room Tip: We love the Tuart Villa. One big house with multiple independent areas. Great for grown up families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayvil, Manager at Bay Village Resort & Spa Dunsborough, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Robyn

Once again a family choosing an accommodation style to suit their needs. Thank you for doing the research and the fantastic feedback. It is most sincerely appreciated and we are so very delighted that you and your family loved their unit and their time with us in Dunsborough. It is such a diverse region and the location so very central.

Thank you again.
Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    40
    36
    24
    10
See reviews for
43
60
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

room was okay. we stayed for three nights. looks like someone went to bali and shipped a container of furniture back to do out the entire place. staff were a little rude. Despite advising them on the late check in when I booked, I got an abrupt and slightly aggressive phone call at 5pm on day of check in demanding when we would arrive as the office was closing. They did have a very efficient facility for late check-in, so I'm bemused by the attitude on the phone, In person they were not exactly warm and welcoming either. Okay place to stay, but nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beth75jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayvil, Manager at Bay Village Resort & Spa Dunsborough, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest

The resort furnishings, in most (not all) instances were sourced directly from China, Vietnam and a Bali with a view to providing a 'point of difference' rather than the usual accommodation fit-outs.Generally, most guests find our furnishings unique and attractive.
We apologise most sincerely for the perceived abrupt staff attitude which was certainly unintended.
As to price, yes accommodation is expensive in Australia compared to some of our close overseas neighbours, but unfortunately costs are also extremely high and we endeavour to provide a fair and competitive rate.
Yours sincerely
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I can't see how this has a 4.5* rating. The pictures on the website are misleading concerning the spa apartments. The rooms are claustrophobic and far from luxurious, unless you enjoy laying in a hard lumpy bed watching tv, with a spa bath in the corner. You can hear the noise of the adjoining apartments' spa baths above and around you along with every other noise! There are no seats in your room, an oversight for anyone who likes to enjoy a coffee or bite to eat anywhere other than on a bed. There is a double outdoor setting outside each block of three apartments on a shared decking with no privacy. The food on site is glorified pub grub and the rooms and spa treatments are vastly overpriced. Definitely not worth the money.

Room Tip: Find somewhere cheaper with better accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DOC2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayvil, Manager at Bay Village Resort & Spa Dunsborough, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest
The images and descriptions on the resort website portray 'quite accurately' the room types advertised and it seems that a different style of room/unit type with a living area and table and chairs would have been far more suitable to your needs. Next time!
The resort is rated according to AAA Tourism standards.
The restaurant on site is owned and run as a separate entity and is popular with casual bistro style fare and a great selection of local beers.
The on-site beauty spa is once again comparatively priced with similar salons in WA.
Yours sincerely
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at the Bay village for a weekend. It was around about 300 dollars per night. It was OK accommodation but very overpriced.

The chalet was cleanish .. ants everywhere, cobwebs everywhere. There was no toilet paper, no cooking oils ( suppose to be self contained).

The shower/bathroom/laundry was a bit of a joke, the shower was pretty much in a cupboard with one petty little mirror.

Room is advertised with FOXTEL, couldn't find any remote to access it and flicking through the channels didn't look like it was even connected.

It is close to everything, so I guess that's where the cost comes in. Nice little cafes walking distance and the beach very close.

The pool area was very out dated - water was not heated, spa was the same temperature as the pool and the sauna resembled a shoe box.

Would I stay here again? Probably not. But if you're wanting somewhere to stay with friends ( 6 or more) and close to the town centre then it could work to be a cheap holiday. Would probably look at the apartments more then the chalets but they cost more.

Wouldn't recommend it for families with children, unless you bring plenty of board games.

Room Tip: Maybe look at the apartments/cottages I've heard they're nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayvil, Manager at Bay Village Resort & Spa Dunsborough, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Chalets are rated at 3.5*. Toilet paper is provided along with a spare roll, as are tea/coffee sachets and fresh milk. Cottages, Chalets and 3.5* Villas are all self-contained which means these items are provided complementary for arrival, but as it self-contained it is anticipated guests cater for their day to day consumable items, including food. We will consider a more explicit description of what 'self-contained' is, thank you.
Most cottages and chalets have all had their laundry/bathrooms upgraded to lovely spacious showers - it seems you may have occupied one of the oldest chalets.
Foxtel was all functioning perfectly during the period you stayed and reception is available at all times to answer or correct any such issues.
The pool is heated according to shire regulations and the adjoining spa is usually 1 or 2 degrees warmer - the spa is not advertised a sa thermal spa and whilst the sauna is compact.
For families, there is a selection of board and other games available at reception and with the park right next door, it is an ideal spot for families.
We agree with your comments regarding the location- it is so very central to town centre shopping, arts crafts galleries.

Your sincerely
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfiled
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed for 4nights last month March 2013.Good place to stay for visits to Margaret's River,and as with most places in Australia at the moment the whole country is a very expensive place to stay.Only less painful if you have family you can stay with.Food shopping ,beer and eating out are vey expensive due to the booming economy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChesterfiledTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayvil, Manager at Bay Village Resort & Spa Dunsborough, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Tony

Yes, I suppose we are considered expensive in WA and March is also a premium time of the year. Labour and servicing costs are also extremely high in Western Australia and especially in regional locations. We do our best to offer 'specials' in off peak seasons, similar to other domestic or international tourist destinations.

Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Calling this place a resort is a bit of a joke, having said that the rooms are very neat, tidy & clean.
Our room was a bit weird as the spa/shower was in the corner of the same room the bed was in. Wife thought it was hilarious that she would pay on bed watching tv & have me showering right next to the tv in full view. It was a comfortable stay but in my opinion overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayvil, Manager at Bay Village Resort & Spa Dunsborough, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Johnathon

Thank you for the positives- the cleanliness etc. The Apartment Spa Room was designed to be compact and cosy and suits a lot of our guests. We have a variety of other unit styles with separate bathrooms/kitchen/living areas. We appreciate Western Australia is expensive but so too are our labour and servicing costs, especially regionally.

Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anonyme Island, Seychelles
Level Contributor
137 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed there after Australia day, an overprices stay even if we got a "good" deal.Good location, shops around and a boring beach as well. Not very clean but in the "chalet" all was ok.
BBQ faciliites and the small teracce very dirty, no service at all and no breakfast , not a free WIFI,
but friendly staff..
Perfect location for exploring the beautifull Margret River region and discovering the fantastic beaches along the coast ( go to Red Gate beach !!!!).
Good beer selection but truely over priced food and drinks. No "Resort and Spa " at all !!
Spa , closed ( better !!) in an old garage and looking poor.
Anyway , quite ( but boring beach !) and having a good location could be a place to book, Negotiate with the New Zealand couple at the reception, you could be lucky.
Fantastic region , for sure !!!

Room Tip: Try the sea side rooms or book a"chalet".
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Andre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayvil, Manager at Bay Village Resort & Spa Dunsborough, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest

3.5* accommodation does not include a daily service, as does our 4.5* accommodation.
Our pricing, we believe is consistent with pricing in the region and yes a wonderful region to explore and a great location from which to do so, thank you.
Not sure why you found the beach so 'boring' as most guests relish the crystal clear waters and tranquility of the bay.

Thank you again for your comments.
Yours sincerely
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunsborough
6.4 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
3.2 mi away
Windmills Break
Windmills Break
#2 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bayshore Beachside Resort
Bayshore Beachside Resort
#3 of 20 in Dunsborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Abbey Beach Resort
Abbey Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Busselton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
6.2 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
36.8 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resort & Spa Dunsborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Village Resort & Spa Dunsborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Village Resort & Spa Dunsborough

Property: Bay Village Resort & Spa Dunsborough
Address: 26 Dunn Bay Road, Dunsborough, Western Australia 6281, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Dunsborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Dunsborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bay Village Resort & Spa Dunsborough 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Village Resort & Spa Dunsborough, a 2.5 hour drive south of Perth, offers one of Australia's most unique and safe regional holiday experiences, located right in the hub of Dunsborough, a friendly, relaxed seaside holiday town in the ever-popular South West "playground" of Western Australia.The resort has an extensive range of accommodation styles from 3.5*- 4.5* to suit all budgets. Dunsborough, nestled into the curving coastline of beautiful Geographe Bay, is situated in the heart of the world-renowned premium Margaret River wine-growing region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bay Village Resort & Spa Dunsborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Village Resort And Spa Dunsborough
Bay Village Resort & Spa Dunsborough Hotel Dunsborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing