We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse
from $111.20
More Info
from $220.10
More Info
from $1,716.20
More Info
Reviews (727)
Filter reviews
708 results
Traveler rating
275
264
116
38
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
264
116
38
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour light house interesting history cape naturaliste easy climb worth a visit whale lookout see whales breathtaking views great walk walking trails great tour indian ocean whale watching viewing platform margaret river keeper
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 708 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Good spot to go and check out the view. Nice old (and still working) lighthouse. A few walks off to the side right out to the Cape.

Thank Granules2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Insanely beautiful & so rugged, I'm talking about the coastline, submerged rocks & many little Islands make this stretch of coast extremely hazardous to shipping hence the Lighthouse, yep it's a light house & the best part of the whole thing is the little coffee shop run by the girls as you go in before you pay $6, hint, Don't, perfect coffee on a windy sunny & rough day, so dangerous, stare at the sea it's a cauldron, loved it.

Thank COGOART
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You used to be able to take walks along the coast from the lighthouse for free and you just paid to visit the lighthouse. Now you have to pay to get onto the grounds so that you can access the paths. Why do people have to be so greedy.

1  Thank billsie2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRBTA, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi billsie2015,

Im sorry to hear you had some trouble locating the walking trails, They are situated just meters from the lighthouse entry and are free for all to access. Next time please come speak to our friendly staff who will point you in the right direction.

The Lighthouse heritage site is still, as you mentioned a ticketed option. All the options can be viewed on your website www.margaretriver.com.

Happy travels
Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Another great piece of Australian maritime history with the lighthouse and caretakers cottages in pristine condition. The tour guide provided us with a very informative and interesting talk detailing the establishment and history of the site and then a tour inside the working lighthouse; amazing construction, engineering and still working well. The on-site cafe in one of the cottages is small but produce great coffee and beautiful food. There are two viewing platforms overlooking the coast & ocean allowing great views of the passing humpback whales; we saw dozens. One platform adjoins the lighthouse and is an easy walk. The other platform is a 20 to 30 minute walk along a coastal track. Through the coastal brush to a platform above the cliffs with awesome views of the whales.

Thank Roger_Albury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRBTA, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Roger_Albury

Thanks for the fantastic review! We are so glad you enjoyed every part of the lighthouse experience. Including the the added bonus of a whale.

Safe travels
Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went on a guided tour of the lighthouse , we had a great guide for the 45 min tour to the top which was very informative and delivered great views . An easy climb as the lighthouse is short, loads of interesting stories from its history and views towards sugarloaf rock.

Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I think I saw a whale lol
Great views. Friendly staff have us a lot of tips to enjoy the area
Need to hang around a while to spot some sort of whale action

Thank fayanwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and I enjoyed our visit and tour of the lighthouse. Our guide Sarah was very informative and we got to explore the area completely. A lot of history to be heard! The views from the top was incredible and we even got to see some whales.

Thank Alexjmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit - it was so worth it. Spectacular views and the lighthouse tour was most interesting.

Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband has a mobility and balance impairment and walks with some difficulty with a walking stick. We understood from reading the Margaret River Region Magazine that there was easy disabled access to the new boardwalk around the lighthouse. We were very disappointed to find that the boardwalk is only accessed by walking approximately one hundred meters up a steep hill that only a motorised wheelchair could ascend. I was told by staff at the front desk that I couldn’t take him up the hill to the Lighthouse on the road by my car as I might hit one of the walkers! It’s no good having a board walk that is advertised as being suitable for people with mobility issues if there is no suitable access to it.
We did have a very nice cup of coffee in the Light Keepers Cottage and enjoyed the memorabilia and the display of local art work.

Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRBTA, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Caroline B,

Thanks for the review.

I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit. Unfortunately because of the Lighthouses location on top of a 100 meter bluff it can be difficult for some to make their way up. However, we encourage everyone to take their time and enjoy the amazing views along the journey, there is no time limit on the heritage pass so you could take all day if needed.

Good to hear you enjoyed the coffee, their cake and scones are also 5 star, i would recommend them to anyone.

Safe travels
Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2018

Thank you Jack for your informative review of this amazing site. Alot of history to be heard in this area!. Thie lighthouse climb was spectacular and the views at the top were amazing. Added bonus of watching the whales swim past. Well worth a visit.

Thank Shauna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRBTA, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Shauna B,

Thanks for visiting and for the great feedback. Our guides are passionate about their environment and the history of the area. Good to hear you enjoyed the tour and the added bonus of whales!.

Safe travel
Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews