We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kangaroos for cocktails”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dunsborough Rail Carriages & Farm Cottages
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Kangaroos for cocktails”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This place is special. It is showing some wear and tear round the edges but the novelty makes up for it, times ten.

The surroundings could do with a couple of days work with tractor bucket and trailer, and some plantings here and there, but when you are sitting out front on the deck sipping a Margaret River wine and kangaroos appear out of the tall grass in front of you it is hard to be too critical. The local farmers may not be too keen on the wildlife but for a jaded tourist it was great.

The carriage was clean, contained everything we needed and the bed was comfortable.

It was reasonable value for money and I would go again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JacktheLadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    24
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
26
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed in one of the rail carriages for 2 nights and it was a wonderful experience. Not just for the accommodation but the location too was excellent.
The farm is located a few minutes drive from Dunsborough and is set out really well. As well as the carriages there are cabins and cottages but they are all set out to ensure privacy and you really feel like you have a huge area all to yourself. We were greeted by Milo the friendly red dog when we checked in and we were pleasantly surprised to find really great facilities within the carriage itself, all clean and working to a high standard. We enjoyed sitting out on the veranda with a hot drink before introducing ourselves to the miniature horses and alpacas.
If you stayed here with kids they would absolutely love it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

A unique and fabulous getaway just outside of the centre part of town. The rail carriages were clean, fully self contained with a VERY comfy queen bed, all cooking utilities and a fridge and a nice flat screen TV. Surrounded by bush and nature, we were given freshly laid eggs from the chooks in the mornings and food to feed the kangaroo's who visited in the afternoon. There were also very friendly ponies and llamas to feed. A great place to stay for a night or a week as a couple or family!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Pet friendly and we knew the location to be quiet and peaceful, and the price suggested we should expect clean and comfortable accommodation. However we were badly let down. The cottages need maintenance. Threadbare carpets in the bedroom and cracked light switch covers. Paint peeling off the walls. None of this would have been so bad if at least the cottage was clean. The floor tiles were dirty, crockery had not been cleaned properly and walls and ceilings had several bloodstains from swatted mosquitoes. The bedside tables and lamps were covered in dust and cobwebs. Given the extent of mosquito infestation one would have expected the rooms to have repellent available – fortunately the nearby shops stay open quite late! We will not return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JSM_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We had an event in the MR area and decided to make a long weekend of it but, as school holidays had just started, many places were already booked out. Fortunately one of the carriages was available and it turned out to be a good find.

The location is only 3km from town, 2km from the beach but very quiet. There are five carriages, well spaced out on a grassy area looking out into woodland. As expected, the carriages are long and narrow (2.2m x 12m?) but roomy enough and comfortable. When we arrived we had to navigate through a flock of very tame chickens, and there were a couple of resident kangaroos chilling out nearby.

Not a luxury resort but if you're after a clean, quiet and comfortable base with a country feel, this fits the bill.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RTWer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

The rail carriages are very different. The location in the countryside is excellent. Sat on the porch with a glass of local wine watching the kangaroos and the birds was a pleasure. The place was peaceful and quiet, and visiting Geographe Bay and watching the whales was an extra pleasure. We went to Cape Naturalise whale lookout and saw about 20 whales passing the point. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the carriages were clean.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mazzamamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

We had such a great time at the Dunsborough cottages. We originally planned to stay in the rail carriages for fun but decided we needed a bigger kitchen so upgraded to one of the cottages (actually a full size house) and could have stayed on there for a week or two. So much to see in the area and this was a great setting off point, knowing we'd come back to our snug house after a day of exploring caves and going to wineries. We'd sit by the wood stove with our newly purchased vintages enjoying a nice meal.(The kitchen was fully furnished) We had a daily visit by the resident kangaroo, Tinkerbelle, who delighted our son to no end. The skies were full of stars and it was so quiet at night - we slept like logs and woke in the morning to the cries of the kukkuburra (sp?) The rail carriages were charming and romantic perfect for a couple who doesn't want to do a lot of cooking.
We will definitely stay there again the next time we are in Australia!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunsborough
8.0 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
1.6 mi away
Dunsborough Central Motel
Dunsborough Central Motel
#2 of 2 in Dunsborough
196 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Dunsborough
Ramada Resort Dunsborough
#3 of 20 in Dunsborough
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bayshore Beachside Resort
Bayshore Beachside Resort
#1 of 20 in Dunsborough
219 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kerriley Park Farmstay
Kerriley Park Farmstay
#15 of 20 in Dunsborough
46 reviews
6.1 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunsborough Rail Carriages & Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunsborough Rail Carriages & Farm Cottages

Property: Dunsborough Rail Carriages & Farm Cottages
Address: 123 Commonage Rd, Dunsborough, Western Australia 6281, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Dunsborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Dunsborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunsborough Rail Carriages & Farm Cottages 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunsborough Rail Carriages & Farm Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing