We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whalers Cove is Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whalers Cove Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Whalers Cove is Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Had such a wonderful time at Whalers Cove.. stayed in the pioneer Villa.. When we came back to Dunsborough we shall be staying here again, the service is wonderful, the location is spot on and the villa are so comfortable to stay in . Lovely hot showers , enjoyed the foxtel movies too, which was a different way to start a day at breakfast time, watching moves.. thanks heaps it was awesome..
Have been to Dunsborough many many times over the years, stayed in a few places . Nice to have a change and try some different accommodation The villas are beautiful, so very very very clean and equipped with everything you need. Love the cute lil laundry's you have also, very handy when u start to run out of clothes. Thanks for providing such a lovely place pioneer Villa is a credit to the owners and thanks to the managers who provide a lovely service of looking after you to a T!

Room Tip: Go on the internet to choose the room you would like to stay in... they all look so lovely..its a ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laceysholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhalersBeachfront, Manager at Whalers Cove Villas, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
What an amazing review and thank you very much. We have 17 villas in our letting pool and all are individually owned so everyone of them is different. All of the villas are furnished and provide everything you would want to be comfortable. We agree that when booking it is important to look on our website and see which villa would suit your needs as not all have Foxtel or wood heaters and they all have different bedding configurations. We also now have free WiFi which is a necessity in today's age!
Thank you again and we'll see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    27
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
81
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Whalers cove. The room was fantastic, very clean. It had everything in it that we needed.
We walked everywhere as it was close to town and the beach.
The managers were fantastic, very friendly and helpful.
I would recommend a stay here to anyone as facilities would suit families or couples.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhalersBeachfront, Manager at Whalers Cove Villas, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are fortunate to manage a beautiful complex such as Whalers Cove where we have villas suitable for everyone.

We look forward to your next visit from "sunny" Melbourne!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

The accommadation was out of this world. The view was magic and so peaceful especially when viewing the ocean from the tower ( with the wonderful staircase) . The area is beautiful and the customer service was spot on . We look forward to returning to whalers cove in the future .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 79irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhalersBeachfront, Manager at Whalers Cove Villas, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are the closest accommodation to the beach in Dunsborough and, yes, the views are spectacular from our beachfront villas. Villa Neptune has the best views and it is always great to see our guests sitting on the verandah gazing out to the beautiful bay.

We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I invited my overseas friends for a holiday down south after a hectic week in Perth and stayed at the Halycon. The villa was on the beach front and everyone was awed at the view and the amazing sunrise. The kitchen was very well equiped and we enjoyed cooked breakfast and dinners. We even hosted a BBQ party for 20 when my relies joined us for dinner. They were more impressed with our accomodation than theirs up the road. The rooms were spacious, big living area and the dining table massive! I recommended it to my friends and will definately come back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Wasabi10_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhalersBeachfront, Manager at Whalers Cove Villas, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
It was a pleasure to host you in Villa Halcyon with your overseas friends. Our beachfront villas have outstanding views (even for those who want to get up for the sunrise!!). At certain times of the year it is a spectacular view of the moon rising over the Bay as well.

We look forward to your company again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed in Villa Neptune early this year an absolutely loved it. The villa is clean, spacious and has enough bedrooms for 2 families. The kitchen looks out to a awesome view of the tranquil Geographe Bay and is equipped with everything you need for an easy and comfortable holiday. The gas hood BBQ and the large outdoor setting made those balmy nights picture perfect.

The rammed earth and high ceilings made it very cool and there was plenty of space to relax. A big plasma TV, DVD, stereo and with books and games to enjoy it keeps everybody entertained.

Grassed lawn and trees between the villa and the beach makes it ideal for the kids to play and the path along the beach is the perfect setting for walking or bike riding. The bay in front of the villa is shallow and you can walk out for miles or just sit and relax.

Whalers Cove is a great complex and Villa Neptune's beach front location is so picturesque and peaceful yet it is a short distance to the shops and restaurants.

Just fabulous and so relaxing!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhalersBeachfront, Manager at Whalers Cove Villas, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Wow... what a great review!!! Villa Neptune has the prime position of all of our beachfront villas with uninterrupted views of the Bay.

it is a great villa to sit outside and watch the world go by. If lucky, when there is a full moon we have our own "Stairway to the Moon" as the moon rises up over the bay leaving a stunning reflection on the calm waters.

Thanks again for the review and see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were a couple and two singles and stayed in a three bedroom villa back from the beach. My room was not comfortable, with a lumpy single bed and no bedside table or lamp. At this price I do not expect to have to get out of bed to turn the light off! There was not a full-length mirror in the whole place, just over-sink mirrors in the bathrooms. The living room furniture and the kitchen, in particular, looked dated and tired and the cheap hollow doors and faded paintwork were depressing. Outside, the patio had not been swept and the table was dirty. In the bathroom, just two tiny cheap bits of soap. Not luxurious, not very pleasant and not again...!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhalersBeachfront, Manager at Whalers Cove Villas, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. This is the first time we have received such comments. We will take on board your feedback and instigate some changes to the areas of concerns raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We are a couple who live in Chicago. Our daughter, son in law and 2 grandsons were visiting Dunsborough from Shanghai. we needed a central place for a family reunion.
This house "Villa Lexington" filled the bill. It was right on the beach, nicely modern with and lovely furnishings. Very easy and yet luxurious living. I believe other villas have a bathtub and I would have liked one here, but that is a minor notion. Just buy groceries , move in and start living...
Superb!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillybundanoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhalersBeachfront, Manager at Whalers Cove Villas, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
How lucky we were to have you select Whalers Cove for your family reunion - especially spread so far apart from the USA to China!

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and that Villa Lexington was the perfect villa for your family.

It is a long way to come but hopefully you will return one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunsborough
6.2 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
6.4 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lanterns Retreat
Lanterns Retreat
#1 of 4 in Dunsborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Bayshore Beachside Resort
Bayshore Beachside Resort
#2 of 20 in Dunsborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dunsborough Central Motel
Dunsborough Central Motel
#2 of 2 in Dunsborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Village Resort & Spa Dunsborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whalers Cove Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whalers Cove Villas

Property: Whalers Cove Villas
Address: 3 Lecaille Ct, Dunsborough, Western Australia 6281, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Dunsborough
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Dunsborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whalers Cove Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest accommodation to the beach in Dunsborough. Our absolute beachfront location makes Whalers Cove Villas the perfect choice for couples, groups and families. The 2, 3 and 4 bedroom villas are free standing, private and have a friendly village-style atmosphere. Dunsborough is the gateway to the Margaret River region where you can experience fine wines, restaurants, beaches, shops and other recreational activities such as golf and fishing. The villas are walking distance to the local cafes and shops. Please note that we do not accept Leavers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Whalers Cove Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whalers Cove Villas Hotel Dunsborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing