We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay at the Halycon - Dirty” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whalers Cove Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Whalers Cove Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't stay at the Halycon - Dirty”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

The cutlery, and pots and kitchen utensils were dusty some not even cleaned properly. We were unable to cook breakfast as the nonstick frying pan was peeling and gross. The sound system radio for indoors and outdoors was not working. There were cobwebs everywhere. I did complain to the Manager but she said that they were about to do a spring clean on all the villas, and that the Halycon was going to be renovated at the end of the year. Not good enough and way to expensive for what we got.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JanetDPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhalersBeachfront, Manager at Whalers Cove Villas, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
As Managers we encourage all feedback, both positive and negative, and we use this information to maintain the high standards expected of Whalers Cove.
Our resort has been rated very highly by most of our guests and we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at Whalers Cove. We pride ourselves to ensure our villas are cleaned to the highest possible standard and consequently we undertake a rigorous spring clean every 6 months.
We will always assist any guest’s requests to replace or fix any problems that are reported during the stay.
Your feedback is appreciated and we will use this information to ensure our villas are prepared to the highest possible standards for all of our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    27
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
79
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

This was our second stay in villa (Koskorora) at Whaler's Cove Villas and if we didn't have family who live down the road on Geograph Bay, we would be regulars.

We visited with our relatives who were visiting from Switzerland. They have travelled extensively throughout the world and were overwhelmed by the experience, describing it as "a little bit of Heaven on Earth".

Friendly and welcoming service, a gorgeous villa - self contained with all that one needs, set amongst stunning gardens makes for a relaxing stay. The location on the pristine shores of Geograph Bay along with it's close proximity to the Dunsborough township, Yallingup Beach, art and furniture galleries, wineries etc just adds to the experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MWS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2010

Location, location, location is not the only reason to stay at Whalers Cove Villas. The individual styish, fully furnished accommodation is a must see. No drab, generic , hotel/motel prints and furnishings in these Villas. Cleanliness and comfort are second to none and the Villas are suited to couples and extended families with children of all ages. As to value for money,I can say my family, friends and I rate the accommodation as champagne quality on a beer budget. We occupied 5 of the Villas for family and friends who where attending my daughter's wedding and everyone of the adults intends to book the Villas again, with a view to staying so that we can experience all seasons in this Magnificent Accommodation. The Managers are professional, charming and welcoming. Our stay was alas, over too soon. Thankyou Management and Staff.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annieofreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

We have been going to Whalers Cove with a large group for the past 7 years and they never fail to be anything but brilliant! Of course, we are the model group of guests - clean, tidy and polite.
Whalers Cove is the most perfect location in the world. Located a step away from Geograph Bay, a moments drive from some of the best beaches in the world and right on the doorstep of the Margaret River wine region. Why would you buy a New Zealand SSB when you can support the Australian wine industry and buy local.
The surfing is brilliant, and the beaches, perfect.
Whalers Cove is in a perfect location. The beaches are right there and the cool town of Dunsborough is a 5 minute walk away. Good take aways at your door or great fooderies to feed in if you can't be bothered cooking.
We loved it and will always go back.
Thanks Pam and Nicki!
From: Western Whalers Footy Club
Ruggered and Buggered
(We're old but not too old - yet)

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDarkMare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

The holiday villas at Whalers Cove are all magnificent, each different in appearance on the outside, with their own aquatic names, and the grounds are beautifully maintained. It’s secluded area offers privacy and once we got inside our holiday villa, we were impressed with it’s space, beauty, comfortable furnishings and not least, the magnificent views facing out to the sea. Beyond our villa's well-kept grassy lawn we were on the small beach where our kids played and paddled in the calm sea. We spent mornings and evenings just sitting on our patio drinking our Margaret River wines while the kids played and we enjoyed the calmness and spectacular sunsets. There was a BBQ area around the other side of the villa although we didn't use it (we ate out mostly).

Inside our spacious villa, it was well equipped and furnished. Two of the four bedrooms had beautifully dressed 4-poster beds (gorgeous duvet-covers, matching cushions) and our master room even had star-lighting on the ceiling! The kids enjoyed sharing a room with comfy bunk-beds and we all slept really soundly.

The dining and living areas were large and open-plan and we lit the log fire each night (because it was winter) which kept us nice and cosy and we even enjoyed some Australian tv too! The real-wooden kitchen was terrific and looked out onto the patio and beach beyond. We also had a utility room with washing/drying facilities and a nice jucuzzi bath for a hot soak at the end of the day.

Each morning while the kids played on the grassy area right outside our villa (on the beach-side as the front also had a small garden area), we watched people passing by who were out for their morning walk with their dogs/kids … and we had to go for this inviting-looking walk too, which we did to discover that it goes right by the sea and up along the coast for quite a bit, we don’t know how far as we never made it to the end of this pathway. When we chose to walk the other direction, in towards the town of Dunsborough which was only 5 minutes walk from our villa, it had everything we needed. The pathways were all well-maintained and tree and shrub lined giving it a lovely shaded and country feel.

Bunker Bay and Meelup are not far away so there’s no shortage of beaches in the region and because it’s a cove (which you’ll see on the map) there was shelter so was protected from winds, which for us ideal for us, being a winter stay.

Just outside the town of Dunsborough is the local golf course which we passed no matter what direction we were heading – Busselton is on one side (about 30 minutes drive) and the Margaret River wine region is on the other side of the golf course (starts immediately and goes on for miles and miles, so many wineries, all fantastic). We spent several days driving through this magnificent wine region and enjoyed the experience of actually tasting the wines made at that vineyard (some of which we recognized from the shelves back home!) and to be able to purchase own wine there was novel …. But you can also buy them at any of the local bottle-shops too. Nicer to get it right from source though.

Even though we were less than three hours from Perth city, this whole area had a very different feeling to it. There is a lot on offer here, for all ages and interests. The Tourist Office in the town is very helpful and we highly recommend Whalers Cove for anybody seeking a beautiful, relaxing break away from the city and near the famous Margaret River region – it’s got it all here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2010

My wife and I travelled to West Australia with our 6 month old daughter for our first family holidays. We stayed at Whaler Coves for 7 nights in September 2009 and absolutely loved it.
We had a two bedroom villa with a terrace and BBQ pit.
I will describe Whaler Coves as an elegant villa resort with a perfect location. Villas are spacious and the garden is tidy and well-maintained.
Location is excellent as it’s at a short stroll from the beach (50 meters), a 10 minutes by walk from Dunsborough downtown where you find a butchery, bakery, shopping mall and a 20 minutes drives from Margareth River Wineries. Hence the ideal place to visit the area and come back for the beach or your infant/baby naps….
I will definitely recommend this place for family holidays or romantic gateaway in the margareth wine area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Romain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

Excellent location for a quiet holiday in the Margaret River area. Beachfront property, although only a few of the bigger units actually face the sea. It is in a beautiful setting, and the property is very well maintained. Clean, functional, units come with a variety of room/bath combinations, and lots of space in the living / dining areas. Car porch parks just one car. It's close to Dunsborough shopping, and yet very quiet and secluded. There's a big supermarket in town and other shops that provide all holiday needs. Internet available at own cost.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tikenlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunsborough
6.2 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
6.4 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lanterns Retreat
Lanterns Retreat
#1 of 4 in Dunsborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Abbey Beach Resort
Abbey Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Busselton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dunsborough Central Motel
Dunsborough Central Motel
#2 of 2 in Dunsborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
36.7 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resort & Spa Dunsborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whalers Cove Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whalers Cove Villas

Property: Whalers Cove Villas
Address: 3 Lecaille Ct, Dunsborough, Western Australia 6281, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Dunsborough
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Dunsborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whalers Cove Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest accommodation to the beach in Dunsborough. Our absolute beachfront location makes Whalers Cove Villas the perfect choice for couples, groups and families. The 2, 3 and 4 bedroom villas are free standing, private and have a friendly village-style atmosphere. Dunsborough is the gateway to the Margaret River region where you can experience fine wines, restaurants, beaches, shops and other recreational activities such as golf and fishing. The villas are walking distance to the local cafes and shops. Please note that we do not accept Leavers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Whalers Cove Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whalers Cove Villas Hotel Dunsborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing