We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay!”
Review of Lanterns Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lanterns Retreat
Ranked #1 of 5 Dunsborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My partner and I found the manor an absolutely beautiful experience! A very lovely, cosy and intimate B and B. Newberry Manor is very home like, warm and inviting and to mention again very cosy! We were very impressed at the size of the bedroom, being quite spacious and nicely decorated. The bed was very big and comfortable and warm with the electric heating blanket. The bathroom was just absolutley fabulous! Large with double basins and a beautiful big spa. The living area is just adorable and the interior decorating makes the manor very welcoming. We were so pleasantly delighted the next morning with our breakfast and the breakfast room! We enjoyed a delicious fresh home prepared breafast in a beatifully decorated breakfast room. Such a delicious, wide range of stuff to choose from on the menu. Sally and Serge were the best hosts ever and we really cannot wait to go back and stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sascha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewberryManorWA, Owner at Lanterns Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

And we really cannot wait to have you guys to stay again ... it was fun!! Thanks for the review - see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 435 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed for a winter weekend and the welcome from Sally and Serge was warmer than from the fire in the lovely guest lounge. That set the tone until when we had to (reluctantly) leave. The bedroom was large and beautiful, and impeccably prepared and equipped, and the spa was wonderful as well. The breakfast was absolutely gorgeous, especially the breakfast trifle, which was as lovely to eat as it was to look at. If you are a couple heading down to Dunsborough you can't do better than Newberry Manor

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewberryManorWA, Owner at Lanterns Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

It's great you enjoyed your escape from the kiddies! Thanks for taking the time to write us this wonderful review :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed overnight and were delighted to walk into a luxury warm fire lit manor. The room was fully equipped with all that you could want. King size bed and luxury appointments. The spa was great. The service was excellent and the breakfast to die for. Sally was wonderful. Thank you for your hospitality. We'll be back for a longer stay. Phil & Marie.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhillipBunbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewberryManorWA, Owner at Lanterns Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

We're so glad you had a lovely relaxing time and that you'll be back for more! Many thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My husband & I had the opportunity to come to Dunsborough for a night to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. Due to work commitments and having a young family we could only manage one night and were so happy the Newberry Manor was flexible in offering one night stays.
As soon as we arrived we were greeted by Sally who was warm & welcoming. Our room was beautiful and cosy and she had thoughtfully baked some mini muffins (which were yummy!) and written us a lovely 'Happy Anniversary' card.
The location is so peaceful & quiet & we managed an afternoon sit in the sun with some tea & biscuits.
Breakfast was my favourite! We both loved it, home cooked perfection. I had the caramelised banana crepes & my husband had a full cooked breakfast (bacon & eggs with the lot).
Everything about the house has had plenty of attention to detail, it is warm & inviting and Sally is a most gracious host.
We loved our very short stay and know that next time, it will hopefully be for much more than a night!

Room Tip: We had the corner bedroom (Rose Spa Suite) which is great for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewberryManorWA, Owner at Lanterns Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

It was an absolute pleasure meeting you guys - look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at Newberry Manor for a night in July 2012 & had an amazing time. We had a spa suite which was an absolutely gorgeous room & Sally, the owner, did everything she possibly could to make our stay perfect. For breakfast in the morning, Sally went out of her way to cater for me as I'm a vegan & made something seperate to the menu which was absolutely delicious. Couldn't have asked for a better B&B & service & I recommend Newberry Manor for anyone wishing to stay in Dunsborough.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollyj88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewberryManorWA, Owner at Lanterns Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thanks for your wonderful review - really glad you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you again (I found some rather lovely vegan recipes last week so you'll have to check them out for me!) .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed only for one night when at a wedding in Dunsborough. Great central location with very comfortable rooms. All amenities you could want and a great breakfast. Highly recomended and will stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewberryManorWA, Owner at Lanterns Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thanks for your lovely review. We're looking forward to seeing you again whenever you head down to Dunsborough - hopefully next time to escape for a little R&R!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights hoping for a romantic get away and were not disappointed. The room was immaculate and gorgeous. The spa was amazing and a home cooked breakfast was the best way to start each day before heading off to visit the wineries. Would gladly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunsborough
5.8 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
24.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
759 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dunsborough Central Motel
Dunsborough Central Motel
#2 of 2 in Dunsborough
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bayshore Beachside Resort
Bayshore Beachside Resort
#1 of 19 in Dunsborough
238 reviews
6.2 mi away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Yallingup
180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Meelup Bed & Breakfast
Meelup Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 5 in Dunsborough
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanterns Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanterns Retreat

Address: 16 Newberry Rd, Dunsborough, Western Australia 6281, Australia (Formerly Newberry Manor)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Dunsborough
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dunsborough
Price Range: $131 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lanterns Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanterns Retreat is a luxuriously appointed lodge situated in the heart of Old Dunsborough, within easy walking distance of the town centre and beautiful local beaches. Guests enjoy exquisite suites with ensuites. Complimentary port and chocolates await, plus a log fire in winter. A la Carte cooked and continental gourmet breakfast options are available as an add on to the rooms and are freshly prepared on request every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lanterns Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing