We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable motel room with ensuite.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Donnybrook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Donnybrook Motel Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Donnybrook
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 1 night and were very pleased. We were early leaving Perth to come down so we called Eileen to ask if it would be ok to check-in at 12pm instead of 2pm with no problems at all.
The rooms are a little out dated but very clean and the shower is to die for, with a strong massage shower head. A great place to stay and would have no problems staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colinlee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen S, Owner at Donnybrook Motel Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Donnybrook Motel Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 82 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

We wanted somewhere for a one night stay on the road, the Donnybrook Motel Motor Lodge provided just what we needed - a clean and comfortable motel room with ensuite. The room was a reasonable size, with a queen sized comfortable bed. The fridge worked well and was quiet. The shower had plenty of hot water. Good quality sheets and towels. I think the (mid-brown, furry) carpet and (brown and green/white) tiles had been there since the room was built in the 70s... a bit worn, but they were clean. We didn't swim, but the pool also looked clean and there was a bbq available as well. Eileen was very helpful, responding to my enquiry quickly and giving us a quiet room. A good bet for an overnight stop.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the highway, there are lots of trucks going through early in the morn...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank setenaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen S, Owner at Donnybrook Motel Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review it helps us to know what our guests are thinking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Make no mistake about it, the sole purpose of this visit was to allow our 6yo and 3yo to play at the adjacent Apple playground. What the Donnybrook community has provided for young travellers is amazing. They have obviously thought it through, luring the kiddies in close to catch mum and dad in the spider's web. Good for them though, I hope it pays itself off in many times over.

First impressions of the motel were the well manicured gardens around the 4 buildings having four rooms each. There probably isn't a lot of choice in town without researching B&B's outside of the main street but we were there for the kids and with a 7&1/2 month pregnant wife we needed to be close to the playground (it's about a 200m walk but the main street is busy to cross).

I was greeted by Eileen at the front desk. Her friendliness is exactly what you'd expect to find in a small country town. Check-in was quick and we were soon into the room. The room itself was dated but clean, with a double bed, single bed and third single mattress placed on the floor as a special request for our 3yo. This saved us having two rooms. Amenities included a small flat screen tv, bar fridge, tea & coffee, toaster (rare these days) and probably ironing facilities but we didn't need these. There were spare blankets in the closet.

The bathroom is very compact, but just workable enough. Beds were ok but I was not a fan of the primary pillows, which felt like they weighed several kilograms and were super firm. I later learnt my wife had a soft, lumpy pillow which I would have traded for had I known earlier. There was an old wall-mounted air conditioner but we didn't use it.

Fortunately we arrived during a quiet period as our room was not very sound proof, clearly hearing the noises next door but it was an adjoining room so it may have been the door rather than the walls. Truck noise at night on the nearby highway (which the motel is on) is noticeable but the trucks are not that frequent. Perhaps request one of the rooms down the back of the property which are probably 13-16 (we were in 4).

We opted for the $16 p.p hot breakfast which seemed reasonable (we didn't dine at the motel's dining room so cannot comment on that).The room was about $130 for the night which I am guessing is sort of middle of the road for what you get. What the room lacks in terms of modern facilities is made up for by the friendly staff in my opinion. How many other places will you find grandma holding a newborn grandchild in one hand whilst printing off bills with the other?

The main street is several hundred metres long with shops on one side and the railway line /service stations and of course the Apple playground on the other. On the Monday night we had the choice of Eagle Boys pizza and over the road a fish & chips shop that apparently also does burgers and pizzas. Directly over the road is a Gull service station that also is a fresh fruit and vege store. You can't beat locally grown produce at your doorstep.

Should we choose to treat the kids to Apple Playground again we would likely return to this motel for it's convenience and friendliness.

Room Tip: Rooms 13-16 are farthest from the adjacent highway which runs through town. You may wish to also req...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michaelv976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen S, Owner at Donnybrook Motel Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for your review it helps us to know what our guests are looking for and how to make their stay comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have been staying here for the past 3 weeks as I have been working in the area. I have to say that i am more than happy with the accommodation and hospitality! The rooms are comfortable, neat and tidy. There are out door cooking facilities, plenty of parking spaces. The people running the lodge are extremely kind, friendly and caring. I would recommend this lodge to anyone passing through the town.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Torzliutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen S, Owner at Donnybrook Motel Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thank you for your feed back it gives us pleasure to help guests in any way we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, we found it to be comfortable, affordable and our hosts were extremely helpful and friendly. The whole motel is clean and tidy, and the pool was fantastic. I would reccommend this motel to anyone looking for accommodation in and around Donnybrook. Thank you so much for a lovely few days away.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen S, Owner at Donnybrook Motel Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Thank you for your review greatly appreciated and informative it helps us to know what people
are looking for when staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed here on several occasions while we were building our new home nearby (we travelled down from Perth about 7 years ago now) and although I think it now has new owners it was always clean, tidy and grounds well-maintained and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone travelling this way and wanting somewhere nice to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 303heatherlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Greatly appreciate your comments we always like to hear feed back it helps us to maintain our standards.
Cheers
Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We where riding the Mundabiddy cycle trail and wanted a clean, affordable and preferably friendly place for a good nights sleep, hot shower & a good meal.
Donnybrook Motel Motor Lodge was spot on, they knew about the trail and catered to all our needs with no fuss. Top place to stay for a night of recovery, Thanks I would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Aparently the rooster next door woke my companions at 3:30, I found it quite relaxing to listen to...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Les P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen S, Owner at Donnybrook Motel Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2012

Thank you for kind remarks all feed back is gratefully received, my apologies for rooster waking you up at 3.30am. Old Macdonalds Farm (travels to the shows) needed somewhere to stay overnight as trip back to Perth late at night was too far.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donnybrook
20.3 mi away
Mantra Bunbury Hotel
Mantra Bunbury Hotel
#1 of 9 in Bunbury
1,014 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hotel Lord Forrest
Hotel Lord Forrest
#4 of 9 in Bunbury
376 reviews
19.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Admiral
Comfort Inn Admiral
#6 of 9 in Bunbury
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Ocean Drive Motel
Ocean Drive Motel
#8 of 9 in Bunbury
77 reviews
18.9 mi away
Bunbury Apartment Motel
4.6 mi away
Country Charm Retreat B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donnybrook Motel Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnybrook Motel Motor Lodge

Address: 26/28 South Western Hwy, Donnybrook, Western Australia 6239, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Donnybrook
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Donnybrook
Price Range: $2 - $2 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing