We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent motel with good restaurant attached”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dongara Hotel Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dongara
UK
Level Contributor
215 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Excellent motel with good restaurant attached”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Clean and tidy motel room with smallish bathroom and efficient shower - fine for our purposes. Good on site restaurant which is VERY popular with the locals so necessary to book a table at check in. Busy at weekends so not the place if you are looking for a quiet meal. Breakfast also very good - and efficient. Would use again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMarpleInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    27
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
12
28
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, Scotland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed here on our way up to Karratha and it was reasonably clean and comfortable. The room was a bit dated and the shower room could have done with an overhaul but there was a fridge, TV and AC/Heating unit. We didn't have a meal as we had already eaten before we arrived but the dining room was full and the food looked tremendous.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsgetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
230 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed here overnight last week on our way back to Perth and found the Hotel very picturesque with a lovely large out door courtyard area. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the dinner we had was just delicious and a good size meal. The Motel room was very spacious, clean and comfortable.
Dongara is a lovely place to visit with interesting walks and a beautiful beach.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

My wife and I stayed overnight here on a driving trip from Perth. The rooms are nothing special, but this is a motel in Dongara. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Dongara is an interesting place and this is a great place to stay when visiting. The meals in the bar are great, and the beers are cold.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mundo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Stayed one night en route to Kalbarri. Room had kettle, toaster, some crockery and cutlery so came in handy at breakfast time. Was expecting a microwave and a bit surprised not to find one. The decor and shower were a bit dated but clean and tidy. The shower had an interesting 'quirk' (both taps were blue so one might think they were both cold water taps). Dined in the restaurant. Very very busy Sunday and staff said it was unusually busy for a Sunday possibly because of the long weekend in Western Australia (last Mon of Sep is when we celebrate the Queen's Birthday). Interesting 'set up' in that there were clearly tables already available, patrons who booked hadn't turned up but the staff took us to another table which they cleaned. I had the salmon with mashed potato and steamed vegies. Perfectly cooked and delicious. Friend had the snapper, scallops w/ chips and salad. Fish slightly overcooked and sauce may have over-powered it, but still enjoyable. FREE WI-FI, which delighted us both and made us think, if a small country motel can offer this, what about large hotel chains?! Staff busy but friendly. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sapere_aude828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2010

We stayed at the Dongara Hotel on Saturday night to get out of the city for a weekend. It's an easy drive to the relaxed coastal town of Dongara. I've eaten at the hotel before and was really looking forward to having the Surf & Turf again. We had a long, leisurely lunch in the front courtyard. Lovely weather, a couple of beers and good food (huge servings). In the afternoon we wondered around town and took a walk to the beach (the hotel is well located). The room was comfortable and very clean. The staff are warm and friendly. It was a very enjoyable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaomiR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Hotel room is basic, a bit tired/ dated, but clean and has everything you need for an overnight stay. Bed was comfortable. WiFi internet available, but not when we were there, due to some problem with the hotel connection to their provider.....hence the unsure rating for free high speed internet access.
Restaurant meals were large, reasonably priced and "pub" quality, that is, not what I would rate as restaurant quality.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WayneC6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dongara
0.3 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dongara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaspray Beach Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Old Mill Motel Dongara
Old Mill Motel Dongara
#1 of 2 in Dongara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dongara Breeze Inn
Dongara Breeze Inn
#3 of 4 in Dongara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dongara Tourist Park
Dongara Tourist Park
#1 of 4 in Dongara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
1.2 mi away
Port Denison Beach Resort
Port Denison Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Port Denison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dongara Hotel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dongara Hotel Motel

Property: Dongara Hotel Motel
Address: 12 Moreton Tce, Dongara, Western Australia 6525, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Dongara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dongara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dongara Hotel Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Dongara Hotel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing