We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to relax in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grange on Shadforth
Ranked #3 of 17 Denmark B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Grange has now become our favourite place to get away from it all. We stayed for 5 nights this time and as usual, Jenny and Philip made us so welcome. The ambiance is spectacular. This would have to be the best maintained B&B we have stayed in. Everyhting is spotlesss and every effort has been made to make our stay very comfortable. The views are also spectacular across the valley. Eveyrthing is so green and colourful. Plenty of spacious parking. Inside the rooms are large and the en-suites are clean and fresh.

We were also amazed that we were able to have eggs for breakfast (any way you wanted them cooked) with our continental breakfast. Philip's scrambled eggs are to die for. I noticed that all of the other guests were impressed with them also and so Philip was inundated with orders of scrambled eggs for the next five mornings and always served with a smile. Thank you Jenny and Philip for ensuring that our stay was comfortable and relaxing. We will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, but the two rooms overlooking the valley is the first choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calender9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 51 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed in The Grange for two nights. The property is kept immaculately and is located just off a main road but sufficiently private for any traffic to be unnoticed. Our comfortable room was spacious with a comfortable bed and a pleasant view over the garden and valley beyond.
Jenny and Phil made us very welcome from our introductory phone enquiry and always provided excellent information on the most interesting aspects of travelling through the region. Each morning breakfast was served at a family-sized communal table which encouraged generous conversation with the other visitors at the time. Breakfast was provided from an well stocked buffet with options of egg dishes brought to the table. There were tea and coffee facilities in the room as well. We had only two nights available to stay in this convivial atmosphere but we gather that many people stay longer and simply relax in the pleasant environment.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a room with a view over the garden and valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed four lovely nights during a wedding in Denmark back in February. Jenny and Phil made us feel very welcome the whole stay - they were helpful in every setting from pointing us to the good restaurants in the area, to setting out iron board for us on the day of the wedding. Our room was neat and clean and re-made every day. We will never forget the amazing breakfast prepared every morning and the port wine and amazing star sky in the evenings! The perfect place to stay for relaxing and a great starting point for exploring the great wines and areas around Denmark!

We really hope to come back one day.

PS. Silje loves the home made cookies and says she is willing to travel all the way back to Australia just for tasting them one more time! :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We enjoyed two relaxing and comfortable nights at the Grange. Jenny and Phil were welcoming, attentive hosts and readily provided advice about places to visit. Bedrooms, lounge and dining room are prettily decorated in traditional, pink, floral style with fresh flowers too and everything is well ordered and everywhere was scrupulously clean. The ambience is quiet and restful and there is a notable absence of TV or computer in the lounge, (which we thoroughly approved of, guests can always retire to watch TV and DVD’s in their bedrooms.) The Grange sits at the top of a steep scarp and there are stunning inland views from the veranda. The breakfast was superb and stylishly served in the dining room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights (28/29 sept 2011) and found that the Grange had everything we needed. It is in a lovely spot just outside Denmark, the room was large and very comfortable (including the Bed), everything was spotless. The continental breakfast was more than enough for us and Jenny and Phil were excellent hosts. They recommended the Buddha Bar in Denmark as a good place to eat (about 5 mins by car) and they were not wrong - excellant food at very good prices. We would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iantobedfordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

This was one of the best B&B's that we stayed at during our trip to the south of WA.
We are at a complete loss to understand the comments made by the previous reviewers.
The location is fantastic, lovely spacious rooms, great breakfast, and incredibly lovely hosts that went out of their way to assist us with things to see and do, and where to eat etc.
We loved seeing the cows grazing in the back paddock, the port and chocolates each night were a lovely way to end our day.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunslingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Previous reviewers have rated the Grange highly. This demonstrates one of the weaknesses of Trip Adviser since we all have different needs and wants when it comes to accommodation. We were very disappointed to the extent that after moving in we immediately tried to find alternative accommodation - but nothing suitable was available.

Our disappointment centered on the sterile atmosphere provided for guest entertainment. The the guest lounge is spacious but has bulky pieces of leather furniture. The overall theme of decoration might be described as 'old English'. There is no TV or radio in the lounge and although there is s fireplace the hosts did not light it (it was winter), however there was a gas fire in the adjoining room. The TV in the bedrooms is 'postage stamp' size and, as an elderly couple, we could not see it clearly when in bed. There is no radio or clock the bedroom. We found the queen size bed a bit hard on our arthritic joints.

No complaints about the magnificent views or the attentiveness of our hosts. Jenny was very helpful and provided a radio for us in the guest lounge room after we explained that we missed the ABC music program.

A fully cooked breakfast costs extra which is a bit rich after a rate of $175 per night - after all it does advertise itself as a 'bed and breakfast'.

All in all - more attention to guest facilities and inclusion of a fully cooked breakfast in the room rate would work wonders.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AUSSIETRAVELADVISER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grange033, Owner at The Grange on Shadforth, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

The above review of our accommodation left us stunned and quite puzzled, as at no stage of their stay with us did they convey that they were in any way less than satisfied with their surroundings.
We will try to address their grievances.
Firstly we are extremely sorry that their stay with us was not up to their expectations, if only they had at the outset told us of their concerns re the accommodation we would have gladly given them a refund and tried to help them secure more suitable accommodation for their wants and needs.
Addressing the comment of sterile guest entertainment in the lounge. Our lounge is purposely designed to be an area of complete relaxation in tranquil surroundings with stunning rural views and gentle music playing in the background, should guests wish to watch T.V./videos then these choices are available to them in the privacy of their own rooms without disturbing other guests as not all guests tastes are the same. Also there are numerous books and magazines to browse through.
With the fire being an open fire, for obvious safety reasons cannot be lit at all times, If only they had mentioned that they would have liked the fire to be lit, we would have been only to happy to accommodate their request.
Re the furniture in the lounge, this is in fact a beautiful leather lounge suite plus chesterfield designed with guests comfort in mind and lends itself well to the lounges spacious proportions.
Re our decore, we like to think of our colour scheme as very warm and welcoming, a fact that has been highly commented on by many of our guests over the last 16 years and very well suits our colonial style accommodation
The "postage stamp"size T.V. in the bedroom is an adequate 48cm, well place on the wall for good viewing and can be adjusted to different angles.
Re no alarm clock, we do find nowadays that most guests use this facility on their mobile phones.
However we would have been happy to loan them a clock or supply a wake up call.
Re the hard bed, all our beds are OrthopaedicDelux beds and all comments over the years have been very positive with many guests actually enquiring as to the make with view to possible purchase.
Lastly re no cooked breakfast, we do serve an extensive continental breakfast with choice of eggs, which we call a light cooked breakfast and looking at the breakfast menu on our website gives potential customers a chance to see exactly what is offered in the price, also the website gives a comprehensive rundown in words and pictures of what each room contains re facilities and type of furniture our accommodation offers.
While we do our very best to please our guests all of the time, it is not always possible to please everyone and for that we do offer our most sincere apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denmark hotels
0.7 mi away
The Koorabup Motel
The Koorabup Motel
#1 of 3 in Denmark
168 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sensational Heights Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
31 on the Terrace
31 on the Terrace
#2 of 17 in Denmark
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Chimes Spa Retreat
Chimes Spa Retreat
#3 of 33 in Denmark
220 reviews
2 mi away
Gumnuts Bed & Breakfast
Gumnuts Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 17 in Denmark
30 reviews
8.6 mi away
William Bay Country Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange on Shadforth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange on Shadforth

Address: 404 Mount Shadforth Rd, Denmark, Western Australia 6333, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Denmark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Denmark
Price Range: $169 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in a tranquil setting, set high on Mt Shadforth with stunning valley and mountain views, relax in our elegantly appointed country retreat.4 spacious ensuite rooms, guest dining and lounge.Walk to first class restaurant. Ideally located for The Tree Top Walk Beaches and Albany just 4 kms from town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Grange on Shadforth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing