We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top notch city establishment in the country”

Kirby’s at Rickety Gate Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 39 Restaurants in Denmark
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Irish, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Top notch city establishment in the country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

There were 6 of us celebrating a birthday and what a relaxing lunch. The food was delicious albeit we did have to wait a little longer than was optimal. The shared plates were well thought through and the gnocchi was superb - fresh, tender and sublime. Paired well with the pear salad. Thanks Jacqueline and Frederick, so out of the ordinary for the Great Southern!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cgwsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline_Kirby, Manager at Kirby’s at Rickety Gate Restaurant, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for your lovely words and for your patience and understanding over the busy Easter/ANZAC period - it sure was wonderful to be supported by soooooo many over this peak time and we are truly sorry you felt your wait may have been a little longer than ideal.
Our town goes from 5,000 to 24,000 people over Easter and we tried our utmost to keep up with the demand, you and your guests were such lovely patrons and we very much enjoyed looking after you.

It was a pleasure to spoil your guest for his birthday and we do hope to see you all again in the future,

Warm Regards,
Jacqueline and Frederick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    19
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mouth Watering”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Wow we love this place! Firstly service is fantastic we see so many businesses that lack this simple principal and courtesy! Thanks for your emailed reply when we tried to book a table. Disappointed to hear you were fully booked but being persistent you managed to make a table available on the deck. Lovely outlook could sit here all day! Enjoyed the gnocchi as an entree, so fresh and tasty one of the best we have had. Mains were lamb shank and chicken again delectable and cooked to perfection. The wines we found so many to our taste! A hr of wine tasting and 18 bottles later to take home, what a wonderful way to enjoy our afternoon. Russell and Linda we thank you for the experience and will be keeping you on our list for future wine orders. Keep up the great work!! Your love and passion for the industry shines through. Marcus and Elizabeth Good

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elizabethj73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline_Kirby, Owner at Kirby’s at Rickety Gate Restaurant, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and persistence to join us over what was truly a very, very busy Easter/ANZAC period - seeing our town come alive during this time is a real treat and we do try very hard to look after as many as possible without compromising on service.

Your kind words sure did make us smile and we thank you for sharing your experience.

Our choice to base 'Kirby's' at Rickety Gate was based on the exceptional customer service and passion Russell and Linda deliver in Cellar door every single weekend. We are a little biased, but we too believe Rickety's wine is an ideal match for Frederick's cuisine.

We hope to see you both again,
Warm Regards
Jacqueline and Frederick Kirby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Marvellous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Our third visit to this restaurant since Christmas. Consistently outstanding food and service. With the Winery and tasting to match the food it was again a sensation. Without a doubt the best dining in the Great Southern. Lost for words -Just fantastic!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank collie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline_Kirby, Owner at Kirby’s at Rickety Gate Restaurant, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
We very much enjoy spoiling you each time you dine with us and we thank you for your numerous visits.
Each time we get to know our guests more and more upon return visits, we smile and could not be more chuffed that so many have returned to us. It sure has been ever so lovely to get to know you over the last few months - where has the year gone??

We look forward to seeing you again and thank you for sharing your experience,

Warm Regards
Jacqueline and Frederick Kirby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth the trip out of Denmark for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stumbled on this restaurant at Rickety Gate Winery a bit outside the picturesque town of Denmark. We were enticed to eat at Ricky's on viewing a varied menu. We started with a 'shared plate' with lots of different and tasty mouthfuls, - fish cakes. pulled pork, a delicious pate, a small cup of a pumpkin soup and more. The mains we chose were a grilled (to perfection) red emperor and a perfectly cooked steak (the steak knife was unnecessary). The wine list is limited to Rickety Gate wines, but good value by the glass, which is important for luncheon. The staff were helpful and friendly, without being intrusive. If you are passing through Denmark at lunchtime, detour to Ricky's.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kidman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline_Kirby, Owner at Kirby’s at Rickety Gate Restaurant, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
We are delighted our menu enticed you to dine with us whilst in Denmark and we thank you for your kind words.

Our taste plate, red emperor and fillet of beef certainly were our most popular dishes on our Autumn menu - lovely to read you enjoyed each course and to the point you have taken time to share your experience.

We do hope to see you again should you return to our side of the country,

Warm Regards,
Jacqueline and Frederick Kirby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointed - Dodgey Review Here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We visited the Rickety Gate after seeing such wonderful review here on Trip advisor.
We were 4 adults and 1 child.
The restaurant was empty the whole time we were there which makes me suspicious of the number of good reviews seen here.

Firstly - The prices..
You cannot order separate meals - Its 55 dollars for 2 courses OR 75 for 3 courses.
With these prices - you should expect the best.

2 of us ordered the fish (Red emperor with potatoes).
The fish was so overcooked - it was dry and curled up on the sides. The potatoes were dry and overcooked also - almost tasted reheated to be honest.
My wifes meal even had a sheet of baking paper in it :) I will upload the picture later if i am allowed.

Our entree which was a tasting plate was very boring and minimalistic. The pate was so bad - i doubt anyone could have eaten it.

The other 2 adults ordered the duck which was better but nothing to write home about.

We were not asked if we enjoyed our meals - so we were not able to feedback the quality of our meals.

We were also forced to buy bottled water since my wife was pregnant and could not drink the rain water provided.

The aftertaste left in our mouths was sooo horrible, luckily we had some tomatoes in the car to remove the old smelly fish taste that lingered.

I usually don't write too many reviews but I could not overlook this one. A place with such poor quality food cannot get such consistantly good reviews - I just don't believe it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank stuartgps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaq_Kirby, Owner at Kirby’s at Rickety Gate Restaurant, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Firstly, we thank you for your feedback and as a new restaurant we welcome all comments positive and negative.

It saddens me to read of your experience, I personally offered our best table in the restaurant upon your arrival which is located in our cellar door area overlooking the beautiful vineyard views however this was declined- this area was full and limited tables then opted to seat in the main dining room as per your selection.

I approached your table three times to ensure your little son was content and presented him Nemo sticker books along with colouring in books and our house made children's menu with items such as mini fillet of beef, house-made chicken goujons etc for your consideration (I won't mention his name however I do recall how super sweet he was and we referred to him by name a number of times). I am sorry that on each of my visits to your table and checking on your experience that you did not raise any aspect as we would have promptly tried our utmost to rectify.

We offer chilled, filtered rainwater and source quality Voss glass bottled water from Norway ($4.2 a bottle) as an alternate and many, many of our guests are thrilled to be presented filtered rain water - it is unfortunate this was not to your liking and we understood your wife was expecting and therefore given we are a country location, we are not on town water to provide a third option for your consideration.

Each and every aspect of our menu from stocks, sauces, breads, desserts etc is prepared by our Executive Chef and fresh daily, our Red Emperor is our top selling main and our Tasting Plate our top selling entrée (as per many previous reviews).
I recall on the day your taste plate featured 5 options and was accompanied by chef's house-made chicken liver pate with Shiraz jelly, caramelised onions on traditional Irish soda bread - each weekend we sell out of our take-home pate and Irish soda bread as many diners enjoy and request to experience again at home, sorry this was not to your to your liking.

Each of our previous reviews are genuine reviews by guests wishing to share their experience with others and we have a number of reviewers who have returned multiple times (one particular reviewer 8 times since December and another 5 times) - I am sorry to read you question the feedback of previous guests and that your experience was not to your liking.
If you were located within Denmark we would of course invite you to return so that we could strive to deliver the experience many others enjoy, unfortunately given your location this is not an option for us to offer.

May your future visits to our beautiful town be more memorable than your dining experience with us and accommodation review whilst in Denmark and we wish you all the best with your pending arrival,

Best Regards, Jacqueline and Frederick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kirby’s at Rickety Gate Restaurant also viewed

Denmark, Western Australia
Denmark, Western Australia
 
Denmark, Western Australia
Denmark, Western Australia
 

Been to Kirby’s at Rickety Gate Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing