We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and service”

Pepper & Salt Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 39 Restaurants in Denmark
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: It's been a full circle for Silas and Angela, who in 2007, along with their children, Marley and Levi (Lumeah was born in 2008), packed up their life in Victoria and headed to Denmark where Silas had been offered the position as head chef at Forest Hill Vineyard. With his passion for locally sourced produce combined with his love of spices, Silas' dishes became a big hit. Fast track to 2010 and Pepper & Salt Restaurant was born! Silas' creativity with herbs and spices produced an outstanding menu that showcased his Fijian-Indian heritage, and with Angela and the team's friendly and attentive service, Pepper & Salt Restaurant became a favourite amongst locals and tourists alike. In 2013, Silas and Angela welcomed the opportunity to relocate their restaurant from Rockcliffe Winery to Forest Hill Vineyard where they continue to develop creative dishes paired with excellent service.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We spent the Saturday of Australia Day weekend with mates including kids at Silas' fabulous restaurant. We were made to feel very welcome and the food and service throughout was first rate. The lawn outside gave the kids enough room to run around and that meant no stress for us parents.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Siri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    48
    13
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Not worth all the hype”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

After reading all the rave reviews, my husband and I decided to give this resaurant a go. Its a little way out of town and at local winery, its not open all that often so you have to try and book a table in advance. I cant say we were greated in any special way, seems head of service wasnt up to speed on our visit, may have been just a bad day for her. In fact it seemed like the whole restaurant staff were on a downer.
The food was nice but I wouldnt say it was the best I have had. I feel it was very expensive for what it was and definatly not worth all the hype.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michelley3464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dessert on Oz Day”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Arrived late in the day, great desserts and cheese platter, great service. Silas is a hoot (Head chef), great view.

We have been here a few times before, the food is 5 star for WA, and close to, if not the best in Denmark. They actually really care here. Don't just read the reviews, drop by and try the wine and see how busy it is rather than read too many reviews, then you will be able to see why this place books out all the time.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pepper and Salt Restaurant”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Beautiful setting overlooking the vineyard and top quality food from a chef we were pleased to meet and compliment. Highly recommended

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pure bliss”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Having dined at Pepper & Salts previous location during our last Denmark visit & knowing how superb the experience was... We were bursting with anticipation to dine not only once but twice this time around at their current location (Forrest Hill). From the moment we arrived our expectations were met in grand fashion. The menu is exquisite (awesome children's menu that is lovingly designed with input from Silas & Angela's children!), the food portions are generous to say the least & the flavours are outta this world... The staff are efficient, friendly & knowledgeable and the wine list allowed us to food match beautifully. Executive Chef Silas & his gorgeous Wife & Partner Angela are the heart & soul of this stunning restaurant. Their passion for all things spice, food & life made our memories all the richer. Cannot wait to return when possible!! Highly recommend to book so as not to miss this extraordinary culinary experience that will/leave you wanting more! Thank you Silas, Angela & the team @ Pepper & Salt!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeLee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepper & Salt Restaurant also viewed

 
Denmark, Western Australia
Denmark, Western Australia
 

Been to Pepper & Salt Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing