We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveler rating
40
19
5
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
19
5
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews working farm camp kitchen fire pit camper trailer caravan camping new owners powered site local attractions per night farm animals wilson inlet jo walpole farmstay sites fires fridge
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 68 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Only stayed 3 nights in the Spa Chalet but will definitely be back for longer next visit, the Chalet was clean and tidy on arrival and it even came with chocolates on the pillow :) Gaile is such a pleasure to talk to and was very warm and welcoming on arrival and departure, will be highly recommending to friends and family for sure

Room Tip: the Spa Chalets are well worth it ;)
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayJay2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyrSailean, Owner at Ayr Sailean, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

So pleased you enjoyed your stay and I enjoyed our chats. Look forward to seeing you next time you make it back this way. So much to see that certainly 3 nights is not enough. So sorry the weather turned on some of the worst we have had in many years, but then there is still plenty to do and see even when it is raining. The wildflowers over the next few months will be spectacular after all this rain.
All the best. Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our stay at Ayr Sailean in the Wool Cottage was a great experience. Jen really went out of her way to make as feel at home and comfortable. The Cottage is fully function and fully equipt with everything you need and clean. We had a very relaxed time on the farm, and could appreciate the farm style living waking up with fresh air every morning. We would recommend this place to anyone at any time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haveabreak255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyrSailean, Owner at Ayr Sailean, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. Wool Cottage is certainly a comfortable unit, especially for the cold winter evenings, having a wood fire as well as the reverse cycle air con. A true farm experience for those that want it. I will pass on your review to Jen. She will appreciate it. She is a gem.
Kind Regards,
Gail
Ayr Sailean
www.ayrsailean.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have stayed in the cabins here twice and hope to go back again very soon. It is one of the most welcoming places we have ever stayed with out four legged child. We have been fortunate to arrive at times when the site is quiet and have had the luxury of truly enjoying the peace and beauty of the place. If you enjoy a clean, comfortable bed, good showering and laundry facilities and a fantastic camp kitchen then this is the place for you. I can't wait for the family to take our next trip south. Thank you for a wonderful stay and a big hug for the dog.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyrSailean, Owner at Ayr Sailean, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Hi Kate, Thank you for your kind words. We built the cabins to give folk a more affordable option and are very pleased to hear we have achieved. So pleased you enjoyed your stays, and look forward to seeing you next time you make it our way.
Regards,
Gail
Ayr Sailean
www.ayrsailean.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Sooooo Good!
Such a gorgeous area of Denmark.
Me and a friend booked an unpowered tent site for a night and had such a good time.
The camp kitchen was great. Free Eggs (when available in the fridge) Free BBQs, cutlery, plates and mugs etc. Clean and spacious shower rooms.
We had our own area at the bottom of the field over looking an amazing Denmark landscape.
We were allowed to make a campfire in the stone rings which kept us warm all evening as the frogs croaked off in the distance.
This is a working farm so the couple that run it are super friendly and really relaxed about payment on time. We arrived with no one in the office and were able to set-up the tents and go out all day with no troubles and paid the low price of $20 total for a big tent site.
No one was around us on the site so it made for a great evening.
Definitely recommended

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 500Ben500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyrSailean, Owner at Ayr Sailean, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thank you Ben for your kind review. We enjoy being able to offer a true camping experience in a safe and picturesque environment. Being at the heart of the Walpole Wilderness, makes us central to so many attractions, all within no more than a 1/2 hour drive. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ayr Sailean when you are able to stay a bit longer to see all of the other attractions the area has to offer, or just plain relax in our tranquil surrounds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We booked a cabin at Ayr Sailean to take a break from setting up our camper trailer which we are travelling in.
Cabin was basic but functional. Bunk bed with double underneath and single on top, and a single bed with a trundle bed. Large fridge/freezer, cupboard and bench, fan & heater, and outdoor table & chairs on verandah. Good value for money.
Beautiful setting with great views. Bush, pastures with grazing animals, large granite rocks that the kids thoroughly enjoyed climbing on.

Very large & well equipped campers kitchen, plenty of seating, hot plates, 2 microwaves, 2 fridge/freezers, large amount of crockery & cutlery provided, also sign on fridge saying Free Eggs when available. An oven would make it even better.
Ablution block was quite modern and spacious, also have a disabled bathroom.
FREE washing machines which we thought were great.

Owners friendly..Not far from Walpole for shops if you need them & other attractions in the area. such as Peaceful Bay, Dinosaur World, Tree Top Walk, etc.

Overall enjoyed the stay and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire n Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyrSailean, Owner at Ayr Sailean, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback and if you think we could do something to raise your scoring of us to a 5, we would love to hear back. Happy travels and look forward to seeing you back our way again sometime in the future.
Regards,
Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews