We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sensational and natural....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denmark
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BIG4 Denmark Ocean Beach Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Sensational and natural....”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed at the Ocean Beach Caravan Park in our caravan for a week in early January. We booked around August and we were very lucky to get in. On arrival we were helped by a couple of other campers to set up our van, we had an elevated site and wanted to turn our van around to capture the ocean glimpses. Undoubtedly the most important thing in a caravan park is to have a good shower and this park has the best ever. The ablution block is new and modern and it more than coped with the significant number of people at the park. Although many campers were there, it never felt crowded, they were all well behaved and the kids felt safe. There is absolutely no need for a pool as nearby there are some of most pristine beaches anywhere in the world. Just a short walk is the river mouth and on an incoming tide it is just sensational. A little further on is a patrolled surf beach. A short drive away is Greens' Pool, a natural lagoon surrounded by ancient granite boulders and lined with pristine white sand. The hosts Mandy and Micheal run a tight ship and given the number of guests they coped extremely well I thought. The park store keeps the basic staples of bread, milk, papers, ice, bait and so on. It is a little way into town so that was much appreciated. The grounds are kept green "n" clean, there are plenty of activities and ample freedom for the kids to wear them out without ever having to leave the park. On our departure Mandy asked if they could do anything better. My only response was to make guests aware of the difference between the bore water taps for the sprinklers and the drinking water taps. The bore water has a rather unpleasant smell and taste. Possibly the source of the compliant from another writer to this blog. Micheal said he would look in to it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvhperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    56
    13
    4
    8
See reviews for
104
53
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We have stayed at this caravan park for many years now. We have watched it improve over time, with the major improvements being the big, new ablutions block, camp kitchen with 3 kitchenettes and large island food preparation bench. (My preference would be to have no TV in there...but you can't please everyone). One of the biggest changes has been the new managers (who have actually been there a few years now) - Mandy and Michael. They ensure the place is very well run. Our most recent visit, January 2014, we were there the last 2 weeks of January. The first 1.5 weeks were very busy, with the Australia day weekend being super busy. There were many people there who attended the Surf Life Saving comps held in Denmark this year. They were all up for big parties the night after the main event but we were amazed that they were all finished by 10 pm! A credit to the caravan park and the various SLSC clubs. Despite the large numbers, people respected the 8 kph speed limit, making it very safe for all the kids on bikes scooters etc. So cute to see a large 4WD patiently driving behind a little kid on a trike who was completely oblivious to holding it up.
Shortly after the long weekend, numbers dropped dramatically and it was lovely to experience more peacefulness.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimzieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementOceanBeach, Manager at BIG4 Denmark Ocean Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Mimzieb.,David B, Amber, Barker Bob, Miken Gail, DM and Kayakers 2013,

Thank you kindly and from the bottom of our hearts for taking the time to post reviews. Your kind words were used as ones of encouragement and motivation to not only us both but the entire staff as a unit. Thank you again for those who mentioned myself and Michael by name, and thank you for getting to know us by name. I am always aware that we are only small part of a very competent team who contribute in no small way to the success of Denmark Ocean Beach Holiday Park as a premier holiday destination. Thanks team DOBHP!

Thank you to David B who told me his review was written to represent all the happy campers who return year after year and certainly enjoy a wonderful time whilst they are here but never write a review. Perhaps it could be said they vote with their bookings. David, I loved the sentiment just as much as the review. Thank you also, to all the folks who return yearly and who are returning for summer 2014/15.

To that mind bookings are open for summer and filling fast so please secure you holiday in paradise as soon as you are able. Do not forget Denmark is also a different kind of lovely out of season!

Thank you for making our park also your park. It's been an absolute pleasure to serve you this season.

Mandy and Michael Barton and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Just got home today from 2 week family holiday at this Big 4 Park. Managers Michael and Mandy bent over backwards to assist our large group move to a more suitable location. Ablutions are modern, large and well cleaned. Excellent camp kitchen, large, grassy sites. Tennis courts, bouncy pillow and mini golf kept the kids amused. This park is located close to Ocean Beach and 7km from town - we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed at the beginning of January and we were impressed from the very beginning. Our site was large enough for our big tent and shade shelter and was shaded by a big tree. The ablution blocks were always clean and tidy and we rarely had to wait more than a minute or two for a shower (if we had to wait at all). The paved roads were perfect for bike riding for the kids and people driving kept careful eyes out for the little ones riding. A big bonus for the kids was the playground and bouncy pillow and we were impressed by the free tennis and mini golf. We were very impressed with the care shown for the patrons when a storm was brewing and also for the gentle reminder that the time was nearing 10pm. The location is perfect - close to many beautiful beaches and the Wilson Inlet. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My family and I stayed in a Chalet for a few nights. The chalet was well presented, clean and comfortable. We got a good nights sleep for the next days worth of canoeing and sight seeing. The location is very good for the beach and water activities. If you have a canoe you can launch it in Wilson Inlet which is directly over the road (no driving to locations etc.). Overall we had a very good stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarkerBob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundaring, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Travelling with young family and a group of friends. The sites we had were under the Peppermint Trees and they were very large. They were across from ablution block which was good for the middle of the night however due to the large numbers they just couldn't cope. The new ablution blocks were better but we had to walk a distance to get to them. They were continuously used and also really couldn't cope with the numbers. They also smelt bad. Whenever we reported a problem the caretakers did what they could but in reality, they just couldn't cope with the large numbers.
There were many foreign travellers who didn't understand the rules of quiet after 10 pm and this wasn't really enforced by the owners. we had to leave our beds and speak to the people directly which really isn't pleasant. Especially at midnight.
The activities provided were run by a religious group which didn't go down too well with many as they were worried there was going to be a church service if they attended.
I would go there again when there were less people and not on school holidays.
Lady at the front desk was quite rude on a number of occasions. Quite possibly the owner, not sure. Telstra reception was really bad as well.
Jumping pillow was good and the location is great with a walk to ocean beach easy although a short car drive even better.

Room Tip: Stay under the peppermint trees with the caravan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenP67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementOceanBeach, Manager at BIG4 Denmark Ocean Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear StephenP47,

Thank you for your review.

New Years Eve we always allow people the opportunity to celebrate up to midnight. This being the one night of the year the strict 10pm 'quiet time' is relaxed. We are a very large park and due to our popularity the campsite was full. We did not have a single incident which is expected with our 'family policy' and by 12.30 everybody was if not asleep then settled down to quiet chats. I am guessing not having visited over this period before you were possibly unused to a large number of campers settling in at night.
Michael is a constant presence of a night time, to ensure peoples evening pleasures do not impinge on others enjoyment. He patrols until the campsite is asleep and reports a well behaved camp over this period. We do not run a prison style curfew and folks do stay up talking quietly and enjoying a tipple or two.
Our custom over summer is largely comprised of repeat guests, all of whom understand the ablutions are cleaned three times a day and only emit a smell after a less than healthy guest visit. The ablutions are built to with stand constant pressure and as you can see from contributors to trip advisor are generally accepted to have coped very well. I'm sorry you feel your experience differed.
Scripture Union do an excellent job here. They have face painting sessions, a slippery dip, a free evening meal , movies and all manner of activities to keep guest children entertained. Everything is completely free of charge!! Being bereft of religious leanings I am always impressed and to a measure relieved that Scripture Unions 'beach Mission' is just full of lovely people doing good works without selling the 'good word'. These folks are extremely popular with parents and kids alike with many families returning every summer anticipating enjoying games etc organised by the group.
As stated we have been very busy indeed and it saddens me to think that our swift service could have been misconstrued as rudeness. Please do understand that we all are chatty, fun lasses who will talk the leg off a chair with you when it's quieter. During busy periods we are economical in our chatter to try and get your holiday started just as soon as we can but we love seeing you all here.
Looking forward to seeing your family again when things are quieter and perhaps more to your speed.

Mandy and Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Campbell, Australia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Sorry for the late review, but had to mention this caravan park, as it was one of the best, and Mandy and Michael put a lot of time and resources into making it, what it is. Looking around the grounds it is immaculate, and the grass so lush, and neat, well done guys, we arrived in very bad wet weather, not many guests in the park, hard to imagine it being full, as we had it so peaceful, and quiet. The amenities were spotless, and we cannot think of anything that needed improving. I could not imagine what the park is like at peak times, but off peak is heaven, and to have the amenities block to myself in the afternoon must be a very rare thing. So If traveling off peak we would recommend this fantastic park.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikenGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denmark hotels
4.6 mi away
31 on the Terrace
31 on the Terrace
#2 of 17 in Denmark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Denmark Waterfront
The Denmark Waterfront
#21 of 32 in Denmark
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aiyana Retreat
Aiyana Retreat
#2 of 32 in Denmark
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Koorabup Motel
The Koorabup Motel
#1 of 3 in Denmark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
7.1 mi away
William Bay Country Cottages
10.1 mi away
Sensational Heights Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Denmark Ocean Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Denmark Ocean Beach Holiday Park

Property: BIG4 Denmark Ocean Beach Holiday Park
Address: 770 Ocean Beach Rd, Denmark, Western Australia 6333, Australia (Formerly Denmark Ocean Beach Holiday Park)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Denmark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Denmark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Caravan Park Hotel Denmark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing