We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location for relaxed family holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denmark
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BIG4 Denmark Ocean Beach Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Have just returned from an 8 day stay at the caravan park in our camper-van (Mum, Dad and 2 teenagers). First stayed here 10 years ago and the changes made to this park are unbelievable! A huge amount of money and pride has been re-invested back into this park! Facilities are excellent, toilet/shower facilities are new and very clean (and there are plenty!!), bouncy pillow, tennis courts, beach volleyball, playground, mini-golf etc. Majority of the roads are sealed, lawns are lush and green (as opposed to sparse and sandy!) and there is plenty of shade. Heaps and heaps of room. Kids everywhere on bikes, scooters and skateboarding on roads. Park is about 9kms from town and a walk to channel (good for little kids) and Ocean Beach (patrolled beach, about 2kms) where we spent most of our time swimming and surfing and went to the Sundowner at the Surf Club on Sunday night. There is a sealed bike path running from Denmark to Ocean Beach. We were fairly well stocked with supplies and only needed to go to town twice for extra supplies or top-up, there aren't any shops between the caravan park and town. Spent one afternoon enjoying the casual atmosphere of Boston Brewery with beer, wine and pizza outside in the garden and playground and also noticed the park runs a shuttle bus to and from the Brewery. Great place to stay, would go there again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank em-a-lee1756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for BIG4 Denmark Ocean Beach Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 205 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

Being so hot in the city we decided to get away.We knew it was the school holidays but how bad could it be.We didn't mind kids and a bit of noise

The park is very nice and clean. A bit to far from town 8ks and half an hour walk to beach.need a car

During the day we didn't mind the noise. Kids on bikes,scooters and skateboards up and down
The bouncy castle is great

Come five or six at night the kids ran amok yelling and screaming throughout the vans and park
This went on until after 9.30 while we were there.
No matter how high we put the television up they seemed to get noisier

Maybe they should consider making a place for the kids somewhere where they can run around away from the vans

This spoilt our trip to lovely Denmark. Too many people in one park

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gail m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementOceanBeach, Manager at BIG4 Denmark Ocean Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Gail, Thank you for your review.
Ocean Beach Holiday Park is a wonderful destination for families over the school holidays. As you mentioned we have the ever popular jumping pillow and also a mini golf course, tennis and basketball courts, a beach volleyball area, a playground and a huge expanse of grass for a kids vs parents game of cricket or footy. These are all located by reception and set away from sites. Families often only get the chance to enjoy one holiday a year and the staff work all year to ensure we can offer the very best camping experience we can muster over this period. Personally, I find the childrens enthusiam and vitality infectious and I can often be found outside by the pillow watching the children and catching a dose of their delightful energy.
During summer school holidays we do enjoy an influx of older travellers too. Some are grandparents holidaying with 'grandies' and some simply enjoy watching kids, well, be kids.
Traditionally though our influx of grey haired nomads starts next week- when the children have donned their schoolclothes and returned to reality. The park is once again restored back to a tranquil, quiet haven where the only sounds you hear are the ocean, the quiet bouncing feet of the kangaroos and the cheerful boasts of fishermen (the salmon are running!) I love both times of year but I understand you would have been better suited to a visit starting next week. I do hope you will consider a return trip outside of school holidays when the park offers a whole other slice of perfect. Mandy and Michael Barton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in caravan, very clean, great facilities, kids love it (made for them) Huge Bouncey Pillow, tennis, basketball, volley ball, play ground, mini golf and sealed roads, so dont forget your scotter, skateboard and bikes. You can ride your bike back into town, 9kms, or down to the ocean beach, less than 2kms. This beach has surf life save club present, toilets and surf lessons, its great for boogyboarding. An inlet is accross the road and many fish and swim in it, this is on the way to the beach. Weather was perfect 25ish, a tip is to go to the beach in morning, as the sea breeze comes in lunch time and its not as pleasant. Great base to visit the area, lots to see and do.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hudsonhornet3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed from 26/12/12 to 6/1/13.
Ocean Beach is a great park, majority of the park is sealed roads and the camping sites are more lawn than sand and are shady which is a rarity we have found. The toilets are new and are very clean. Large campers kitchen, laundry has 4 washing machines & dryers ($4 a go and only take $1 coins). There is a shop on site that sells ice but also has the basic bread milk etc as well. Tennis Courts, bouncing pillow, play ground, volleyball courts all they really need to finish off the place is a pool. The added bonus was that there was a church group and they ran outdoor movies, slip and slides, face painting, story telling, and the highlight was the bush dance on New Years Eve, the kids (3,4 &6) had a fabulous time including the husband and we are not part of any religion.
The only negative comment I can make is that twice during our stay when we went to the office at 4.50pm to purchase ice the staff had locked the doors and were closed, when the closing time is actually 5pm. One lady pointed out through the glass to the staff member that it was not 5pm and eventually she opened the doors. Considering this is park accomodates so many people and they are in peak season it was little irritating however whenever the owners were on duty it was open till 5pm.
But overall the owners take pride in this park and you can tell and we will come back again.

Room Tip: If you have kids ask for sites closest to the bouncing pillow.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherrybom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campingmanPerth, Manager at BIG4 Denmark Ocean Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Cherrybom,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Denmark Ocean Beach Holiday Park.
I will certainly pass on your compliments regarding the grass! My husband, Michael, has what mildly may be described as a obsession with the growing and maintainence of the lawn. I am sure I will be announcing their impending nuptials at some later date!!
The Scripture Union do a wonderful job with their Kids Club and various other family activities just after Christmas through New Year.You are quite correct in stating that even those without any religious leanings certainly do enjoy the fun and games they provide. I'm excited to report that we have already secured their attendance for summer 2013/14.
I have not had a day off over this busy period and I attempt to close the office at 5pm - but not until the last guest has vacated the premises. I think where the confusion has arisen is that once the door is closed and I am balancing the till we do not open the doors for security reasons. I apologise if that appears as if we are ignoring guests but I'm sure you'll understand that it's absolutely neccessary.This is completed as quickly as possible so that we may attend to the business of looking after the park after hours. Perhaps it was a simply a case of our watches not being syncronised but be assured we are open at least until 5pm and most of the time considerably later. After hours check-ins can be arranged via the night phone.
Thank you once again for your feedback and patronage and we look forward to seeing your family at the end of the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We arrived just after Xmas and left early Jan, apparently this is not normally a good time to go as it usually rains most days. Late Jan-Feb is the best time for weather. in saying that we had great weather, it only rained the day we left. Mid 20-30s.

Being a Big4 It was clean and well maintained with great facilities. A little out if town (7km) but close to the beach (1km).

The tennis, volley ball and mini golf were free. They have a lge bouncy pillow for the kids too.

Free shuttle service to the Boston Brewery. food and service there was great. The local surf lifesaving club has a sundowner every Sunday 4.30-7.30pm (1km ride).

Local beach was lovely. Shallow and calm enough for little kiddies.

Lights Beach was close by (7km) and worth a visit.

Local Christian group put events on every day for 2wks (i'm not church). Not sure if that's an annual thing, it may have been right time, right place. Outdoor movies, slippery slide, dinner dance, pancake breakfast, volleyball.

Great camp kitchen in the main area and a few smaller satellite ones out back. Hot water, 2 large fridge/freezers, 2 x microwaves, 3 sinks, 4 large bbq's.

Front half has sealed roads. Back half dirt roads.

All in all a great time. We had 6 families. kids ranged from 4-13y.

Staff were helpful and friendly. I don't think you'll be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slim-AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campingmanPerth, Manager at BIG4 Denmark Ocean Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Hi Slim-AU,
Thank you for your very well thought out review on Denmark Ocean Beach Holiday Park. Thank you also for the kind words regarding the amenties and staff.The team are a happy bunch and we all enjoy a busy park and welcome the opportunity for a chat.
The Scripture Union have visited us with their wonderful activities every Christmas for over ten years. They will be back on the twenty-seventh of December and have all the events you mentioned and more on offer for no cost.
Thank you once again and I hope you still have some holiday time left to enjoy the perfect weather.Looking forward to seeing your group again in the near future. Mandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Hi,
Once again we have booked into Ocean Beach Caravan Park, and this has to be one of the best parks we have stayed in.
Staff are always friendly and accommodating when making a booking, as I am a FIFO worker so generally have very short time to organise a booking.
We have been visiting Denmark for over the last 14 years and been staying at Ocean Beach for over half that time.
The transformation of the Park over recent years has been phenomenal and facilities and ambiance are 1st class.
It was sad to see the old office disappear which had been there for many years, but the new office has now completed the transformation of Ocean Beach.
There are sites for everyone, from sites amongst peppy trees for campers to sites with all lawn or a concrete slab.
The ablution facilities are the best we have seen and the best is that when cleaning is done one half of the ablutions are open while the other half is closed for 24 hrs for cleaning and there is more than enough for the numbers at the park.
Lastly, our children have left home, but there is a fantastic playground for the kids and tennis courts.

Room Tip: Book amongst peppy trees for tenters/ campers; Sleepy Hollow sites 1 to 17 are good for a little bit...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Hi, my husband and I are travelling around Australia and with nearly 18,000klm travelled this has to be the nicest caravan park we have stayed in. It is a lovely location with plenty of activities and attractions around to keep most people occupied. The park itself is very clean and tidy, the sights are big and grassy and the staff are so friendly. I would highly recommend it.
Thankyou from Alan and Michelle Cadman.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denmark hotels
4.1 mi away
The Koorabup Motel
The Koorabup Motel
#1 of 3 in Denmark
161 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aiyana Retreat
Aiyana Retreat
#2 of 33 in Denmark
278 reviews
3.0 mi away
Karma Chalets and Karisma Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Surfside Ocean Beach Denmark Holiday Accommodation
7.1 mi away
William Bay Country Cottages
4.6 mi away
31 on the Terrace
31 on the Terrace
#2 of 17 in Denmark
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Denmark Ocean Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Denmark Ocean Beach Holiday Park

Address: 770 Ocean Beach Rd, Denmark, Western Australia 6333, Australia (Formerly Denmark Ocean Beach Holiday Park)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Denmark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Denmark
Price Range: $22 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Caravan Park Hotel Denmark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing