We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denmark
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BIG4 Denmark Ocean Beach Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This has to be one of the worst experiences with hotel management we have had. We originally booked two sites over the phone for the Easter weekend, but unfortunately two of our friends coul not make it, therefore we had to cancel one site. Assuming a quick phone call would get a refund was far from what happened. After the manager talking to my wife very rudely, she was told we would lose the entire 100% deposit!! (I have never heard of that policy before). It would have been appreciated if that was told to us over the phone when the booking was made. Then to rub salt in the wound we said we will try and find someone to use the other site, and the rude manager said we can't! And that she had already cancelled the booking. I almost fell over, this experience was getting worse by the second. This establishment really needs to look at its management team.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank perthaustins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementOceanBeach, Manager at BIG4 Denmark Ocean Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Dear John, Thanks for your comments. We here at Denmark Ocean Beach Holiday Park certainly welcome comments both positive and negative which assist in the quest of offering the best possible service. John, I agree it most disappointing to cancel a holiday fully expecting a refund only to find that is not forth coming. From my stand point I dislike being the bearer of this unwelcome news. When we recieve bookings our practice is to dispatch a booking confirmation which clearly sets out that refunds are not offered if a guest cancels within 28 days of arrival. This is very liberal in that guidelines suggest a 60 day policy. Understand at Easter and Chrismas school holidays it is even more crucial to enforce this rule. I was only alerted to your cancellation the Monday prior to Easter- a mere 4-days prior to our very busy Easter. As explained according to park policy a refund could not be offered. Sadly. I explained this on the phone ,and via several emails answering your emails. The email trail will attest to the fact that I was both courteous and extremely regretful. Upon your parties arrival I waivered the tariff on an extra person on your site and we loaned your our personal extension lead for your set up. A refund sad to say was not within our means and I do hope in some way you understand our stance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 206 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2012

Good campsite with very clean bathrooms. Kangeroos are at night arround the campground, nice for the kids. Good campsite with very clean bathrooms. Kangeroos are at night arround the campground, nice for the kids.Good campsite with very clean bathrooms. Kangeroos are at night arround the campground, nice for the kids.Good campsite with very clean bathrooms. Kangeroos are at night arround the campground, nice for the kids.Good campsite with very clean bathrooms. Kangeroos are at night arround the campground, nice for the kids.Good campsite with very clean bathrooms. Kangeroos are at night arround the campground, nice for the kids.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_Doe321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We were greeted by the nicest friendliest most helpful lady ever! She could not have been more pleasant. We got a huge amount of site options to choose from (unpowered) so we chose a nice shady spot under the trees at the back. Close to 'old' amenities which were perfect! Showers toilets and wash basins in their own little cubicle. Kept very clean. Loads of hot water.

Kitchen with BBQ fridge, sink, table, gas Hobs. Again perfectly clean and that was what they called the old amenities at the back. Only briefly glanced at the new stuff on our stroll around the site and they looked great.

They do tell u there is a free bus to brewery, but actually it stops at 4pm. Unfortunately we had ourselves all set for a trip but had to call a taxi instead. 20 bucks into town. No big deal! Might be worthwhile advertising that fact so people don't plan trips.

Beautiful beach across the road perfect for surfing and body boarding.

Super campsite. Denmark is the best place in WA as far as I'm concerned! greens pool and elephant rocks?! Wow!!! Cafe8 does a cracking toastie sambo btw with an excellent friendly staff.

We will 100% go back to ocean beach and would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IrishSailor08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Despite being in a great location their septic system overflows and therefore emits a horrible smell. We complained but they didn't offer us a refund and just said they we must have been in a "specific" area as no one else had complained. This we know is a lie as everyone we talked to said they would complain. When we left we all felt sick!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LongMacToppedUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campingmanPerth, Marketing, Sustainability and Accrediation Officer at BIG4 Denmark Ocean Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2012

Thank you for your review. We find it enormously beneficial to get feedback. We are very sorry that you had to deal with a terrible smell.

When we received an initial complaint we assumed that we had an overflowing septic. We duly sent for the plumber, who found no such problem. We then thought it may be the bore water we use around the park as it has a pungent odour.

On further investigation we spoke with a groundsman who has spent the last few summers here, he informed us that during peak periods, our back sewer system can emit a smell at the very rear section of the park, where you must have been situated. We had no idea this could occur as we are relatively new managers and have only been here over the quieter periods.

We are endeavouring to rectify this problem over the next few months and hope we will get the opportunity to see you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

My family and our guests from NZ camped at Ocean Beach Holiday Park for 5 nights over the New Year. We all had a great time despite a little bit of damp weather. The unpowered camping sites were lovely and shaded under trees. The camp ground was full, but this just made for a more festive feeling. Over the Christmas / New Year time there were plenty of activities for families and children, as well as lots of other kids for young children to make new friends. The office / reception staff were very friendly. There was also a free shuttle bus to a Denmark brewery which had lovely meals. The amenities were good, some older, some newer. The older toilet / shower blocks were always a little bit dirty, however I think this is because after your shower the user was meant to mop out the room but the water bucket was always dirty. Walking distance to a small swimming beach, and about 10 minutes drive from the centre of Denmark. Great park for families.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

My family and our guests from NZ camped at Ocean Beach Holiday Park for 5 nights over the New Year. We all had a great time despite a little bit of damp weather. The unpowered camping sites were lovely and shaded under trees. The camp ground was full, but this just made for a more festive feeling. Over the Christmas / New Year time there were plenty of activities for families and children, as well as lots of other kids for young children to make new friends. The office / reception staff were very friendly. There was also a free shuttle bus to a Denmark brewery which had lovely meals. The amenities were good, some older, some newer. The older toilet / shower blocks were always a little bit dirty, however I think this is because after your shower the user was meant to mop out the room but the water bucket was always dirty. Walking distance to a small swimming beach, and about 10 minutes drive from the centre of Denmark. Great park for families.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

The management mentioned in earlier reviews have moved on. The new managers are friendly and courteous and happy to chat when met in the Park. Arrival is a breeze with plenty of parking at the Park entrance and an undercover drive through if it is raining. The powered site are enormous with good quality grass and many have concrete slabs. The new ablution block is also enormous and is divided into two sections for men and two for women with heaps of showers, toilets and wash basins. There is a plentiful supply of soap and paper towels as well as blower hand driers. In addition to the powered sites there is acres of camping area and many on site cabins that are very well presented. The camp kitchen has a rustic feel about it but is well appointed and included under cover BBQs. There is a bouncy pillow, Put Put Golf, tennis courts and a playground to keep ankle bighters occupied. The Park is a comfortable walk to the mouth of the Inlet and the local Surf Clubhouse and beach.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken-Morna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denmark hotels
4.1 mi away
The Koorabup Motel
The Koorabup Motel
#1 of 3 in Denmark
163 reviews
3.0 mi away
Karma Chalets and Karisma Spa
4.3 mi away
Denmark Rivermouth Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Aiyana Retreat
Aiyana Retreat
#2 of 33 in Denmark
281 reviews
10.1 mi away
Sensational Heights Bed and Breakfast
4.6 mi away
31 on the Terrace
31 on the Terrace
#2 of 17 in Denmark
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Denmark Ocean Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Denmark Ocean Beach Holiday Park

Address: 770 Ocean Beach Rd, Denmark, Western Australia 6333, Australia (Formerly Denmark Ocean Beach Holiday Park)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Denmark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Denmark
Price Range: $21 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Caravan Park Hotel Denmark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing