We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Weekend Respite”
Review of Windrose B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Windrose B&B
Ranked #4 of 17 Denmark B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 30, 2012

A friend and I booked into the Forest Room for 2 nights over the Queen Birthday weekend - the room was minimal but clean and comfortable; I enjoyed two good nights sleep. Each room is decorated differently and ours had the "Forest Theme" which included photos of flora and fauna on the walls and chocolate frogs placed on our pillows. This room appears that it could be used by Disabled Persons - the bathroom is clean, very roomy and includes support rails.

We thoroughly enjoyed the warm hospitality that Anna and her family provide. Unfortunately my friend broke her toe during our journey from Perth to Denmark - Anna was able to provide her with Arnica cream and pain relief. Besides being passionate about her frogs Anna has some interesting stories of Denmark and its history; she can also advise you of the good places to eat or visit. (Ask her to tell you about the Monastery.)

My friend and I were impressed with the lovely home-cooked breakfast which includes several types of bread, including home-made sunflower seed bread that Anna makes fresh each morning, a plate of salami with cheeses, cereals, oatmeal, orange juice, yoghurt and fresh fruit. Anna also offers her guests eggs cooked to their liking, bacon,and German Sausages (Bratwurst and Debreziner).Breakfast is relaxed and so enjoyable - a wonderful way to start the day.

At the end of the day we spent several hours in the common room chatting with other guests and enjoying some TV. Coffee and tea are provided, but a bottle of wine and some good cheese and crackers really hits the spot. On the first night the weather was cold but Anna made sure we were comfortable and stoked the wood burning fire several times; she kept a good eye on us without being intrusive. She has a gift of making people feel cared for and is a thoughtful and sensitive hostess.

Denmark being a country town lacks the road lighting that a city girl like me is used to when driving at night. After returning from dinner at the Denmark Tavern it was dark and we found it difficult to find the driveway - in fact we passed it up. A lower B & B sign would make your light more effective, adding some reflectors or changing to a white flag would help to your guests better ID the entry.

Thank you Anna for a lovely, restful weekend. We hope to come back for another visit in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babs_DownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 58 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

It was difficult to decide on a rating for Windrose B&B. In many respects I wanted to give it a 4-dot rating but in reality, I have to be objective about my review and base it on comparisons with other establishments I've stayed in and on what I expect for the price-bracket.

The positives of this property:
- The host was extremely welcoming and clearly loves running her B&B
- The location is quiet, peaceful and relaxing
- We found cute little chocolate frogs on our pillows on arrival
- It was homely, rather than a big chain motel
- The breakfast is to die for
- Guests are more than welcome to while away the hours in the common room

The elements of the property that were average:
- The walls were thin; we could hear the guests two doors down speaking
- The beds are spring based with relatively thin mattresses; slat frames would have been quieter and offered less sag

All-in-all, this was a good B&B. My average rating is a high average. The Windrose is a homely and welcoming B&B in a peaceful and relaxed location with an amazing host.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windrose_Denmark, Manager at Windrose B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you very much for your positive review.
I am happy that you appreciate our efforts to make our guest's stay as comfortable as possible and take pride into our breakfast. Thank you also for your comments about the walls - it was your next door neighbours that you heard, I appreciate that it can annoy some guests. We are looking now into insulating the walls further so that we won't have any more problems with that. Thank you very much for initiating this renovation! We will also look into buying new mattresses.
Kind regards and thanks again
Anna Ramrath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this B&B, run by the delightful Anna. She was attentive and friendly but never intrusive.

We stayed in the Forest room which had a double bed and a bunk bed also. The rooms appear minimally furnished but we soon discovered that they contained everything we needed for a very comfortable stay. They also have lots of natural light which is nice.

Delicious breakfast featuring light options like fruit/yoghurt/museli, or a cooked option including some yummy german sausages. Fresh home baked bread as well - deicious!
Breakfast is served in the common living room which had a wood fire, TV and comfy couches. Perfect for relaxing with some local cheese and wine.

We would definitely return next time we holiday in the area!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed here two nights and wished we could stay longer. Unpretentious but c
Ean, comfortable in tranquil setting, Eco friendly, great breakfast - we planned to stick to the healthy muesli, great bread, selection of honeys but could not resist the temptation of beautifully poached eggs, german sausages, and crispy bacon - above all, wonderful hosts, friendly and war. Thank you, we certainly hope to be back

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sisjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We had the chance to stay in Denmark for 2 nights and booked a double bed room at Windrose B&B. Situated 5kms from Denmark, it is a peaceful spot in a beautiful and quite area - Wilson inlet and ocean beach are just a stone's throw away. Amidst of trees it is the perfect match for relaxation seeking people and on top of that it suits familie with children too with lots of space to romp around. A diverse breakfast is included and was the ideal way to start the day. Ann and Matt are lovely hosts and the atmosphere was warm and relaxed. The rooms are kinda unique as each of them is equipped and designed with a passion for details according to one of environment's elements: Ocean, desert, mountain and forest. We slept "in" the ocean but all the others looked gorgeous too. All in all we enjoyed 2 blazing nights. Thanks for everything. Stephan and Paula.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephan2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

My friend and I stayed here 2 nites from Dec 16-17, 2011. The B&B is in a beautiful homey surrounding, our room and the common lounge was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic, you can go healthy with muesli, fruits and yogurt or hearty with the addition of ham, bacon, eggs any style, etc. Anna the owner was an excellent host and suggested a great short 2 hour hike on the Bibbulmun Track, and a 1/2 day boat tour in nearby Walpole. Both turned out to be absolutely worthwhile and easy. The B&B is right between Denmark's famous Ocean Beach, Greens Pools and Elephant Rocks in William Bay and the town's tourist drive through the vineyards and cellar doors. Denmark and the Windrose B&B are both wonderful and we wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Sorry, there was no swimming pool or "room service" but swimming at Greens Pool was wonder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yllas51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Wow, what a wonderful place we stumbled across when we stayed at Windrose! Fantastic room with a welcome host, wonderful breakfast and enjoyable evenings with a glass of wine and frogs chorus. Thank you Anja for all the help and for a wonderful stay. We loved it so much we will come back!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maeve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denmark hotels
9.5 mi away
Sensational Heights Bed and Breakfast
2.4 mi away
The Koorabup Motel
The Koorabup Motel
#1 of 3 in Denmark
163 reviews
2.9 mi away
31 on the Terrace
31 on the Terrace
#2 of 17 in Denmark
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gumnuts Bed & Breakfast
Gumnuts Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 17 in Denmark
28 reviews
1.8 mi away
Karma Chalets and Karisma Spa
1.5 mi away
Aiyana Retreat
Aiyana Retreat
#2 of 33 in Denmark
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windrose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windrose B&B

Address: 6 Harington Brk, Denmark, Western Australia 6333, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Denmark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Denmark
Price Range: $121 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windrose B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Windrose B&B we look after you and the environment - a truly green experience in beautiful green Denmark.The Windrose is the perfect base to explore the magic south coast, giant trees and fascinating mountains of the Great Southern area. Relax at magnificent Greens Pool, admire the tingle giants or tackle the Bibbulmun Track and discover the unspoilt beauty of Denmark. Bibbulmun Track Transfer available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Windrose B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing