We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely 4 days.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Denmark
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karrak Reach Forest Retreat
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Denmark
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Lovely 4 days.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

The chalet was beautifully clean and all those little staples that you need (glad wrap, spices, tea & coffee etc) were provided which made staying for a short holiday very easy, even some milk and eggs were provided on arrival. The animals in the adjoining paddocks were a big hit with our 2 year old (sheep, cows, alpacas, lama, goat) and the woods on the other side had little tracks which made for a nice early evening stroll with the dog. The setting was very peaceful, with plenty of birdsong, but close enough to Denmark to not be inconvenient to pop back for something you forgot.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    7
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
26
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed from 24-28 Dec 2013. The hospitality shown by our hosts, John and Rhonda was outstanding. We have holidayed in Demark for Christmas before and never, until now, was the accommodation decorated for the season. A very nice touch. The place is secluded, yet close to every thing. The natural bush paths are worth the walk. Very tranquil. We had our dog with us, which is a plus. Totally recommend and plan a return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

My wife, dog and I have just returned from our wonderful holiday at Karrak. We have stayed several times before. We can't wait to get there & always are reluctant to return to Perth. The ants are part of the forest/farm environment, so it is understandable that a few find their way into the chalet. Just store food, especially sugar (fridge). Love the washing machine. We find Karrak the perfect place to holiday in the Great Southern. Mainly clean chalets in a beautiful farm environment. Dog friendly accommodation we love holidaying with our dog as he is part of our family. Well located not far from the centre of Denmark and very close to wineries and other tourist attractions. and John and Rhonda are the perfect hosts - friendly yet not overly intrusive. Our dog loves John

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Having stayed in numerous places in recent years all round the state,, our family sojourn in Denmark was enjoyed hugely.
Our hosts were most helpful before arrival and with their help, we had mapped out activities for some days. We were met on arrival and were impressed with cleanliness AND quite a number of thoughtful little extras. absolutely nothing to complain about and while no youngsters in our group, the animals and their carrying on was an enjoyable add on.
While communications all worked, there are some improvements afoot, I'm told.
Everything needed for cooking was exemplary and was a pleasure to be able to cook a good meal with all that was provided. I thank our hosts sincerely and look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: All good and with views of the valley !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

No one on hand to greet our arrival and no communication about what to do if that was the case. BAD START. Fortunately my iPhone had one bar of signal and I could get on the net, track down a mobile number and get on to the owners who were overseas! An unnecessary hour of anxiety and wasted holiday. We stayed at Karrak because of Max, our avatar, who is of the canine variety of children. This worked out fine although he did need a bath after less than 24 hours after he found a muddy creek. The setting is lovely and the chalets comfortable. We suggest that if the owners spent a few days living in their own accommodation - as we do with our French properties - they would discover a few things. Like the fact that low wattage bedside bulbs and opaque shades mean you can't read in bed, how much more useful a dishwasher would be rather than a washing machine, how cheap and nasty the cutlery is, how useless the cereal bowls are and how tiny the coffee mugs really are. They would change out the sofas after only one evening after becoming aware they are the world's least comfortable lounge furniture. They would review their information folder which, for example, has a lovely laminated review page on a restaurant that has packed up and moved elsewhere. We had to work out all the local knowledge about restaurants, wineries and beaches where we could take Max. I think that stuff should be in the info folder. Three stars at the moment but room for some easy improvement.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MosLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Chalet was not very clean on arrival and tea and coffee provisions were very sparse. Long life milk in the fridge was past the use by date.

Supposedly a dog friendly place but dogs cannot be left in chalet so we advise not to take them here particularly in the summer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dachsie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

We loved it, our small dog loved it, our small child did too
Our chalet was clean, warm, the beds comfortable and the appliances funtional. The forest at our back made for some fun short walks whetting our appetite for what the area has to offer. We all loved watching the ducks (with ducklings), llamas and cattle potter about below our balcony.
The only fly in the ointment was the promise in the chalet user manual that promised that the electric fences were switched off between 8 and10 each morning to allow easy access to the llama paddock. Dad checked prior to ushering the family through and was rewarded with a sharp shock to the arm - lesson; don't believe what you read in print. And walk round and use the gate!

Room Tip: the chalets all share the same slope and beautiful view. Looking from the outside the two uphill cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frithed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denmark hotels
5.2 mi away
The Koorabup Motel
The Koorabup Motel
#1 of 3 in Denmark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sensational Heights Bed and Breakfast
5.3 mi away
31 on the Terrace
31 on the Terrace
#2 of 17 in Denmark
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Aiyana Retreat
Aiyana Retreat
#2 of 32 in Denmark
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
4.8 mi away
Karma Chalets and Karisma Spa
7.6 mi away
William Bay Country Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karrak Reach Forest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karrak Reach Forest Retreat

Property: Karrak Reach Forest Retreat
Address: 103 Silver Rd | Scotsdale, Denmark, Western Australia 6333, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Denmark
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Denmark
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With magnificent views over the Scotsdale Valley, Karrak Reach Forest Retreat is a very special place which will appeal to those who want to experience the spirit of Denmark.Our chalets are architect designed & solar passive.Surrounded by 50 acres of majestic karri forest and rolling pasture, the property abounds with wildlife and birds.Well behaved dogs are welcome inside. Karrak Reach is situated in the heart of the Denmark wine district with easy access to all attractions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing