We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing”
Review of Chimes Spa Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chimes Spa Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Chimes resort to celebrate our first Anniversay we were looking forward to a nice 4 day break from work. We were both disappointed with the servcie and the rooms. We did have a nice view of the gardens but when we went to use the spa the taps were leaking and water was running down the tiles steps which caused them to be very slippery. we also had ants on the bathroom wall ... very disappointing that we had to pay extra for a hot breakfast which should have been included in the room rate. also the service was not up to standard with having to wait for dirty dishes to be taken from the tables before we were even served. Overall we will not be staying there again

Room Tip: Shop around for better service
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TeresaG121060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWOzChimes, Owner at Chimes Spa Retreat, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Firstly we would like to apologise to those guests whose stay was blemished by any particular detail that was overlooked by us, regardless if they were staying at normal rates or on a discounted deal. The service should be the same.
It is interesting to note that the posts oscillate from 'poor' to 'excellent' with little in between. This would suggest that we try harder on some days and don't bother to turn up on others. This must prove to be confusing to prospective visitors who use Tripadvisor. Let us assure you that we strive to provide the same level of service 365 days a year but are humble enough to accept that sometimes we perform below par.
We are not going to try and excuse those times where things have gone astray but we would like to respond to a couple of grievances:
Ants.
When it's really wet they come inside. They are attracted to any food left out - even an empty soft drink can. We have been unable to find a pest control company that can stop ants finding a way in as it's such a large building. It is a Winter problem.
Noise.
Earlier this year we built the second Hamam (Turkish Bath) in Australia. We restricted the tradesmen to a 9am - 4pm window to reduce annoyance.
Standards
We promoted the business through some discount websites ($550 value for $189). We misjudged the response and perhaps sold too many vouchers. The exercise also attracted guests whose sense of values is a little distorted in our opinion. Interestingly, most of the negative comments in the last 6 months came from people staying on one of these discount vouchers. Anyway we ran at 100% occupancy for a long period of time and admittedly might have dropped the ball on occasion. Apologies to those affected.
Maintenance
We are working through our rooms continuously - striving to keep everything looking good.
Staff
To the few people who have made unfair personal remarks about ourselves and our staff we think the comments say more about you than it does about us. We all care deeply about our guests and want to create a wonderful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    57
    21
    9
    8
See reviews for
8
166
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
perth
2 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Both my partner and I had a very relaxing stay at Chimes. We stayed at Chimes for 2 nights and would of really liked to stay for another 2 more nights.
Our room was very large, clean and comfortable with a beautiful view. Also the breakfast room has the best views with breakfast itself just yummy.
Chimes is a wonderful place to stay for an adult getaway

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank O T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My partner and I loved this place, pretty views across green trees, warm and cozy accommodation plus lovely hosts.
We liked our room with the balcony...it was chilly outside while we were all warm inside, it was a big room with nice spa and big flatscreen TV which we enjoyed watching their DVDs on.
The day spa was very good and we thought this was well worth the money.
The hosts were very friendly and I like it when people stop to have a genuine conversation because they're interested. Thanks for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whereisjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We could not disagree more with the previous reviewers who used discount vouchers and many not understand true value for money.

We stayed on the recent long weekend and paid full price of more than $400 a night for a spa room including hearty breakfast, and it was worth every cent.

The vista upon arrival is magnificent, with rolling lawns, nice architecture and beautiful views over the inlet out to the southern ocean.

The interior of Chimes is warm and welcoming and the breakfast/evening area is brilliant with tables for couples and 24 hour tea and coffee plus home made biscuits. The complimentary port left out for your return from dinner was also a nice touch.

Our room was very nicely designed and spacious, and the open spa design was beautiful.

We have to pay tribute to the owners Michelle and Kane who went out of their way to keep people happy.

Michelle particularly was spot on with her local knowledge about local restaurants. We had two excellent dinners at the laid back Happy Buddha restaurant in town and also the Southern end restaurant near Chimes. It was fun to walk in the evening chill under a starry sky five minutes across the boundary to Southern End, also full of lovely people.

Kane at Chimes is also an artist and his work fills the hallways, which was another nice personal touch.

The other beautiful personal touch was the very good day spa, where we had a superb massage from the very good Balinese masseuse. This was better than others we've been to in southeast Asia.

My partner and I have travelled extensively and we know what's good and what's not. This is good, and young people using discount vouchers may be better suited at the local backpackers.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to have beautiful views over the inlet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manager_Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

We purchased a scoopon voucher for $189 with and additional offer of extra nights for $150. We stayed four nights in a room that was ant infested and the curtains were covered in mould, I could write my name in the dust on the phone and bedside table and our room was not serviced daily unless we paid an additional fee which is not in the fine print of the T's & C's. The spa treatment rooms are tired and the steam deck is beyond description. It consists of a shower screen with two timber seats no bigger in area than the average shower. The owners refute and have an excuse for every complaint levelled at them. From reading previous comments it appears that the better reviews are from younger patrons who have received the voucher as a gift. For those who travel and want to experience better or st least the same level of luxury you have at home, all I can say is shop around. Very disappointing and shame on you Kane and Michelle. Validate your offer or withdraw it and for gods sake service the rooms and remove that ridiculous chocolate wrapper. If the rooms were immaculate we would get the joke but they are dirty so it just looks like the cleaners have missed it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sanraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We went to Chimes for a special occasion and had to try to recover a bit from a really awful year. We were both exhausted and were just hanging in there by our toenails for this break. I had read on trip advisor that room one was noisy and when we arrived I found out we were in room one. I immediately asked if we could be moved due to the breakfast noise as we really needed the chance to sleep in and we were staying four nights. The owner called me and told me that Trip advisor was not true and all about people trying to undo eachother's business. He was not at all helpful and ended the conversation by saying well you are getting a good deal and you can tell me when you leave if it was noisy. We had a couple of discounted nights but were also paying full price for two nights. I don't think you should provide special deals if you can't provide the same experience as a full price room. There was also building going on. It was very noisy and we were woken at 6.30am every day by the coffee machine and breakfast room. The rooms were average and ours was not especially clean. We couldn't open our blinds because workman were outside the whole time. Our fridge smelt so bad we couldn't use it and we were overrun by ants. As we had been so looking foward to some rest and healing it was quite upsetting.
Good stuff
The breakfast was lovely and the chef was very friendly as were all the staff who were mostly from Bali or other Asian countries. The afternoon tea of fresh baked biscuits was a highlight. The view from the breakfast room was lovely but a shame more of the rooms didn't have a balcony and a view.
Denmark has some amazing accomodation with much more helpful owners so wouldn't tay there again even with a disount.

Room Tip: Make sure you don;t get room one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I can advise you that if you are after a tranquil experience with a touch of luxury.. this is Not The Place !!!!! They are absolutely Rude Rude Rude!!!! The owner spoke down on us as if her nose was twisted upwards!!! I kid you not!!!! I have never experienced such Downright Rude Non Service in my entire life!!! I regret this trip with a passion and will never never ever recommend it unless I hate you!

Room Tip: Please Save Your Money! We Regretted The Whole Experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alora D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denmark hotels
2.8 mi away
Aiyana Retreat
Aiyana Retreat
#2 of 33 in Denmark
277 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sensational Heights Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Karma Chalets and Karisma Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Floating Forest Retreat
3.8 mi away
Spring Bay Villas
Spring Bay Villas
#23 of 33 in Denmark
17 reviews
0.3 mi away
Celestine Retreat
Celestine Retreat
#5 of 33 in Denmark
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimes Spa Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimes Spa Retreat

Property: Chimes Spa Retreat
Address: Mt Shadforth Scenic Drive, Denmark, Western Australia 6333, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Denmark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Denmark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chimes Spa Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The southern coast of Western Australia is where the forest meets the sea. It is unique. It is green. It is nature at its best. Tall stands of karri and tingle interspersed with verdant rolling hills sweep down to the most dramatic and picturesque coastline - an idyll providing many natural attractions. It is perhaps the prettiest place in Western Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chimes Spa Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing