We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely... but a mixed bag” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chimes Spa Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chimes Spa Retreat
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely... but a mixed bag”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

We also had the scoppon voucher which we used for our wedding anniversary. Overall we had a lovely weekend. We had a king room overlooking the ocean and while it's not a 5 star experience, Chimes does cater for a lovely and relaxing weekend.

On the plus side, the reception area and dining area was jus WOW! Talk about a room with a view! There are some thoughtful add one here like papers, lots of tea options and games to play. At night they also offer free port for guests which is a nice touch.

The room looks like it's starting to be refurbished with new paint, newish carpet and a new large comfortable bed. There is a lovely spa with a nice selection of dvds for the tv and dvd player, all adding to the relaxing experience.

However, this is by no means a modern retreat as our room had very outdated blinds and curtains, outdated blankets and old fold out beds. In addition, if you are shy about privacy when going to the toilet, the room layout may not be for you as the toilet area is not completely closed off and you can be seen via the mirrors in the room. Interesting layout choice!

The pool and garden area needs a lot of work and I think calling the pool heated is an over statement. We went swimming in the ocean and it was warmer than the pool. It's also a shame they haven't made the most of having the poor actually looking at the view. The pool is also quite old and worn out and in need of a face lift.
I
We had a lovely experience at the day spa with some magical girls looking after us. Again though, the day spa needs a much needed face lift as it's very old with dirty couches in the reception area, hessian walls and ceiling and the steam room has some serious signs of mold all over the walls and ceiling. Oh and another toilet door that doesnlt actually close. Also during our treatments we had what sounded like workmen working and chatting outside the window. So it might be nice fir a quieter area.

All that said though, we did have a lovely time, we just believe Chimes needs some work to update itself.

Oh and worth noting, the cooked brekky options were amazing!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view to make the most of the location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KelFryer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    56
    20
    9
    8
See reviews for
7
154
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

My husband and I purchased a Scoopon for one night for $185 in a queen garden view room which also included breakfast, a couples steam deck session, 2 facials, a bottle of Champagne and chocolates. We also purchased a second night at the special Scoopon rate of $150 which also included breakfast. The steam deck session and facials were just fabulous and we treated ourselves the following day to a massage which was just as nice. The breakfast was first class with quite a selection to choose from. The room was just perfect, well appointed and very clean. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The views whilst having breakfast in the dining room are just breathtaking. We would recommend this place to anyone wanting a weekend of pampering. The free Port at the end of the evening was the perfect finish to the day. The only fault we could find was that the mattress on the bed was a bit too firm for our liking....other than that ... perfect.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
327 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

We had purchased a scoopon voucher for this short stay and I have to say it was a delightful place to stay! Our room, 8, overlooks a stunning view. Dinner, which we ate in the room, was delicious. We ordered it at 5pm and it arrived to the room around 6.30pm.
Little touches like the chocolate fudge, date slice and port in the conservatory as well as the chocolates and champagne in our room were just brilliant! So often the complimentary wine is terrible. That was not the case, at Chimes.
Our deal included spa treatments. We enjoyed these, but they are not really our thing. I don't want someone trying to sell me products, when I have my hair done or when I have a facial. The therapist did not seem to have the standard of English that I would have expected.
We were sorry to leave. Departure time, being 11 am, rather than 10am, enabled us to use the spa in the morning, after an amazing breakfast- eggs Benedict, with smoked salmon, with a delicious assortment of breads and cereals.

Room Tip: No 8 King Size bed faces the incredible view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabriel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

My husband and I got a coupon which included one night for $185 AUD in a queen garden room and breakfast + second night for $150AUD and a couples steam deck session and 2 facials.

Denmark is a very small country town with not much to do, except for going to the beaches, visiting wineries and relaxing at the hotel.

The weather was not that great, so we decided to enjoy the hotel and relax.

Chimes is a B&B place with about only 10 rooms and no kids around...so perfect for couples to relax and revitalize!

The brekky was OK, but could be more varied. It missed ham and cheese on the cold section and fruits. We also had included a choice of hot dish on brekky each- they were delicious!

The girls at the Spa are very friendly and nice and the soft music constantly played at the Lounge/Reception is a nice touch.

I am not sure if we would go back, as Denmark is a very small place and- as said before- there isn't much to do there. I have also found that most of the wineries' restaurants are a bit overpriced and I would prefer to go to Margaret River instead- as there are more options of restaurants, wineries and things to do there.

As an overall, it was good value for the price we paid and very relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naty2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

Stayed here for one night with a friend, we had got a scoopon deal which included a spa package with champagne and chocolates in the room on arrival. Chimes certainly has that wow factor, beautiful location, stunning views, fantastic breakfast complete with heart shaped butter, staff were very welcoming and arranged our spa treatments for soon after arrival. Spa package included couples steam deck session and facials which were amazing and we felt so relaxed afterwards. The room had a view at the back in the gardens, located close to reception so could hear the noise for breakfast in the morning. The room was lovely, although the bathroom only had a door on one side, on the other side of the bathroom was the shower and the spa bath, which opened out into the bedroom - not exactly ideal for friends sharing!
We really enjoyed our stay and this is a lovely spa retreat, however i felt it was more suited for couples and not for a friends spa break.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curlysue81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Came here on my anniversary with my partner and was in awe straight away with the view when we came up the driveway. Then when we checked in the staff were so friendly and welcoming. We were shown around the property , asked if there were any places we would love to see then showed our room and my partner and i couldnt wipe the smile off our faces. the room was beautiful!! we went out to lunch that day, came back to our room to find that "ted" had mysteriously moved to the spa with a towel wrapped round him and a shower cap on. Made our anniversary the best yet and we will definatly return EVERY year!!! loved it!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilymariex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed at the Chimes for one night only and wished we could have stayed for the whole week! It was peaceful, clean and indulgent. Michelle and Lydia could not do enough for their guests and my husband and I enjoyed a facial and steam as part of the package. Chimes is located in a beautiful rural area about 10 minutes from the centre of Denmark and had the most magnificent views of the surrounds. We stayed in the ‘tower’ room which we would highly recommend. We would highly recommend the Chimes!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2011Marg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denmark hotels
2.8 mi away
Aiyana Retreat
Aiyana Retreat
#2 of 33 in Denmark
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.9 mi away
Karma Chalets and Karisma Spa
0.3 mi away
Celestine Retreat
Celestine Retreat
#3 of 33 in Denmark
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Sensational Heights Bed and Breakfast
2.5 mi away
31 on the Terrace
31 on the Terrace
#2 of 17 in Denmark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
4.2 mi away
Scotsdale Valley Studios
Scotsdale Valley Studios
#1 of 1 in Scotsdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimes Spa Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimes Spa Retreat

Property: Chimes Spa Retreat
Address: Mt Shadforth Scenic Drive, Denmark, Western Australia 6333, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Denmark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Denmark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chimes Spa Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The southern coast of Western Australia is where the forest meets the sea. It is unique. It is green. It is nature at its best. Tall stands of karri and tingle interspersed with verdant rolling hills sweep down to the most dramatic and picturesque coastline - an idyll providing many natural attractions. It is perhaps the prettiest place in Western Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chimes Spa Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing