We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great managers and great location!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Denham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shark Bay Holiday Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Denham
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

The managers were really friendly and helpful and went out of their way to ensure we could stay an extra night ( in the middle of summer) when we misjudged how long the drive was from our last stop! The accommodation is basic, like a beach shack nothing fancy but I loved it, although if the main bedroom had a door it would of been a lot better, also the bed is definitely on its last legs and should be replaced but other than that it was great. Awesome location opp beach and short walk to pubs and shops. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy S, Manager at Shark Bay Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you Jen for your feedback.

We were pleased to be able to extend your stay and are pleased that you describe us friendly and helpful.

We are looking into the practicality of replacing the curtains between the living area and bedroom and plan to upgrade our beds asap.

Hope to see you again in the near future.

Cathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 61 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

Good place to stay . You will love the fresh air, beauty, ssimplicity of denham. Better than monkey mia. Just across the beach. It is like home. No hassle . Next to a shop. Bbq just across the bungalow

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsusiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie G, Manager at Shark Bay Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback, it's very much appreciated. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Shark Bay Cottages and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Staying here was like going back to my childhood...beach shack just across the road from the ocean. I had a great time - the staff were all friendly, the location was perfect and i will definitely go back there.
The shacks are not 5 star and for me that was the beauty of staying there ..it was relaxing and a perfect holiday place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozinmilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie G, Manager at Shark Bay Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Shark Bay Cottages and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Ok - so it was cheap and hence a risk. There was nothing really wrong, but it was uninspiring. Basic, a little dirty, and very tired. We had booked for three nights, but chose to check out and move to Monkey Mia after one night. It just didn't work for us and the kids. It might have been the lack of a pool or the lack of much to do in Denham proper. We could have stayed if we could not have got into Monkey Mia, but we were glad to move on. They were very understanding and only billed for two nights despite a no cancellation policy.

Stayed: September 2012
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie G, Manager at Shark Bay Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I'm pleased to hear staff were understanding and you were only billed for two nights. 'We have taken on board your comments and appreciated the time you took to post this comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Arrived late and had spoken to Cheryl who left a key, booked for 4 nights and paid for 2. Being two middle aged ladies with 2 young grandchildren we couldn't believe the state of the accommodation. Their were only 5 dining chairs to an 8 bed cottage. No bedside tables, the fridge was covered in dead mosquitoes. Their was no DVD player only an old TV. The bathroom was outdated and you had to walk through past the shower to reach the toilet. The view from the verandah was beautiful but this private verandah everyone who was staying in adjacent cottages walked across. The blinds only half covered the window. The furniture was outdoor cane and so low to the ground neither of us could get out of it easily. Also the pool advertised, what pool, it was filled in years ago we heard from someone else in the town. Cheryl was very kind and organised a refund of the 2nd night.

Room Tip: Nowhere unless you are a bunch of Aussie yobbos who don't care about comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olwyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie G, Owner at Shark Bay Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased to advise we have made several changes since you were here. New managers are now in place and all rooms have been set up correctly according to the number of beds. All cottages have DVD players. The blinds have now been replaced with new curtains .With regards to there being a pool , the brochure you are referring to I'm guessing may have been an old one as there has not been a pool here for years as you stated. We have contacted companies to ensure these brochures are no longer distributed. Thank you for the positive feedback for Cheryl .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Only good thing about this accommodation is the location. The beds were very old, dirty and warn. Only an old double bed (Who has a double bed these days!!) which was way too small for 2 normal sized adults so we put the two single mattresses on the floor to sleep. Those mattresses were the really old heavy and dirty. The linen and doona's were also old. The lounge was an old cane thing that when you sat in it sounded like it was going to break. We booked and payed for 8 nights but only stayed 4. Wanted to get home to a clean comfortable bed. If you like a good nights sleep and clean beds this is not for you. Would not recommend to friends as we were really disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyBusselton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Arrived tired and spoke to cheryl who booked me in for 3 nights. Because I am travelling alone she quickly juggled to make sure that I got a "more friendly" cottage (#2) which overlooked the ocean. "Thus" she said "If you sit outside on the little deck people are sure to say hello as they walk by" (which they did and sometimes stopped for a wee chat). The cottage was basic but VERY clean and comfortable with everything you needed in a self contained unit.
I saw Cheryl and Russ (her hubby) on day 2 in the early evening, they were setting the Bar-b-que and lighting the outdoor fire for an evenings get together with the holiday makers/tenants...later that night. It was a friendly, sharing, relaxed evening and Russ entertained them with his music.....Thanks guys I WILL be back....Lena (Lee) Mac

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie G, Owner at Shark Bay Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback, it is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Shark Bay Cottages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denham
14.9 mi away
RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort
0.4 mi away
Heritage Resort Shark Bay
0.6 mi away
Oceanside Village
Oceanside Village
#1 of 10 in Denham
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shark Bay Hotel
Shark Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Denham
84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tradewinds Seafront Apartments
0.4 mi away
Wildsights Villas
Wildsights Villas
#4 of 4 in Denham
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shark Bay Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shark Bay Holiday Cottages

Address: 3 - 13 Knight Tce, Denham, Western Australia 6537, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Denham
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Denham
Price Range: $88 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every cottage and unit has spectacular ocean views over Shark Bay World Heritage waters.Shark Bay Cottages are in Denham,Shark Bay just near Monkey Mia. We offer comfortable self contained beachfront holiday cottages for the holiday of a lifetime! If you like a balmy tropical climate with crystal clear ocean waters, then this is the place for you.Fishing enthusiasts love it here because it's one of our specialties. We have the Mac Attack Fishing Charter and the Blue Lagoon Pearl Boat available for charters and tours.We look forward to welcoming you to Shark Bay Cottages. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing