We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, basic accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Resort Shark Bay
Ranked #2 of 4 Denham B&B and Inns
Wauchope, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely location, basic accommodation”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed here three nights and enjoyed the setting of the hotel. It's certainly not a resort, more like a pub plus motel. Like much of rural WA it's not cheap at $200 per night. The upsides were the comfy bed and quite spacious room overlooking the ocean. However the whole place needs freshening up with some basic maintenance required, eg taps, showers, toilets and a lick of paint. We also felt $25 each way for an airport pick up was a bit steep and $38 for a simple bacon & eggs for each of us was also on the high side.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0899481133, Owner at Heritage Resort Shark Bay, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Sue, Thank you for staying at the Heritage and thank you for your comments, We are continually endeavouring to maintain and upgrade our Hotel/Motel. Also as we don't have a Taxi service in Shark Bay we are happy to offer airport transfer as a special service to our guests . Our cooked breakfast also includes Tea/Coffee, fruit Juice, Yoghurt ,Fruit,Cereal and Toast which is a cost of $18 per person ---$36 for 2 Thank you very much we appreciate your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    48
    38
    17
    4
See reviews for
28
76
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2013

On two occasions in 2010 and 2013 I have led groups of 30 adults from various parts of Australia and overseas to the most historic site in Australia for Europeans: Cape Inscription. This could not have been achieved without the superb organisation skills of Des and Beate Matthews the owners of the Hertige Resort Hotel, Shark Bay. In both instances the stay was for 5/6 nights. The accommodation was excellent and especially the beds came in for much praise. The food in the restaurant for all meals was above expectation. The location is perfect as it is near the shops, lovely ocean views and close to the Discovery Centre a must for all visitors. I would never stay anywhere else. Congratulations Des and Beate.

Room Tip: Ocean View Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0899481133, Owner at Heritage Resort Shark Bay, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you Vivienne it was a pleasure having you guys in Shark Bay we look forward to your next visit , we are only too happy to help out wherever we can to make your trip as enjoyable as possible Des is already trying to plan the next trip. Thank you for your support and your comments much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here for three nights on part of our trip through Western Australia. We had booked an ocean view room and we were not dissapointed! The room was huge (well, compared to much of the accomodation in WA!) excellent views over the ocean, well equipt room, excellent air conditioning and a very comfy bed! Only one down point and that was the Wifi, they had put a new system in and we could not get access and nobody seemed to know howe to fix it even having paid for it! they did however give us the passcode on the second evening for another WIFI in the reception and that seemed to work only in the mornings?! Ate in the bar several times and although very busy on one noght where we struggled to find a table and the food took about 45 mins to come out, food was ver nice and not at a bad price! Overall a lovely stay here and would definately recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Choop84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0899481133, Owner at Heritage Resort Shark Bay, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear guest Thank you for staying at the Heritage and thank you for your comments we are very sorry about the Wifi problem unfortunately living so for away in this beautiful area of Shark Bay we can't always have the things that the city has readily available but we do try to make our guests stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible . thank you again , and hope that we will see you on your next visit to Shark Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Recently I have had reason to stay at several locations in the Gascoyne Region.Up until staying at the Heritage I was disappointed with the quality of the accommodation especially given the high prices that were being charged.Then I found the Heritage!The rooms are comfortable ,tasteful and spacious.The location is great-just across the road from the water and near the shops.The price is very competitive and good value and the breakfasts are well cooked and generous.
I will be staying here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0899481133, Owner at Heritage Resort Shark Bay, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Allan ,Thank you for staying at the Heritage you were a wonderful guest ,and to have your comments are much appreciated and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
364 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Considering the range of other accommodation options this resort is good. Pleasant central location opposite water and near shops.
Rooms are quite decent and the staff very friendly.
They could improve by throwing out shabby worn and usekess towels and top up room supplies properly.
Our price was competitive considering other options so it's worth considering

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TeePodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0899481133, Owner at Heritage Resort Shark Bay, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,Thank you for staying at the the Heritage. As are continually trying to improve our services your comments are much appreciated . We have now finished replacing all our towels once again and continue to maintain and upgrade our Hotel/Motel at all times. Thanks once again we appreciate your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Didnt stay here but we did go for dinner - because it was the only place serving - at 7.30pm!
Having queued for ages to get served at the bar where there was only one person serving and the place was very busy, we had a long wait to order food.
Immediately the guy behind the counter said he hoped we weren't ordering steak because there was an hour and a half wait for steak. We were ordering pasta which he said wouldn't take as long. He was soon out again to say one meal couldn't be done because they had run out of cream!
So 3 veggie pasta dishes were ordered - which didn't take too long. However - 2 of the dishes barely had any sauce on them and the 3rd was absolutely swimming in it - the sauce, incidentally, was a tin of tomatoes that come pre-mixed with herbs - as a cook I could spot it a mile off!
$23 for some tagliatelle and a tin of tomatoes?
Very poor - if that is the standard of food I dread to think what staying there would have been like!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyChrisTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0899481133, Owner at Heritage Resort Shark Bay, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Chris,

We regret your unpleasant experience in our restaurant.

On the day in question we had an abnormally busy night which was inconsistent to this time of the year, where all other meal venues were closed/or reduce dinner time.

Due to this unexpectedly high number of orders at the time of your order, the meals had an unprecedented long waiting time. Meals involving steaks are normally served within 25/30 minutes but when there is a spike in orders, the time delay can exceed 60 minutes; our staff member could have conveyed this message to you in a more appropriate manner.

We dearly apologise for the inconvenience and will coach our staff for a better response in future.

In regard to the meal that could not be served due to insufficient ingredients for a particular meal, we would also like to express our apologies. We did not receive our required amount of stock due to a supply problem which extremely compromised our menu. We were very upset with our supplier but unfortunately, our hands were tied as in a situation like this we are a considerable distance from our supplier and the problem cannot be remedied without extreme expense.

We do apologise profusely for the inconvenience caused.

Kind regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

It's a long way to drive to Denham to end up with poor accommodation sourced from the internet, so take my word for it and save yourself the trouble and just book the Heritage Resort at Denham in the beautiful Shark Bay area.

* Very comfortable
* Very clean
* Ocean views
* Great restaurant
* Great bar
* Great location
* Great value

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyandmarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0899481133, Owner at Heritage Resort Shark Bay, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you Andy and Marion for staying at the Heritage we appreciate your comments we hope you enjoined your stay in the wonderful world Heritage area of Shark Bay it is such a long way from everywhere which makes it very difficult sometimes but we love this fantastic unspoiled area of Shark Bay and hope you had a great time during our stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denham
14.7 mi away
RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort
0.2 mi away
Oceanside Village
Oceanside Village
#2 of 10 in Denham
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Seafront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wildsights Villas
Wildsights Villas
#3 of 4 in Denham
34 reviews
0.9 mi away
On the Deck at Shark Bay
0.0 mi away
Wildsights Beach Units
Wildsights Beach Units
#6 of 10 in Denham
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Resort Shark Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Resort Shark Bay

Property: Heritage Resort Shark Bay
Address: 73-75 Knight Tce, Denham, Western Australia 6537, Australia (Formerly Comfort Resort Heritage)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Denham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Denham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Resort Shark Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Ratings Australia 4-Star Rating, the only four star property within 400Kls, Ocean front rooms with king size beds, private balconies, private ensuite, tea/coffee making facilities, TV, Foxtel & free in-house movies, air conditioning, licensed restaurant, alfresco dining on balcony overlooking the Freycinet beach, lounge & saloon bars, conference and meeting facilities, swimming pool and sunbaking deck, guest laundry, disabled facilities, bottle shop, car parking, ATM, hire cars, airport transfers upon request, Wifi.If you are looking for an unforgettable Western Australian holiday in a part of the world that can only be described as heaven on earth, then the waterfront Heritage Resort Shark Bay hotel is waiting to welcome you. Overlooking the pristine waters of the bay, Shark Bay Resort accommodation offers perfect place at exceptional value to discerning travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Heritage Resort Shark Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing