We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem Of A Place”
Review of Shark Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shark Bay Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Denham B&B and Inns
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gem Of A Place”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed 3 nights, 2 in March 2013 and 1 night in April 2013. We had a wonderful stay, I could go for fish as the ocean was just across the road. The seafood platters were delicious, we highly recommend a stay at the Shark Bay Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 13 and 14 we stayed in were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    33
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
9
42
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Travel from Sydney, alone, bought 2 Scoopon value vouchers, stayed 6 nights, i was picked up at the Shark Bay airport by the hotel owner, a very nice and helpful man, seafood platter were lovely, generous and the wine from Margaret River was superb, helpful and friendly staff, lots of beautiful places to see, the hotel is right in front of the beautiful clear water that invites to swim in it, I had a memorable time, famous Monkey Mia is about 28 km away, the quad bike ride was fantastic and the Blue Lagoon Pearl Farm is something to see, at the hotel I felt safe, thank you Shane, Krystle, Cherryl and the rest of the staff....I'll return!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timetoenjoy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharkBayHotel, Manager at Shark Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi timetoenjoy

Thanks for taking the time to write a great review for us!

6 nights is a perfect amount of time to spend in our lovely area of Shark Bay. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to experience some great things while you were here.

We look forward to your future visit!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The staff are very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We found the rooms clean with basic necessities. We had two great seafood platters during our stay, very nice. Thank you Ben, Krystle and all the staff at the Shark Bay Hotel for making our stay over Easter a comfortable one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waggy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharkBayHotel, Manager at Shark Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi Waggy,

Thank you so much for the great review, it's always very good to hear when our guests enjoy their stay and for you to have enjoyed TWO seafood platters, I can imagine that would have been quite a memorable experience of your holiday to Shark Bay!

We hope to see you at The Old Pub in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2013

we had such a beautiful stay at Shark Bay Hotel.
went with hubby, parents in law and my best friend.
the rooms were clean and tidy, comfortable, all you need with fridge and kettle for a cuppa. the location is just "WOW"
we had a beer with an amazing sunset, sitting outsite the pub.
when i asked for ordering our seafoodplatter and wine, we experinced a very special service and the seafood platter it self....OMG!!!!! never ever had such a nice dinner with good wine and such a great service! we had a nice chat with the beautiful staff. i really like to recommend the painting from gloria, great work!
shame we just could stay one night.
look forward to coming back.
thank you very much for such a great experience!
highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharkBayHotel, Manager at Shark Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hi Jane,

Thank you so much for a great review! That seafood platter is a very popular item on our menu and it's easy to see why when you can take advantage of local seafood.

There is plenty to see in Shark Bay so I am glad that you and your family got a preview of the area and we look forward to seeing you back at the Old Pub!

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The stay was comfortable, clean and a good base to explore the Shark Bay area. The location is excellent. Easy access to boardwalk where we saw amazing sea creatures night and day with the vistor centre right next door. The ambience at the hotel restaurant and pub was truly local and warm. Seafood platter was as fresh as you can get them. Staff are very efficient and warm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChandsS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharkBayHotel, Manager at Shark Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hi ChandsS

Thanks for taking the time to write a great review!

It sounds like you got to experience some great things while you stayed with us, there are some beautiful places to visit and I hope you will return to our hotel in the future.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kununurra, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013

had such a great time i did not want to leave. thankyou for a great stay. the seafood platter was to die for, the best i have ever had. all other food was great and fast. we will be back again. thankyou

Room Tip: it all good. car park is small so bring a small car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharkBayHotel, Manager at Shark Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hi Rick,

Thank you for the nice review, I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stage and that you will be returning to stay with us in the future.

We are in the process of adding some great things to the menu!

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We also purchased the Scoopon for 3 days and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We brought our 3 kids along with us so had rooms 4 and 5 seeing they had the adjoining door. The rooms are clean and tidy and though basic, you have everything you need. The beds were very comfortable (nothing worse than uncomfortable beds!!). We also had the seafood platter and was blown away by how delicious it was! It was huge!! The food is FANTASTIC!!! even the kids meals were superb, so they obviously have a terrific chef whom takes pride in his cooking....10 out of 10!! The staff were all very friendly and helpful and really made you feel welcomed. The whole atmosphere of the place was just brilliant and will definitely stay again if we come to Shark Bay. Will recommend the Shark Bay Hotel to anyone wanting a place to stay whilst on holidays with or without kids!! Keep up the great job your doing guys!! :)

Room Tip: Older rooms have lot's of "Old Pub" Character and very comfortable. Would book the new...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharkBayHotel, Manager at Shark Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hi Nicole,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review!

It is very pleasing to hear that you were able to enjoy your stay as a family here! It's always very nice to hear positive comments about our hotel and to know that our highly praised Chef continues to cook up a storm is just fantastic!

I am glad that your family enjoyed your little holiday and I hope to see you all again someday!

Many Thanks

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denham
0.2 mi away
Heritage Resort Shark Bay
14.8 mi away
RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort
0.4 mi away
Oceanside Village
Oceanside Village
#2 of 10 in Denham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Seafront Apartments
0.1 mi away
Wildsights Villas
Wildsights Villas
#3 of 4 in Denham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.7 mi away
On the Deck at Shark Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shark Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shark Bay Hotel

Property: Shark Bay Hotel
Address: 43 Knight Tce, Denham, Western Australia 6537, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Denham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Denham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shark Bay Hotel is surrounded by friendly, helpful staff and very loyal patrons who always have a story or two to share, entertaining people from all walks of life. Attractively situated right by the foreshore of Shark Bay you couldn’t find a more pleasant place to simply relax, enjoy a nice cold drink, a snack or one of the many highly praised meals on our menu. The Shark Bay Hotel is a local institution so make sure you pay us a visit when you reach Denham, Western Australia. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing