We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shark Bay Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shark Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shark Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Denham B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shark Bay Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Always stay at the Pub when I visit Shark Bay unless I cannot get a room there.
The Pub offers everything I could want from a Hotel / Motel and it does't cost the earth.
Given that your right on the seafront close to the centre of town everything is close by
and everyone is pretty pleasant but I suppose if your in the middle of a World Heritage Site
it would be hard not to be happy.

Room Tip: Book early............don't just ring on the way up or down as I have to when I am travelling fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    32
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
8
42
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

As other reviews, we were attracted to the hotel with a discounted voucher. The room was clean, the wine selection good, and restaurant with it's seafood platter the best meals we had in the area. However, this is a pub next to a motel, and the noise carrys on until late. There are also tables & chairs outside each motel room, and outside our bedroom window at midnight, the party moved over from the pub, and drunken drawling and banging chairs when you are trying to sleep after midnight is not on.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happy_travelling_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed at the Shark Bay Hotel for three nights and had a great stay. The room was a good size and was clean. It had a comfortable double bed, wardrobe and sink. The only downside was that there was only one bedside table. As part of our package we had the seafood platter and a bottle of wine on the first night. It was fantastic. Well cooked and delicious. I have never eaten oysters or scallops before and this was a great introduction as everything was so well cooked. We also choose our wine off the winelist which was great too.

The food was so good on the first night that we ate there for the next two nights and enjoyed sampling the variety of fish dishes on offer. The specials board is worth a look and the homemade desserts are worth leaving the room for.

"Wild Wednesday" is a weekly kareoke night and was great fun. The pub was packed and the atmosphere was fantastic. We met lots of locals and people who work at nearby Monkey Mia.

All of the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkkris7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharkBayHotel, Manager at Shark Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words!

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the meals were excellent. It's great that you chose our hotel to try scallops and oysters for the first time!

It's also good that you got to experience our "Wild Wednesday" karaoke, it's a very popular night and everyone involved looks forward to it!

We hope to see you back here again, safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

This old Pub is a great spot,the view is amazing, food is honest and well priced. Everyone is very friendly and this is a real locals pub. Didn't stay in the rooms but heard from other people who were staying there that the rooms are clean and functional.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharkBayHotel, Manager at Shark Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Hi Lynda, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a great review. We are very proud that the locals choose The Old Pub to get together and enjoy a cold beer or a hot feed. It's also very pleasing when our locals mix with tourists from all over the world. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Great location, easy to walk to all shops, cafe's and supermarket..friendly staff who could not have been more helpful.Rooms were good size and very comfortable beds, aged but very clean
Restaurant has an extensive menu, but has to serve the best seafood platter in WA, shared with two and battled to eat all.Great wine list and drinks reasonably priced.
We will return there in a few weeks to sample again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lemish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Shark Bay Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Hi Lemish,

Thank you very much for your kind words.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we are very lucky to have the best Chef in town working for us providing quality meals 6 days a week. The Seafood Platter has become one of the pub's most popular meals, not hard to see why!

We look forward to your next stay and you can expect excellent service and meals once again!

Regards

Ben Jones
Administration Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

What an amazing discovery,if the Dutch have had hung around for a few hundred years more, they would have never have left. At this local watering hole you'll not only step back in time, for generous servings, cold beer and good old fashioned hospitality. This iconic Aussie pub is not only great value for money, but offers comfortable and ultra clean lodgings, as well as character and the long lost art of customer service. All staff were friendly and extremely accommodating, and we are so glad we forewent caravan and resort style accommodation to stay at the hotel. Traveling as two families with five children between us this was the best and most memorable choice, ideally located in the heart of town right across the road from the jetty, playground and bay. Even if you decide not to put up camp at the hotel, at least drop in for one of the best value and quality meals on the West Coast, washed down with an ice cold beer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackson144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Shark Bay Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for such a great review and it is equally as pleasing to know you enjoyed your stay with us.

We all work very hard to provide the best service to all of our patrons and your feedback goes a long way in helping us achieve these goals.

We hope you will call in again some day!

Best Regards

Ben Jones
Administration Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Great location over looking spectacular shark bay
Excellent friendly staff Creates welcoming country feel
Great pub menu and food quality
Pricing very reasonable better than
Perth restaurants
Save room for deserts yum



  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bjones277, Manager at Shark Bay Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Hi Phil, thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

It is very pleasing to hear your positive comments and we do hope you choose to stay with us next time you are in Denham.

We strive to deliver excellence in all aspects of our hotel 100% of the time and it's feedback like yours which keeps us heading in the right direction.

Best Regards

Ben Jones
Administration Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denham
14.7 mi away
RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort
0.2 mi away
Heritage Resort Shark Bay
0.4 mi away
Oceanside Village
Oceanside Village
#1 of 10 in Denham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Seafront Apartments
0.2 mi away
Wildsights Villas
Wildsights Villas
#4 of 4 in Denham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.7 mi away
On the Deck @ Shark Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shark Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shark Bay Hotel

Property: Shark Bay Hotel
Address: 43 Knight Tce, Denham, Western Australia 6537, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Denham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Denham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shark Bay Hotel is surrounded by friendly, helpful staff and very loyal patrons who always have a story or two to share, entertaining people from all walks of life. Attractively situated right by the foreshore of Shark Bay you couldn’t find a more pleasant place to simply relax, enjoy a nice cold drink, a snack or one of the many highly praised meals on our menu. The Shark Bay Hotel is a local institution so make sure you pay us a visit when you reach Denham, Western Australia. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing