We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shark Bay World Heritage Discovery and Visitor Centre
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Too expensive for a family we thought

We would have loved to go and have a look at this but we didn't as the prices were quite expensive... read more

Reviewed December 18, 2018
mandtcomber
,
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Very comprehensive and engaging

It is pricey but reminds of the history and maritime conquest Very interesting to note that 4 old... read more

Reviewed November 2, 2018
EricFeddal
,
Singapore, Singapore
via mobile
Read all 146 reviews
  
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveler rating
68
46
17
8
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
46
17
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hmas sydney world heritage very helpful staff bush babies shark bay local attractions visitor center info centre great info monkey mia worth a visit natural history entry fee couple of hours western australia video visitors
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 146 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2018 via mobile

As a visitors centre, this was one of the worst we had come across in our travels. Two staff members, one was friendly and helpful, the other seemed to be having a bad day....on both days we went there. The attached gallery was great with a display of bush babies....artwork and photographs. The 3D film re the wreck of HMAS Sydney is worth watching. The entry fee of $11 for the discovery centre was reasonable. There are quite a few interesting things to see and read about. There are also a couple of good short DVDs playing on local topics ..such as the interesting thorny devil, shipwreck history and what makes Shark Bay a world heritage area. If you are looking to buy souvenirs, postcards etc, this is not the information centre to do this. Their range was dismal, aimed more at children and those looking to buy pearl jewellery....priced over $500 per item.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2018

Limited info. You would do better on the internet. The Gallery is a waste of time. There is some other guided display for which there is a charge.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2018

We visited to get info on area and also to book a site in the national park for camping with our caravan. A great info centre with a fantastic exhibition of the HMAS Sydney. The lady was very helpful. Unfortunately, she recommended a site for us to camp and we paid the $15 and we got bogged in the very soft sand. So think people should be warned about this.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank SandyFord16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2018 via mobile

Throughly enjoyed the museum and felt it was not overpriced at all. I personally am a huge fan of Western Australian maritime history and this place ticked alot of my boxes. Spent approximately 3 hours and could have stayed longer but beer o'clock was calling.

Staff were friendly and informative and the free bush babies gallery was excellent. Unfortunately didn't take in to much of the hmas Sydney section due to a thirst for a pint of swan larger. Will be back tomorrow to complete the exhibition.

Purchased some great memorabilia including a replica of Dirk Hartogs pewter plate (made of pewter) that will forever resonate the history of Western Australia at our home in brisbane Queensland.

A must see attraction for history lovers alike..

Thank you from josh and jesse.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Kaffa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2018

Well worth the visit with very interesting tours given by very informative guides. Very much up close and personal with some of the most pretty and amazing creatures in the water.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank djbland61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews