We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red cliffs, bordering white beaches and azure blue seas”

Francois Peron National Park
Ranked #3 of 23 things to do in Denham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Red cliffs, bordering white beaches and azure blue seas”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The most beautiful place I have over observed - Red cliffs, bordering white beaches and azure blue seas, teeming with wildlife like dugongs, turtles, sharks, sea snakes, manta rays, dolphins, sea birds.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blanche D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    45
    9
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Need a 4wd”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is another wonderful place within the Shark Bay world heritage area.

Make sure you let down your tires so you don't get stuck in the sand. People not doing this erodes the track. Also make sure you pay at the gate or better still buy an annual parks pass. They use the money to maintain the facilities.

Bring your own water and food. Toilet facilities are provided at the Peron Homestead, Big Lagoon and the campsites.

Also bring the fishing rods. We've caught whiting, flatties and a golden trevally in the last 3 years at big lagoon.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kayakers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham, england
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fantastic day with Sharkbay Coastal Tours”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

If you don't have your own 4wd, this is a must do trip. Keith drives you miles in his vehicle, to some stunning scenery, stopping to point things out and sharing his knowledge of the area. We were out for about six hours, including a lovely lunch stop which Keith prepares while you walk on a deserted beach, a look around the old station/homestead and a 2km walk between two lookouts. We spotted a dugong, a shark, manta ray and a turtle in the clear waters below the cliffs. A magical day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank loujue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mindarie, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Red dirt, Echidnas and Emus!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

4 Adults and 4 children piled into our 4x4 for the trip to the Peron and we had an amazing time! On the way we had two emus going this way and that in front of the car which had us all cracking up, then further along an echidna came out to say hello which the kids loved! Once up at the point we descended down to the beach where some guys were fishing, and showed us the sharks they had caught! Put us off swimming a bit! We then walked around the point on the track and then had a nice lunch on the beach. We loved picking shells, finding interesting things on the beach and we even had a dolphin rolling around in the waves right in front of us. I recommend the drive up for everyone. Loved it!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Stunning Lagoons”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We let down our tyres (4WD only) and headed to the Big Lagoon, about 10km into the park. Fun track to drive along and beautiful views across the lagoon, which is expansive. Lots of interesting shells and creatures.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank aprilinsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francois Peron National Park also viewed

Denham, Western Australia
Denham, Western Australia
 
Denham, Western Australia
 

Been to Francois Peron National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing