We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great walk” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of One Mile Jetty

One Mile Jetty
Ranked #3 of 16 things to do in Carnarvon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Perth, Aussie
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Bit disappointed to had to pay $5 pp to walk ($10 for the train) but was a good walk and great aspect. Was going to try fishing of an evening but told by guys fishing there that not a good idea as the 'local' fellas tend to get a bit of alcohol into them and not a good place to be so we skipped it.
The museum is good to catch up on, interesting

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank st0rmygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    66
    55
    31
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Faint Hearted Beware”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

I am not very good on trains over water to say the least, but my partner did get me on this under false pretences (I had a blonde moment with length of jetty) and I must say over all that the rickety train ride we had was quite a lot of fun (and I conquered a fear) it was well worth the $10.00.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shemar68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad food at the restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Our small kids enjoyed the train ride. The driver was so nice. The service staff at the restaurant were really helpful, but food was pretty bad. The burger has olives in it which wasn't mentioned on the menu. My husband loves olives, but he even thought his burger tasted wrong. I let them know I can't eat olives so they organized another burger. When it arrived the meat was burnt and the bun was black. It smelt so burnt it wasn't even worth trying. I appreciate the wait staff did what they could, but the chef needs the sack!

Helpful?
Thank kjlists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Highlight of the holiday for our train mad little boy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Once our young bloke knew there was a train on the jetty it became a must do before we left town. We had a look around at the display in the cafe and the shearing hall of fame - recognised a few faces! The train ride out is good and ample time to have a look around and learn a bit at the end of the jetty - next time we will go for a fish! The water tank is worth a walk up to get a panoramic view of the town. I hope the money goes back into what it is earmarked for and not bureaucracy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank hewieandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Went to have a look at the jetty, not really impressed. Seemed like a bit of a money making rort, with not much being spent on the jetty. Didn't bother paying and didn't bother going out on it. Passed on this one. Spent enough money in the town without spending $10 to go for a walk.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank my3girls68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed One Mile Jetty also viewed

Carnarvon, Western Australia
Carnarvon, Western Australia
 

Been to One Mile Jetty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing