We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Love Love Gnaraloo....but in DIRE need of some Improvements!!!!”
Review of Gnaraloo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carnarvon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gnaraloo
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Love Love Love Gnaraloo....but in DIRE need of some Improvements!!!!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I Have travelled to Gnaraloo and stayed at 3 Mile camp on 3 occasions. Twice as a family and once as a couple. Gnaraloo is a bit of a hike to get to, but once you come over the rise and can spot the entrance to 3 mile camp in the distance, the long drive pales into insignificance. The camp site itself is extremely basic and isolated so you need to plan thoroughly as to what you need for the length of time you are there, ie food, water, wood supplies, bait, etc etc, each time I go I remember something else that i need just to make the experience that little bit more comfortable. The more home comforts you can pile into your car or trailer the better, because it makes the experience so much more enjoyable. I would always endeavour to arrive no later than about 2pmish giving you plenty of time before dark to set up your camp site. Once you are all set then you can sit back and relax and breathe in all that Gnaraloo has to offer, swimming, surfing, snorkeling, fishing, 4 wheel driving, walking, sitting by the open camp fire at night, star gazing and thats just for starters. The only down side would be at times the staff can be somewhat surly and rude, maybe because the are busy, but no excuse. Also the toilet blocks could do with a bit of an overhaul and some signage as to which is mens and womens would be helpful, especially with young kids, having no definite indicators is negligible. Also a few spare shower curtains wouldnt go astray as they seem to tear every couple of days. Would I recommend Gnaraloo, absolutely, it is an amzing and wonderful camp site and I will definitely be going back!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tandylands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mindarie, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at Gnaraloo - 3 Mile Camp for two nights with our two little lads 4 & 6 in two in a camper trailer. Arriving after driving all day at 5pm we were warmly welcomed by the lovely couple in the shop and we headed off to pick a spot. Although quite busy, we managed to get a great little spot with a beautiful ocean view in front of us. The facilities were as I expected, and you have to remember this IS a working station not a resort, so if you are expecting beautiful shower blocks and lots of green turf, this is not the place for you. We loved the fact that we could have our own fire, and the boys loved having the freedom to roam around meeting the other kids and playing without any rules etc. At night the noise of the ocean and the muffled noises from other camps was lovely, compared to what we later experienced in Exmouth. The Lagoon was gorgeous, and went there daily for snorkling and swimming. We also explored the sand dunes to the north and the rocks to the south. Definitely will come back for longer, just need to learn how to surt!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mardella wa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Recently took a 22' caravan into Gnaraloo Station - it is not really suited to vans as large as this and our site was extremely difficult to get into and out of. The ablution blocks are very basic - understand that hot water is only lit at 4.30pm but the block in the middle had torn or no shower curtains which made the fact that there was no Ladies or Men marked on the doors even more difficult. Surely when it is the start of the peak season and the fact it was the most expensive of any place we stayed that they could go into Carnarvon and purchase 4 shower curtains and write on the doors which was Ladies and which was Men. Great beach for swimming. Fishing areas difficult to find though. This is really a surfers holiday place but as more and more families are coming there then how about a little more care taken with improvements.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank HELENMardellaWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Chances are if you are reading this, you already know of Gnaraloo, but for those who don't, and are doing their North/South road trip of WA, here is one of the gems of the WA coast that not many people know about.

North of Carnavan about 15-20 kms is a small road sign indicating The Blowholes road and Gnaraloo (5okm and 125km). The road to the blowholes is sealed, but plenty of wildlife around. The blowholes are a sight if there is some weather or a swell rolling through.

From The Blowholes to Gnaraloo is 75kms of unsealed, but good condition road. A bit corrugated in spots, but you can speed over them. 2WD can do the road no problems, just make sure your car is in good order before the start.

We stayed in the Homestead Cabins. Great views (cabin 12 and 14). Simple, clean, nice. Electricity generator is turned off nightly around 11pm and is back on again between 8-10am (the only annoyance). And no running water with no power.

Lots of fishing spots and surfing spots once here, or enjoy the beach, Gnaraloo Bay is family friendly.

You have to be totally self sufficient if staying here, plan in advance and bring everything with you, you also need your own bedding sheets and pillows.

There is a camping sight here as well, called 3 Mile, in the heat of summer, with no shade... good luck, but there are some nice sights if lucky.

Gnaraloo to Exmouth, must travel back to Blowholes road/ North West Highway, 5-6 hours travel time. Road is closed from Gnaraloo to Coral Bay (turns a 88km distance to 400 km).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arcticozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carnarvon hotels
33.6 mi away
Carnarvon Motel
Carnarvon Motel
#1 of 3 in Carnarvon
138 reviews
34.3 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Inn Carnarvon
33.7 mi away
Coral Coast Tourist Park
Coral Coast Tourist Park
#2 of 17 in Carnarvon
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.8 mi away
Wintersun Caravan & Tourist Park
33.9 mi away
BIG4 Plantation Caravan Park
BIG4 Plantation Caravan Park
#15 of 17 in Carnarvon
93 reviews
34.1 mi away
Capricorn Holiday Park
Capricorn Holiday Park
#3 of 17 in Carnarvon
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gnaraloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gnaraloo

Property: Gnaraloo
Address: Gnaraloo Rd, Carnarvon, Western Australia 6701, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Carnarvon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Carnarvon
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing