We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Utterly Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ford House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ford House
Ranked #2 of 9 Bridgetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Utterly Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Very impressed with our Easter stay. Comfortable, clean and a home from home. Delightful staff. Breakfast was a delight with the table decorated with easter ornaments and fresh bread out of the oven - it was still hot! I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    33
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
14
79
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australind, WA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Ford House in the Cooks Retreat cottage on Saturday 22nd March. Such a tranquil place. The cottage was just beautiful, away from the main house and within walking distance into town. Our trip to Bridgetown was for the Black Dog Ride in support of Depression and Suicide Awareness. So we decided to go down the night before. I found Ford House on the internet and decided to book. What a surprise when we checked in to our wonderful old world cottage, we could have stayed the whole weekend just to enjoy the peace and quietness of the area. Nestled on the banks of the river and only a stones throw away from town, couldn't have asked for a better spot. The wonder of the emporium selling all sorts of amazing nic naks and gift ware. Breakfast in the Barn was totally amazing, it was like walking into an wonderland of christmas and easter all thrown in together. The breakfast table was adorned with lovely easter gifts and displays and the walk around the room while we were waiting for breakfast to be services was a sight to be seen, every where you looked there was something new and unusual that caught your eye. If you are looking for that special unusual christmas decoration, gift or just something different, please do yourself a favour and go and visit Ford House. Jenny and the team will welcome you with open arms and give you that special family friendly service. We will return when we have a weekend in the spring free to sit and watch the world go by with a nice bottle of red and a venture out to see what Bridgetown has to offer.

Room Tip: The cooks retreat is away from the main building and a beautiful home away from home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lainlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Fairies live and work their magic in and around this beautiful place. This was our first visit and it will not be the last. We will book for a longer stay and become immersed in the tranquil and serene environment. Thank you Jenny and Ken

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Everything about Ford House shouted relaxation and great service. Trish went out of her way to make sure every aspect of our stay was enjoyable, even booking a restaurant for us and ensuring great service there. The room was comfortable, the aircon worked well and the bathroom and kitchenette facilities were more than adequate. Ford house is very close to the main street and fantastic walking tracks, so for those who don't want to drive everywhere, this place cannot be bettered. We will most definitely book another break here as soon as we are able.

Room Tip: We've only stayed in the one room and that was perfect. I saw where the others are and I'm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phrogman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Probably the oldest building in Bridgetown, Ford House looks like a museum in every aspect. From family photos on the wall, 1980s travel books on the shelf, old-fashioned living room, and etc., this place reminds me of the past.

The owner of the house is very senior, living just besides the House. The staff are senior-aged as well, quite fit with the atmosphere.

Lovely garden with lots of fruit trees like lemon, peach, and etc. Very aromatic in summer! A flock of geese are raised that makes the site lively.

If Bridgetown is time-honored in peace and tranquil, Ford House is definitely has its soul, despite not modern and fancy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Rang to advise that we would be arriving around 8pm and was (fairly abruptly) told "love, that's my bed time". Did not appear to be any ventilation in our room without opening the sash windows, a fairly airless nights sleep, would not like to be there in the full heat of summer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cruisingfamily255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenPerth, Owner at Ford House, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
This guest enquired what time would be the latest they could arrive and we advised "Not much after 8pm would be preferred as I retire early most evenings". (Most Hotel receptions close around 8pm unless a hotel in the CBD). This is a small business. The day begins at 6.30am, 7 days a week plus I have a husband in Palliative Care, hence my need to close reception by 8pm. The room this guest selected is in 120 year old Ford House, and whilst not air-conditioned does have fans/opening windows along with 12 foot ceilings that keep the house lovely & cool. Most nights in Bridgetown are cool even in summer and the idea is to open the window and enjoy the cool nights which are the norm for Bridgetown. Air conditioning has not been installed in Ford House as it is Heritage listed however we do have other more expensive rooms (5 off) with air-conditioning and spa ensuites. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely stay at Ford House, Bridgetown. Very welcoming, beautiful room, a delicious breakfast and wonderful arts and crafts. Being met by the geese while walking to breakfast was an unexpected highlight. We will definitely be back!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eily19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridgetown hotels
0.3 mi away
Nelsons of Bridgetown
Nelsons of Bridgetown
#1 of 2 in Bridgetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shambhala Guest House - Hill Top Retreat
1.6 mi away
Pamela's Retreat
Pamela's Retreat
#10 of 10 in Bridgetown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tweed Valley Lodge
Tweed Valley Lodge
#6 of 10 in Bridgetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rickaty on Blackwood
Rickaty on Blackwood
#3 of 9 in Bridgetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bridgetown Valley Lodge
Bridgetown Valley Lodge
#1 of 9 in Bridgetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ford House

Property: Ford House
Address: Lot 14 Eedle Terrace | PO Box 375, Bridgetown, Western Australia 6255, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Bridgetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ford House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner Merit Award for Best Hosted Accommodation in Western Australia in 2004, every concievable luxury, spas, en-suites, historic home antique king sized four poster bed, set in 5 acres of garden on the Blackwood river in the heart of southwestern West Australia. Banquets and conferences in historic barn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ford House Bridgetown, Australia - Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing