We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous coffee”
Review of The Bronze - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Bronze
Cuisines: Australian
Restaurant details
Balingup
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous coffee”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Welcoming and we had fun playing ches on the 'life size' board in the garden!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brian and Deb V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    0
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Changed hands, but still great. Sit on the balcony at the front - beautiful!”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Note - I also reviewed this restaurant earlier.
We had been a bit upset recently as opening of the restaurant had become a bit hit and miss. This is explained now we know The Bronze has changed hands. We were a bit apprehensive on this visit expecting a turn for the worse, but the food is still excellent and prices are more modest than previously. Still great coffee. Good service this time. Good value.
We got there at midday on Friday with a few at tables at the back and they seemed to be not quite ready for lunch. The chef went to his laptop to read the unprinted menu and most things sounded as if they were not really ready, with little pre-preparation completed. There were plenty of options made available to us. As we were in transit to Donnelly River, we didn't want to wait ages and asked what was cooking - it smelt beautiful. It was green vegie curry and we were told the chef could convert it to chicken or prawn curry if we would like. We both opted for the straight vegie version (we rarely order the same meal as each other), and we both loved it. It was very modestly priced and we just got the feeling that everything was fresh and tasty. There was a beefburger on the list, stir fries, but we think the menu might change frequently.
Only open Fri Sat Sun at this stage - 9 to 4. Still gluten free, but if you do not need gluten free, you will not find the menu at all unusual.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great great food!”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

some of the best food and it's only 15 mins from home! This gluten free cafe doesn't have that organicy feel - if you know what I mean - in a good way. They also sell some gluten free goods out the back. Service is very small country town. You help yourself to water and cutlery and order at the counter. No biggie cause then you can choose a table on the front verandah or outside under a massive tree! Delicious!!

Helpful?
Thank tanyak66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent quality food”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

The Bronze Cafe is promoted as a gluten free restaurant. As we are both general omnivores, I have to say I wouldn't know except for their self-promotion. "Gluten free" suggests a variant vegetarian to me (though technically not necessary). The Bronze Cafe has a good mix of vegetarian and carnivore food (fish, chicken, beef).
We have been to this restaurant 3 times for meals, most recently in October 2011. Each time, the coffee has been excellent, as has been the food.
The food can look unappetising on the menu AND some dishes are stored in a glass door fridge, pat prepared, ready to be warmed and plated. Don't fool yourself - most restaurants will do this, but hide the fact. Last visit, we both had meals from the fridge and they were both great.
Unfortunately, whilst we were there on our last visit, two groups walked in and out without ordering, and we have seen this 'walk out' factor previously. Prices are high for the southwest and descriptions modest. What might be "Quiche and salad" on the menu might be "Stunning and unexpectedly tasty" on delivery. Servings are large and our two side salads with different mains were both excellent and very different, where you might have expected them to be a similar 'standard' side salad on ordering.
It is all a bit laid back country style, which we like, but with a lot of panache.
After ordering and watching Bibbulmun Track walkers amble past for 15 minutes or so, we went back to the counter to find that although it was quiet, our order had literally blown away and we had been forgotten. We were offered free desert as compensation. Having previously had desert and coffee, passing through late morning, we knew this was a treat, but a main course was a serious meal. We were happily offered a take away dessert each for later and enjoyed both the main meal and our doggie bag dessert immensely. You pay for fresh and beautifully balanced meals. Excellent.
I understand these guys do catering and dinners.
I highly recommend the quality, freshness and style of meals, but if you are looking for $10 cheap and cheerful, which is welcome and common in the southwest, this place is not for you. Some things look quite pricey, but we intend to go back again and we will not be worried by the price. This is value for money and sooooo good, but not cheap. This is on a regular drive for us and we hope will become a regular treat as we pass through Ballingup.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bronze also viewed

Balingup, Western Australia
Balingup, Western Australia
 
Balingup, Western Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing