We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where 2 oceans meet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse

Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse
Book In Advance
More Info
$166.82*
and up
Margaret River, Caves, Wine and Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse Tour from Perth
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse is situated at the most south westerly tip of Australia, where the Indian and Southern Oceans meet off the coast of the Margaret River region. A famous maritime landmark, the tower stands 39 metres high – the tallest on the Australian mainland. Guided tours are conducted daily at the Lighthouse. The precinct features a visitor centre, interpretive displays, café and retail shop in one of the historic cottages complete with ocean views.
Useful Information: Stroller parking
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Where 2 oceans meet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Lovely historical lighthouse and keepers cottages located at the meeting point of the Indian and Southern oceans. The place is very romantic, tranquil and inspiring with huge waves from 2 oceans running into each other and breaking into the shore.

Helpful?
Thank Roopet9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    575
    375
    62
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yallingup, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rugged and beautiful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Looking for better value from some of the countries must stop land marks.
Not much more I can say on this one.

Helpful?
Thank LifeLearnPlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AugustaMargaretRiver, Front Office Manager at Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse, responded to this review, June 19, 2015
Dear LifeLearnPlay,

Thanks for taking the time to post feedback here on your trip to the Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse.

We try to keep our prices as low as possible so that the lighthouse is accessible for a reasonable fee. Unlike a lot of other lighthouses around Australia, we don't operate with government subsidies. We are a non-profit membership-based tourism organisation and we depend on ticket income to maintain the lighthouse and the grounds on which it sits. For example, we are currently restoring the three lighthouse-keeper cottages on the site, so that they are preserved in original condition for future generations.

The current grounds entry fee of $8 per adult and $5 per child includes a state of the art mp3 audio guide with fascinating commentary and interpretation on the maritime history and workings of the site, including interviews with the original lighthouse-keepers. It also includes access to the historical lighthouse-keeper cottages, the Nizam shipwreck memorial, huge binoculars, and stunning views.

Once again, thanks for taking the time to provide feedback, and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Oceans Meet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Nice to see the point at which the Southern and Indian Oceans meet. Very windy at time of visit. Staff are very friendly and enthusiastic to make the most of the visit. Nothing else to do other than admire the view, but worth the trip.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Petrus_58_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
137 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A little expensive but nice view even from outside”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

I don't quite understand the reason for paying even just to enter the site. I guess it's probably for the maintenance of the place. The entrance to the site is quite a distance away from the lighthouse and even then, it is quite a pretty sight seeing it.

Helpful?
Thank LizzyHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AugustaMargaretRiver, Front Office Manager at Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse, responded to this review, June 19, 2015
Dear Lizzy Ho,

Thanks for taking the time to post feedback here on your trip to the Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse. You're right about the entrance fees going to maintenance, and it's quite amazing how much it costs keeping such a fragile, historical, exposed, working lighthouse in top shape.

We try to keep our prices as low as possible so that the lighthouse is accessible for a reasonable fee. Unlike a lot of other lighthouses around Australia, we don't operate with government subsidies. We are a non-profit membership-based tourism organisation and we depend on ticket income to maintain the lighthouse and the grounds on which it sits. For example, we are currently restoring the three lighthouse-keeper cottages on the site, so that they are preserved in original condition for future generations.

The current entry fee of $8 per adult and $5 per child includes a state of the art mp3 audio guide with fascinating commentary and interpretation on the maritime history and workings of the site, including interviews with the original lighthouse-keepers. It also includes access to the historical lighthouse-keeper cottages, the Nizam shipwreck memorial, huge binoculars, and stunning views.

Once again, thanks for taking the time to provide feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to experience the Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse if you're in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
208 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Arrived just in time for the final 4pm guided tour which is the only way to climb up the Lighthouse. Our 5 year old girl were a little slow but no problem making it to the top. The tour guide was very friendly and we certainly picked up the history about the lighthouse. Both the views from the top and below were unforgettable.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse also viewed

Augusta, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Augusta, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing